Broccloli spinach peas and parsley soup - Green day

When the winter hits here in Montreal, one tends to want extra comfort foods. I have been indulging with delicious, but not super nutritious foods without much color. I am trying to incorporate some green food in with it this week.

Green to me is a symbol of growth and is linked to money and abundance. Not that I am about riches at all but abundance can be about health, and spirit as well in my opinion.

I am trying to make a conscious effort to have more colors, than shades of brown white and red in my diet. To kick off my efforts I am having at least a couple of very green days. I am never militant about my diet aside from keeping plant based which is easy and exciting.

Unfortunately in Canada we have a limited variety especially these days since the world is not the same as it was. Warmer climates give access to things I've never heard of and wild edibles all year round. I will stick with what I have and be thankful that I have it.

I wanted something green but warm so what better way then soup.

DSC_0931.jpg

One thing I try to have on hand is a basic soup broth. I also use powdered or cubes but usually add the two. A basic soup broth is very simple to make and great for using in a variety of dishes. For my green soup I used my homemade broth along with a cube.

DSC_0757.jpg

Basic Broth

  • celery
  • carrot
  • onion
  • garlic
  • bay leaves
  • parsley
  • peppercorns
  • salt
    I usually use random amounts depending what I have in the fridge. I add more things to it later depending on what I use it for.

Usually I brown everything in some hot oil then cover with water but this time I just covered with water and brought it to a boil. After boiling I simmer for forty five to sixty minutes. Sometimes I forget about it so it goes longer.

DSC_0761.jpg

I strain it and just keep the liquid. All the goodness is in the broth anyway. Some people use the vegetables but I usually throw them away.

DSC_0762.jpg

For the green soup I used what was available in my freezer mostly. I was not brave enough to venture into the lethally cold, bitter, and frosty weather to fetch anything fresh. If you have never left the tropics in your life consider yourself extremely blessed.

DSC_0767.jpg

I usually saute the onion and garlic in oil but this time I decided to saute in a little broth then add the rest of the vegetables then cover with a couple liters of broth and a broth cube.

DSC_0769.JPG

Green soup

  • 3 or 4 cups spinach already cooked
  • 2 cups frozen peas
  • 2 or 3 cups broccoli
  • 2 cups chopped fresh parsley
  • 3 or 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 onion chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Herbs (thyme, oregano,or whatever you like)
  • 1 cup cashew cream or cream of your choice

DSC_0776.jpg

Mostly everything was already cooked slightly before I put it in the pot so it just had to come to a boil quickly. After I used a hand blender to blend it.

DSC_0780.jpg

The cashew cream was made with soaked cashews, lemon juice and water. I kept it basic so I can use it for other things flavoring it later.

DSC_0782.jpg

I garnished the soup with kale chip croutons which I bought. They are dehydrated. I also added some ground toasted cashews and some cayenne pepper.

DSC_0925.jpg

We had bread on the side that was made from kamut and has 1% gluten. We were surprisingly too full from the soup to eat it.

DSC_0934.JPG

This was a late lunch as a first meal. Later we had some salad and a piece of toast. It was quite satisfying. We have not worked for over a week and the cold keeps us inside and not so active. Therefore we eat less and lighter.

That was yesterday. Today we had leftover soup but started with a green smoothie.

I managed to brave the cold and go to the local health store for organic kale and spinach. It was jammed into my blender with a frozen banana, a couple of frozen sweet cherries, a tablespoon of wheat grass powder and almond milk.

DSC_0937.JPG

In case you're afraid of green things, I assure you this is very pleasant and even a child wouldn't dislike it if you could get them to have it in the first place. My father in law won't eat anything green. He says it looks like poison. He has no functioning kidneys and can barely walk. I once made him a green smoothie like this and he actually said it was pretty good.

DSC_0943.JPG

Next time I'll add ginger for an extra something.

DSC_0945.JPG

Thanks for stopping by!

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Sort:  

Absolutely love it! But I always do, everything you make Carolyn. Absolutely delicious and as you said comforting. It's been gloomy, windy and cold here in Ontario as well. I don't know how I am going to survive this winter!

You're too kind thank you!
It's got to be colder here in Montreal. It's absolutely miserable. Three more months until we can go out without suffering.

Always a pleasure Sweetie 💖😍💖

Today is finally sunny, but now is really cold. Maybe not as cold as in Montreal, but it's -9C and they are forecasting -13C for tomorrow. But I remember the winter in Montreal, so I know, lol. Just stay warm and safe Carolyn. Luckily I don't have to go anywhere.

That’s something what I want to eat now 😍 But I’m not sure if I will like or not because the celery ingredient. Never try about mixing them together.

Your late lunch looks delight! :)

The celery was thrown away after the broth is done. It's pretty traditional thing to put celery in for making broth here in North America. You don't taste it so strongly.

Thank you so much!!!!

ah ya so the secret is the broth. Thanks for sharing:)

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!
Find our community here

DiscordIICuration Trail

Thank you for your support.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you for your support.

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 750 posts.
Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much.

Oh! Very healthy and yummy! You should do very well in a vegan restaurant in Chiengmai. But no more good old days of tourism! Wait for two more years!

Haha I hope this will happen. Right now they are deciding how much tax to charge people like us. They talk about arresting us as well. Hopefully I get away or survive.

Better have some plans for getting away, just in case. People will rise up, riots would break out.

Oh we know. We have, some seeds, some knives, a hack saw, a tent,fire starters etc., but right now we have two elderly people that will be stranded alone here. They have all the jabs though. It's cold so going into the wilderness is a challenge for us but I would rather do that then stick around for this. We have no where to go other then just walk away.

Get a map, camping gears and survival tools, just in case. Go to somewhere warmer, with water sources and food sources too.

The two elderly persons couldn’t make the trip any way. They’re better where they are, at least for another year before the immune systems got completely destroyed and various diseases started to take over! Hope it’s a quick transition rather than a long agonizing phase! Keep praying!

Hope that you don’t have to take such drastic actions. People might start rioting and things wouldn’t be easily controlled. Just hope for some miracles. BTW, I had a small UFO passing by in my garden a few days ago! My prayer did work! They got my message. So, anything could happen, just use the mind positively!

Thank you I hope we don't have to use the gear we have purchased already. We have spent well over 1500 dollars to run with. Going south would be great but we are not too far from the American border so getting over there would be impossible. I feel a sense of calm to hear that you had a successful prayer session. Thank you for helping the world all you can. One positive vibe leads to another.

We have no intentions of taking the elderly. This is why it would be total abandonment. We don't have anyone else around here. We don't even have friends. These people can barely walk across the room and they think the world is exactly the way television says it is. Not a clue.

Anyway I always feel comfort in your word thank you.

Wow! You have gathered all the essential tools for the getaway mission. The immigrants could just cross over the southern border into America via natural loopholes. It would be nice if you could have an invisible raft floating across the border! Then find an empty cabin in the forest for shelter!

thanks for sharing @carolynstahl, How does it taste when given sweet corn?🥰

Oh corn is good with everything but I was doing all green for something healthy this day. I love corn my friend!

Hello, all those very healthy and healthy recipes are incredible, I in particular do not like vegetables very much, but what you are not presenting in this post, I would like to try it, greetings

The soup looks amazing! 🤩
And a smoothie too! I ate lots of kale smoothies during being I'll and it kept my energy up.
I'm not afraid of green foods, in fact I really love it. Have to try the soup sometime.