Hot Chili-Topocho Banana Turnovers with Easy Avocado & Corn Filling (air-fried, gluten-free)

in Plant Power (Vegan)3 months ago (edited)

Hi, foodies in the Hive!

I hope you're all feeling happy and healthy 💚

Have you tried plantain/banana based doughs? Topocho banana doughs are definitely worth trying. Topochos are halfway between a banana and a plantain; their texture is starchy and their flavor, slightly sweet and acidic. The ones I used today have begun to ripen, so they were a little sweeter, which is just nice as I didn't need to add any sugar.

Today I want to share with you my recipe for this topocho banana dough seasoned with hot chili pepper, cinnamon and coconut milk, with which I made some very tasty gluten-free turnovers filled with avocado and corn kernels.

image.png
image.png

We had these for breakfast, and I can tell you they go down very well in the stomach and sustain you for hours and hours 😁

image.png

image.png

See those topocho bananas in the background?

image.png

Well, Those are from my comadre's backyard. She's been growing topocho bananas for a couple of years now, and she always has a good bunch for me.

As I've said before, topocho bananas are a staple in my hometown. You can buy them in the public market, and sometimes, in supermarkets too. They are a good source of starch and fiber, potassium, and vitamin C; this means they're good for our digestion, our blood sugar and good health in general.

When still unripe, topochos are a favorite to cook in soup; they make the broth a little milky and thick. I have used them to make gluten-free flatbreads and tostones, chocolate cake, muffins, bread cake, etc. I do a lot of things in the kitchen with this food. They're good to substitute other flours, specially corn flour and wheat flour, so popular in Venezuela.

Topocho bananas are good raw or cooked, green or ripe, for savory or sweet dishes, as a side, main dish, or dessert. They are such good fellows in the kitchen. You just need to give them a chance if you haven't done so yet.

image.png

image.png

INGREDIENTS

image.png

For the dough:

  • 500 gr peeled and boiled topocho bananas
  • 1 cup hot chili pepper
  • 1 tablespoon freshly crushed garlic
  • 1/2 cup homemade coconut milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil to sautee the chili and garlic
  • salt to taste

For the filling:

  • 1 cup of avocado that you mistakenly cut when it hadn't yet ripened 🙊
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels you've been meaning to use 🙈
  • a spoonful of margarine
  • salt to taste

image.png

LET'S GET TO WORK 😁

First of all, we must wash the topochos well because we're cooking them in their peel.

image.png

Wash the topochos well, cut off both ends, and make a superficial longitudinal cut; this way, the they'll cook faster and will also be easier to peel once they're cooked. Put them in a pot with enough water to cover them and a little salt. After cooking at maximum heat for about 6 minutes, they'll be done. Then you can take them out of the water and wait a couple of minutes for them to lose a little heat so you can handle them. Remove the peels and place them inside a plastic bag.

image.png

Press the topochos with your fist and fingers, taking care not to break the bag. Soon you will see how it will become a raisin. Try to make the dough as smooth as possible without paying too much attention to the smallest lumps.

image.png

It won't take you but a couple of minutes.

image.png

Here you can get an idea of the size of the bag I used. It's one of those for pita bread.

image.png

image.png

Time to season this dough.

image.png

At this point, you could use it for arepas or tortillas, but the coconut milk will help make it smoother and better for turnovers.

I used some nice chilies I found in the store; I had no idea they were hot. It's always a nice surprise for me 😉. I used homemade coconut milk I had in the fridge, which is good to perfume the dough and make it smooth.

image.png

It had a good coat of fat, which was good to make the dough keep its moist, ideal to air-fry 😋

image.png

Remove the pedicels and the excess of seeds and cut out the veins of the hot chili pods (leave them if your guests don't care for a good extra spice). Peel and crush the garlic cloves.

image.png

It's time to sautee the chili and garlic in a little coconut oil. Add the coconut milk and a cinnamon stick to enhance the natural sweetness of the dough. Stir for a minute and remove from the fire.

image.png

Let it cool a little.

image.png

Remove the cinnamon stick and mix it with the dough.

image.png

You can finish mashing the topocho dough with a fork. It'll help you incorporate the chili and coconut mix as well.

image.png

The dough will turn more and more manageable as you gently knead it.

image.png

At this point, it was time for me to do something about that unripe avocado 😩

I decided to make a simple filling for the turnovers. I shredded it, which I must say had my husband give a weird look, haha. You don't just shred avocado around here. You wait until they ripen and turn creamy and slice it. Period. I must say I wasn't sure about how this filling would turn out. In the end it was good, fortunately.

image.png

I fried the avocado in margarine and then added the frozen corn kernels and salt. That was it.

image.png

It was ready to go inside the topocho dough.

image.png

image.png

MAKING THE TURNOVERS

I made these ones bigger. I pre-cooked them in the hot pan. Then they went into the air-fryer at 350 degrees F for 15 minutes.

This is how I assembled them.

Use a sheet of plastic wrap (I cut and reused a pita bag) to cover the surface of the counter and also the surface of the dough. This will help you control the thickness and extension of the sheet of dough. Put the filling to the side and close.

image.png

Use the plastic film to control the shape. Gently press the borders with the tip of your fingers.

image.png

As I told you before, I pre-cooked the turnovers in the hot pan and then transferred them to the air-fryer where they cooked for 15 minutes at 350 degrees F. I did it this way to make them look more golden without rubbing them with oil.

image.png

As always, I hope you have found this post useful 😁

image.png

image.png

Bon appetite!

image.png

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @indiaunited, @steemflow ❤️😁

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @foodiesunite, @sirenahippie 😁❤️


You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @plantpoweronhive 💚


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 🍹✨

I just got home from work and I'm hungry. I could lose my mind not having this to eat right now! It has everything I love and I have never had this kind of banana.

It's crazy that people live in a paradise where bananas grow.

I will have to get some plantains and see what I can do. Oh and an air fryer.😊 Thanks for the inspiration I'm going to try something like this when I get a chance.

Have a great day/evening/night.💚

Oh, I'd wish I could send you some topochos over. They're really tasty. Fortunately, these lands are fertile--our blessing and our curse, my friend; you must know.

Plantains are good for dough. Ripe plantain is used for gnocchi, only that those are not gluten-free because you must add some wheat flour. I don't know if I could use cornstarch instead.

Dine and rest well, my hard-working and gorgeous friend ❤️

♥️♥️♥️

What beautiful empanadas, I can imagine the deliciousness of the dough and the flavor of the avocado with the corn. I really liked the photos and the step by step instructions. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.

Topocho bananas have a pleasant smell. All the extras and spices are a plus 😌❤️ You're really kind! Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words.

untitled.gif