Vegan minced satay with peanut sauce

DSC_2457.jpg

I've called this a satay but I suppose it is actually not a satay. A satay would be grilled on a barbecue I imagine. It's already plant based, instead of the traditional meat satay. I'll just give it a name to describe what it looks like okay?

This is my take on a dish I had in Bali Indonesia, at a Waroeng called Sibogana in Ubud. I have no idea what it was made from but it was plant based, and it was made from minced items then put on skewers. It was a relaxing place with a great atmosphere. The food was nice and these skewers were what stuck in my mind the most. They were deep fried but I allow that for myself, from time to time.

Using items available from the local grocers and my kitchen, I came up with mushrooms as the first thought. I bought cremini and oysters. There's not much to choose from that is affordable.

DSC_2319.jpg

I happened to have a piece of tempeh in the fridge. I thought why not pay tribute with it. Indonesia has the best tempeh in the world.

DSC_2320.jpg

I could have used beans but tempeh is good for absorbing flavours. I decided to grind it up into a mince.

DSC_2344.jpg
The ingredients were simple. I could have made these super spicy, but I wanted to make them resemble what I remember of the ones in Bali. They were not spicy but flavorful.

DSC_2354.jpg

The only items I cooked before adding to the mix, was the onion and garlic.

DSC_2365.jpg

Cooking the onion and garlic would contribute to the moisture in the mix along with the moisture from the mushrooms.

DSC_2390.jpg

I put the cremini mushrooms in the processor to mince.

DSC_2369.jpg

I only minced the cremini and left the oyster mushrooms whole. Oyster mushroom have a bit of a meaty texture which I decided to keep in.

DSC_2372.jpg

Then I minced the tempeh but not too fine. I kept it some what like a ground meat texture.

DSC_2377.jpg

Tempeh can turn into a paste if you keep it in the processor to long.

DSC_2382.jpg

I needed some kind of binder so I opted for ground red lentils. Chickpea flour or rice flour would be okay as well I imagine. It's just that I have a ridiculous amount of red lentils.

When I worked at the restaurant that closed, I ordered several kilos. I paid the company price for it. Now I'm stuck with too many. What is shown in my hands is not all of it.

DSC_2328.jpg

It works great in place of chickpea or garbanzo bean flour. It kind of tastes similar but milder in my opinion.

DSC_2332.jpg

Red lentils are easy and fast to grind in a small blender or bullet blender.

DSC_2337.jpg

This lentil flour will absorb the liquid and cook in the liquid from the mushrooms and other items, binding everything together. This is what is so great about these lentils.

DSC_2342.jpg

Vegan minced satay
Tempeh 230 g
Cremini mushrooms 230g
Oyster mushrooms 230g
Red lentils 150g
Carrot grated 100g
Onion 150 g
Garlic 20g
Onion powder 1 tsp
Garlic powder 1 tsp
Paprika 1 tsp
White pepper 1 tsp
Black pepper 1 tsp
Thyme 1 tsp
Toasted ground cumin 1 tsp
Salt to taste
I'm sure that chili, ginger, shallot, cilantro and other warm spices would be a great addition as well.

DSC_2384.jpg

The grated carrots are added raw for texture and moisture.

DSC_2394.jpg

I did not add any liquid to this mix. I wasn't sure at first if I would have to but I got lucky. The moisture from all of the items were perfectly sufficient.

DSC_2400.jpg

The oyster mushrooms are quite delicate. I didn't want to mince away their texture so I just mixed them in breaking them.

DSC_2404.jpg

I added part of the red lentil flour then mixed to see if I needed more. It was eventually all thrown in. I was amazed at my estimation. I didn't need more and it wasn't too much.

DSC_2409.jpg

The mixture was mixed well then squeezed into long football shapes similar to the ones I have had. I guess they were a little rounder then the satay in Bali but it didn't matter.

DSC_2412.jpg

I fried them enough to brown them all over then finished them in the oven at around 350F.

DSC_2417.jpg

The peanut sauce was simple with ingredients that I had in the fridge. This would probably differ from peanut sauce found in Indonesia but it really did the job and it takes minutes.

DSC_2423.jpg

Peanut sauce
Peanut butter 100g
Soy sauce or tamari 50g
Vegetarian mushroom sauce 20g
Garlic 20g
Ginger 5g
Agave 40g
Vinegar 20g
Lime juice 30g
Sesame oil 5g
Water 30g
This is a basic recipe. You could make it thinner or spicier by adding chilies or extra water, adjusting the flavors according to your liking.

DSC_2431.jpg

The garlic and ginger were fried in a saucepan first then the rest of the ingredients were added and brought to a mild boil. It was stirred until smooth. I didn't put it in the blender as I sometimes do. I was going for a less liquid sauce.

DSC_2435.jpg

If I were at a park and had my barbecue going, I would have put these on the grill instead of frying. I don't know if it would work but I would try it.

DSC_2464 1.jpg

To accompany was broccoli, potato and basmati rice. Everything was good with the peanut sauce.

DSC_2437.jpg

To make it more like a satay I stuck some large wooden picks in them. This made it easier to dip into the sauce.

DSC_2470 1.jpg

With a sprinkle of dried chili flakes I received enough heat. It was barely spicy. Anyone who knows me would wonder how I didn't add more heat to this. I don't always want to have full spice stimulation. Warm spices are like a fiesta. Without them it can be more like a quiet get together. Both could be good.

Some of you won't understand my gibberish so never mind.

DSC_2471 1.jpg

I did not eat this plate. This was Marc's plate. He gets to eat the photos.

DSC_2448 1.jpg

Thanks for dropping by and have a nice day

carolynbanner.jpgdesign by: @KidSisters

Photos taken with a Nikon D7500 by me except for the ones of me, taken by my other half.

Sort:  

Some of you won't understand my gibberish so never mind.

lol. This post is perfectly clear! And boy does it ever look good! Good to know about red lentils. I have a couple bags that have been with me for 20 years or more.

So funny Marc gets the plated plate, the pretty one.

Love your food posts. I always learn something new. And wish I lived next door to you!

Oh my gosh!!! those red lentils are a gift. They are good long term storable food for the apocalypse.😄

It's so nice to have you stop by. Thank you so much.😊

It's always my pleasure!

It looks delicious! I love peanuts, so I'm already imagining the combination of these flavors. This is a well put together recipe, thanks for sharing the step by step so well explained. Greetings.

I really appreciate that lovely comment. I love peanuts too! Thank you. Greetings to you too.😊


~~~ embed:1643794077991809024 twitter metadata:MTI2ODQxNjE2ODUwMDUyNzEwNHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjY4NDE2MTY4NTAwNTI3MTA0L3N0YXR1cy8xNjQzNzk0MDc3OTkxODA5MDI0fA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @virgilio07, @chacald.dcymt, @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you very much.

Your recipes are always wonderful, I enjoy them very much, although there are ingredients like mushrooms or tempeh that are expensive for me, but I will learn to use them if someday I can buy them hehehe. Greetings.

Those ingredients are expensive for me too haha. I know tempeh is not as available where you are.

Thank you so much my friend.😊

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you for your support!

Good morning my friend from Cambodia. I just woke up and saw your food, made me so hungry now. I wish I could get some of your deep fried and everything of your dishes looks delicious 🤤.

Good morning to you and good evening from me. I am ready for bed. It's a pleasure to have a visit from you my friend. I hope everything is very good for you and your family. Thank you so much.😊

https://leofinance.io/threads/@chacald.dcymt/re-leothreads-3qkcwn
https://leofinance.io/threads/@edwing357/re-leothreads-2xug7f
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( chacald.dcymt, edwing357 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Thank you!

This recipe looks delicious .... I love the pictures, you look beautiful cooking.

!LADY
!VSC

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

@chacald.dcymt has sent VSC to @carolynstahl

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@chacald.dcymt ha enviado VSC a @carolynstahl

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 1/5

Thank you!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@chacald.dcymt, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @carolynstahl and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/4 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you!

You are too kind my friend. Thank you for your wonderful comment!😊

Lovely friend I saw your food. I think it wonderful for me . I will try make it one day. I hope it delicious.and thanks for your sharing.

Thank you for your lovely comment. I think you would make it better. 😊

I loved your recipe... You always prepare VERY tasty and wonderful dishes! I imagine the exquisite contrast of flavors, a great treat to the palate!
I wish you happy dreams, a hug! @carolynstahl

Oh hello my friend. I always appreciate your support and lovely comments. Thank you. Hugs.😊

This looks so good! I would love to try this! I wouldn't be surprised if this is the best veggie meat out there!

Wow that is such a nice comment. I appreciate that. Thank you so much.

https://reddit.com/r/Cocina_Creativa/comments/12dhzba/vegan_minced_satay_with_peanut_sauce/
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @edwing357 ) sharing the post on Reddit as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thank you!

image.png

Felicitaciones!

Gracias por deleitarnos con tan magnífica publicación, la cual fue valorada por @Womentribe una comunidad para destacar el valioso potencial del ser humano.

*Sigue nuestras cuentas:
@Womentribe
suscribete aquí @colmena-139925
twitter
Instagram

  • Te invitamos a formar parte del trail de curación

Muchas Gracias!

How are you dear friend @carolynstahl good morning
You are very creative in the kitchen, I love the ingredients of the recipe, the combination of mushrooms and peanuts makes it very interesting
The dish really invites you to sit at the table to enjoy this exquisite dish

I always appreciate your visits and nice comments. Thank you my friend. Sending best wishes.

It is so nice your recipe. You make anything best in a vegan dear friend greetings💓😊

Thank you for your visit and support my friend. Best wishes to you both.😊❤️

Thank you, dear. I am sorry, I am always late to reply and upvote to you, you know it is internet and electricity problems here. take care A hug 💓😊

Dear @carolynstahl , this dish that you tried in Bali, Indonesia, in a Waroeng called Sibogana in Ubud, is very interesting and colorful. What happens is that here in Venezuela one is waiting for roasted chicken, meat or fish, now if they are prepared with plants, it must be delicious and very nutritious, added to the relaxing place, I consider that your joy and relaxation it was complete. Your publication is very good, I like these types of foods. successes

I appreciate your very kind and warm comment. Thank you so much. Good wishes to you!😊

Congratulations @carolynstahl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 10500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 11000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the March PUM Winners
Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

Doesn't this just look so appetizing. It's the fact that you took your time to explain the procedures step by step. I really admire that.

Even if I can't replicate this recipe right away due to the scarcity of some of the ingredients, I know that I would love to replicate it someday.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us ✨

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Looking good! First of all, thank you so much for the tip about processing raw red lentils into flour; it looks so easy and perfect for my vegetable patties that I must go get some red lentils right now. Fortunately, you won't need to buy any for the next couple of years, ha ha ha ha... The dish looks like come out of a fancy seaside restaurant in Indonesia. I'm always impressed, @carolynstahl 💚 The vegan satay looks delicious. The peanut sauce just kills me; it looks creamy and with amazing color.

By the way, I confess I'm a fan of fried pasties and croquettes, and of course I try to avoid them, but I don't try too hard 🙈.

Thank you for another delicious post.

You're too kind. I just put them on my plate with a bunch of "stuff". Not too fancy but tasty and homey. I wouldn't have discovered the lentil grinding if I didn't have too many lentils. I always just made soup with them. I like soup but not the same kind all the time.

I love fried things. I always say that if you fry a sock it will taste good. I just don't feel so good after too many times in a row. You know the old saying, everything in moderation. In the end we eat what we want.

Thanks again for your generous comment. have a glorious day!😊

It's the first time I've seen it also haha. I make things like this different all the time, depending on what I have.

Thank you for your nice comment!😊