Life Pixilated

in StreetArt2 years ago

By now everyone knows that I like pixilated street art and that my favorite artist is Invader. Here are a few pieces that I've seen and collected over the past few years that I haven't shared yet. Most of them are by Invader but I have a few by other artists as well. I hope you enjoy.

20200910_133403.jpg

This first one was seen in Paris and is by an artist named Mr. Djoul, an individual who started out as a "Reactivator," and who eventually branched off to create their own works. What is a "Reactivator" you ask? Well, it's a person who replaces and repairs missing or damaged tiles from Invaders original works. They do this in support and under the approval and tutelage of Invader himself.

20200910_133408.jpg

Mr. Djoul has over 1000 pieces on the streets righ now and to be honest, I dislike most of them. He mostly does these rudimentary aliens that are super tacky looking. The Mr. Potatohead above is pretty cool though.

20210610_104001~2.jpg

This next one may be by Mr. Djoul as well but I don't know for certain. It was also seen in Paris near the Shakespeare and Company book store, as was the Invader below.

20210610_103858~2.jpg

The one below was seen in Avignon and was done by an artist that my wife likes called MifaMosa. They do pieces that specifically relate to the street name on which they are found.

20210618_105824~2.jpg

You get the idea, a clock on Clock Place.

20200910_135249.jpg

Here are a few more Invader's that were seen in Paris.

20200910_132733.jpg

20210610_102348~2.jpg

20210610_114805~2.jpg

This next one could be considered a self portrait of sorts. Invader often puts up his pieces in the dead of night using a ladder and he remains mostly a hidden figure to this day. I don't know if he uses a mask when he does his installations but I do know that he doesn't make his identity known to the general public.

20210610_100023.jpg

As you can see with these next two I sometimes like to zoom in on the piece for the detail and then zoom out a little to add some context.

20200910_134123.jpg

20200910_134128.jpg

Sometimes its nice to get an idea of its placement, it's size, where it's located and what surrounds it.

20210610_094727~2.jpg

20210610_094719~2.jpg

20200910_111821.jpg

20200910_111829.jpg

The next three are Invaders that were seen in Versailles.

20210529_134435~2.jpg

I don't know what the significance of the mirror is but they mostly relate to royalty in some way because of the Chateau de Versailles and the history of the royal family that lived there.

20210529_135424.jpg

20210529_135703~2.jpg

The next three were seen seen Brussels Belgium. The first one is a play on the famous Obama artwork that was originally created by a street artist named Shepard Fairey.

20210912_122436.jpg

20210912_191203~2.jpg

The next one seen in Brussels is pretty funny to me. Can anyone guess why it's peeing? A hint is that it's a nod to the city itself.

20210913_104518~2.jpg

The last one was spotted in Lausanne Switzerland.

20200810_103213.jpg

One of them is obviously an Invader or a decent copycat creation. I'm not sure about the other one though. A part of me thinks that it might be by Mr. Djoul but I can't be certain.

20200810_103200.jpg

This is my entry for CCC's Street Art Contest.

Well thats it for now. Until next time, thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

They are absolutely great! Are they ceramic tiles stuck onto a backing or directly onto the building and the question at the front of my mind is how do they stick on? I'd hate to see one fall off and hit someone!

What a great way to brighten up any city.

Best wishes fella, I loved this post :-)

I believe they are stuck directly to the building. I'm not exactly sure what type of adhesive is used but most have grouting around the outer edge. They are stuck permanently though basically cemented to the wall so no chance of falling off. People have tried to remove them and they basically have to pry them off and they come down in chunks of broken tile. I believe that the tiles are ceramic.

Hey @leaky20
Nice captures, and it must have been fun spotting these around the city... Pixilated Art is nice to look at in your photos, and they are very creative in general.

BUT! I do hope it remains as "street art"... I would hate to have to decipher what a sign is telling me when I'm in a hurry... cos I struggle to identify such images 🤣

I would hate to have to decipher what a sign is telling me when I'm in a hurry... cos I struggle to identify such images 🤣

Haha yeah that's a good point. It would be difficult indeed - for some of the more obscure ones anyway.

this type is very clever, have come across some likr his in Leipzig, will have to find them and share

Yeah I'd be interested in seeing them for sure.

I didn't know about the peeing took I read the comments!

Those are quite cool, I didn't realise there were similar to banksy sort of artists out there that had a big following!

Yeah there are some very big names in street art. I don't know a lot of them but I know a few. A really good documentary about street art and artists can be found for free on YouTube if you're interested in that sort of thing. It's called "Exit through the Gift Shop." It was produced by Banksy and he speaks in it a lot, sort of narrates it. It's not what you would expect in a documentary about street art either. It's more of a story and very entertaining.

I think I will have to check that out. I am quite fascinated by it all and totally didn't realise there was a scene as it were

Yeah. It's worth a watch even if you're not totally into street art. It's just a funny and interesting story and like I said, I'm quite sure that it's free to watch on YouTube.

I had a look, the darn thing was not free but I will do m find it elsewhere!

Oh damn. Maybe not in your country or maybe they recently made is cost money. Hopefully you find it elsewhere. Good luck. Let me know what you think of it if you do end up watching.

These were great! I like the pixellated art and now you will have to tell me about the nod to the city and the peeing. The only story I know of is the gunpowder and the boy peeing to put it out. Fail!

I didn't realize he was so prolific! Most are pretty cool! Good eye!

The Invader peeing is for Manneken Pis, the famous statue fountain in Brussels of the little boy peeing. I've never heard the gunpowder story.

That is exactly what I was talking about. That statue. There are so many stories for this little guy!

https://www.brusselstimes.com/34280/manneken-pis-the-real-story-behind-the-iconic-statue

Oh okay. Interesting. I wasn't aware of the actual story behind it.

I learn something new every day on here.

So cool @leaky20 😎😊
You found many… 😁 great finds!

Thanks. Yeah there are a lot, especially in Paris, as you know.

You are welcome @leaky20 😊 yep, I have seen.
So cool… everywhere we watched something popped up. 😎
Happy Wednesday 👋🏻

Wahoo impressive collection of Invader's works 👍 Thanks for sharing all these pics on The StreetArt Community.

You're welcome. I'm glad you liked them.

Cute and petite. Cool🤗😂

Yeah they are pretty cute I guess. Haha

Congratulations @leaky20! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-07 - Winners List
The 8th edition of the Hive Power Up Month starts today!
Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

invader is really invading the neighbourhood, lol, lovely works

Haha yeah he sure is. His work is all over Paris and many other cities.