Headless flamingoes

in StreetArt8 months ago

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 2.jpg


Not so long ago, I was showing you a very cool and very pink graffiti I found in Lisbon. I only recognized the author because I saw another one of his works earlier, and I kept the name to check his Instagram.

This one here was the first.

The old and abandoned cork processing factory wall was used as canvas here. It is not a very old graffiti, and I remember seeing it for the first time. I was pretty surprised to see so many colours! And now I can't even remember what was there before.
Google to the rescue :) This was taken in 2019.


image.png
google map


And this is how it looks now. Even the sky got more blue :p


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 1.jpg


Now one cannot pass it by without noticing the colorful birds with chopped-up heads. Flamingoes, water, boats (one little paper boat, actually, and I saw exactly the same one in another piece of this artist; it looks like he likes to repeat some small details here and there), houses... it's all very local. I tried to find some information about this piece, but I couldn't.

The flamingoes do make sense though, since they do show up from time to time in the shallow waters in the river down the road.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 4.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 7.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 5.jpg

Gocalomar seixal flamingo 3.jpg


When the young trees finally grow up, it is going to be a really nice spot. I hope the graffiti is still there by then.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 10.jpg


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 8.jpg


And off they go to the water.
It's cool that the water can be seen from there. It looks like the birds fly directly to it.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 9.jpg


You can check out Goncalomar's instagram if you want to see more of his work. I did not find the flamingos there though.
And there is another mural made by him not far from this one, but I will keep it for a separate post. The story behind it deserves it.


Gocalomar seixal flamingo 6.jpg

»«
Shot with OnePlus 7 pro
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

!LOL

Want a new friend?
Tell a women you love her.

Credit: reddit
@ewkaw, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of phillarecette

(4/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

The wall of that factory looks much better and more interesting with this mural. But why the poor flamingoes have chopped heads 😲 😰

Because.... hmm... I have no idea :D
Maybe that's what people do to them... indirectly, by taking destroying their natural spots?

A wall is always better with StreetArt and with this quality is even better. Very poetic work, I wonder what those pink flamingos with their heads detached from their bodies and carrying houses mean 🤔 I need more whisky 😀. Thanks for sharing these pics on The StreetArt Community.

Enjoy your Friday

Agree.. the wall was terrible before. No wonder I couldnt remember it.
Maybe its the dead flamingoes because of the river pollution...

Cheers!🥃

What a beautiful place, I love the work they did and it definitely looks better with the graffiti than without.

So much better! Things like that I do not mind to see.

It's wonderful! What a great way to spiffy up an abandoned building on a shoreline. It works great!

Oh yea.. it's incomparable.

How are you dear friend @ewkaw good afternoon
What a beautiful mural, and how strange the falmencos look with their necks cut. I love how they use the walls to create the works and beautify the place, I love the connection that the mural has with the waters of the lake, as you say, it seems that the birds sometimes go there
Beautiful mural, appreciate you sharing with us.
Have a beautiful night

Thanks! Yea I have seen the flamingoes in the water there. Not many times, but it was a nice group resting. They looked great :)

First I thought the mural/graffiti was made by some anon person, but you have the name.
Wondering very much why the chopped heads. Must be some hidden message. Or none at all and the artist just try to play with the viewers {LOL}
But darn, what an upgrade from before! That building shall not be torn down at any time. Or only after the flamingos and the rest got their way out and exploring the world in other areas.

Must be some hidden message.

It must be! The only thing I can think of is what people do to the birds by messing up/polluting the river. It seems cleaner now and I have seen the flamingoes. But for many years not a single one showed up.

I hope it stays! It better :) Whatever they are gonna do there.

wouldn't be beautful when the painted flamingo's will show the status of the water? the head growing towards its body when the river gets cleaner? I guess we need dynamic paint for that. something to be invented still 🙃

Oh that would be very cool indeed! :D

A charming street art work and it really looks very "tropical" (and a bit dramatic) !!!... Good record and excellent photos @ewkaw friend, thanks for sharing!

!discovery 40
!VSC
!PIZZA

Thank you! Glad you liked it. Yea the heads make you wonder...

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @ewkaw

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @ewkaw

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 21/25

Hi! You are so right, even the sky looks bluer, and this is what a great artist can achieve when he exploits his passion to the fullest. When I came to your post I just stopped to appreciate the first image for a long time, the colors and details made my eyes shine, but believe me I didn't realize it was a wall until I got to the second picture, in fact that's where I realized that for the first time I have visited the StreetArt community.

What I liked most about your story is that you not only let yourself be moved by this immense drawing, but you respect and value the artist, whoever he is and even I have reached his instagram thanks to you, I wish all people gave so much importance to the work of another, especially when it comes to glorious perfections like this one. Excellent publication, thank you very much for exalting this art of the streets...

Thank you! It was cool to see the artist Instagram.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(5/10) tipped @ewkaw

Beautiful upgrade and so well done!

Indeed, thanks :)