Yo! :: Daily and Fresh 📷 (331/366)

in Daily & Fresh 📸3 years ago (edited)


Kotitonttu

Tonttu

Tonttu = Elf (or Gnome depending on which you are referring to. Santa's Elf is actually a Tonttu, and has nothing to do with the elves popularized by modern fantasy novels.) The word "tonttu" comes from the Swedish word "tomte".

(In Nordic lore, "maahinen" or "maan väki". (swe.: vittra, old norse: vættr). Elves, dwarves and frost giants are all types of gnome.)

Elves, or tonttu are important characters in the Nordic mythology. The one pictured above is a house elf of the Nordic mythology, and no, Dobby is not a Nordic house elf, he looks more like Gollum.

A house elf is the protector of a dwelling, but he may be quick to anger if not treated well. Being a magical creature, he can cast a spell on you if you are not careful and treat yours with a proper respect.

In Selma Lagerlöf's The Wonderful Adventures of Nils, she describes a house elf (swe. tomte, fin. tonttu), and how the mischevous protagonist Nils, after disrespecting his father's house's guardian by trying to capture him in a net, gets transformed into a "house elf" himself.

(I seriously recommend reading the book, I don't want to give out spoilers.)

Tonttu appears often also in old Finnish literature. There are many other kinds of tonttu in the Nordic lore:

  • kotitonttu (house elf, the home guardian)
  • saunatonttu (sauna elf)
  • metsätonttu (forest elf)
  • riihitonttu (the elf of grain drying and threshing cabins)
  • tallitonttu (stable elf)
  • navettatonttu (cowshed elf)
  • aittatonttu (barn elf)
  • myllytonttu (mill elf)

The tonttu acted as the guardians of the places they lived in.

Joulutonttu is the Christmas Elf, or Santa's Elf.

In the past, joulutonttu delivered the presents independently from Santa, but these days we almost unanimously think of them as Santa's helpers who both prepare the gifts and check up on kids to see whether they've been naughty or nice.

I sourced some of the above from Wikipedia.

I could write more about Finnish mythology if you guys think it'd be cool.

See ya!


Next
Daily and Fresh 📷 #332
Daily and Fresh 📷 #333
Daily and Fresh 📷 #334
Daily and Fresh 📷 #335
Daily and Fresh 📷 #336



Like my post? 🍻 Buy me a beer! 🍻

Sort:  

How about ghosts or wandering spirits?!
Do you have a belief about after life?!

It’s getting cold here (16 degree Celsius!)

I'm not certain about ghosts or spirits, but I can check. In Finnish mythology, the afterlife is called "Tuonela", I may write about it.🤔

It's just about -1°C here.

Okay! That’s too cold for us to be happy! We don’t have heating systems here.

@gamer00,
Wow it's a nice photography & I have no such good knowledge in Nordic Mythologies! But I have heard some gods related to Nordic in the game of Age of Mythology!
$tangent & !wine

Cheers~

Cool! I haven't heard of that game before.
I see it's a video game, I would've guessed it was a card game. I'll check it out!

Yes I'm planning to write more about that subject, but especially about the Finnish mythology and folklore, since it is an essential part of my own heritage.

I might throw it either in between my photos, or as a part of this project. Or I may begin a new project around that. I have not decided yet. Anyway, if I'm going to make it a photo project (which I most likely will), it will be done on the @Ambifokus account since that's my professional account.

Looks like there's some extra planning I need before I can start that one. I'm also hoping it's not going to fail though. Many of my more ambitious projects have had a tendency to do that.


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Trended The Post Shared By @gamer00.
You Utilized 2/3 Daily Summon Bot Calls.

TAN Current Market Price : 2.011 HIVE


Cheers, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @gamer00.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 0.000 HIVE