Spread The Vibes... In a Landscape

in Q Inspired-by-Music2 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Sometimes I catch myself searching for meaning in the most common things that surround us. I'm not superstitious and do not know numerology, but it is interesting to me when I see, for example, that the numbers in the dates match or are symmetrical. Or when I see repeating numbers on the digital clock. Also, it is just weird that these days everything revolves around the number three. I could not leave this number just go into oblivion without giving it a bit more attention. It will even come to this Spread the Vibes post as almost the main actor, and if you are interested to find out why, please continue reading but it would be nice if at the same time you would press the play button on the video... believe me, it will still play when you finish the reading of this post... as it lasts for 9 minutes and 45 seconds...

Coming back to numbers... this number 3 which could not stop proving to be important and which encouraged me to write and publish this post today, has a meaning. I know that in some cultures, it is considered to bring luck, but I also found other interesting interpretations. Back in time, when in Greece philosophy still was a thing, the number 3 was considered as the perfect number. It was the number of harmony, wisdom, and understanding. Not bad, I would say... some values we all should search for. Oh, apparently it was also the number of time, so past, present, and future are brought all together. We could also think of birth, life, and death. In one word – it was the number of the divine.

We can go further. Three is often the magic number in fairy tales. Earth is the third planet from the Sun. There are three types of galaxies: elliptical, spiral, and irregular. Our human ear has three semicircular canals. We distinguish the universe in three dimensions. Atoms are made up of three particles: protons, neutrons, and electrons. When we want to perform something in synchronicity with others, we usually count until three. Some people should set the counter for future spread the vibes to three... Others will receive a third invitation. There are trilogy songs shared here recently... As I said before, everything revolves around the number three these days.

Three will be also the number of people that I will invite to follow up with this challenge not challenge. I said challenge? Practically, it can be seen as a challenge as there are some guidelines we can follow if we read the launching post. It was published some months ago, soon it will be a year actually... wow, how time flies but one thing is not fading away! The willingness to spread some vibes. Even when the vibes that I bring here are silence or seemingly random sounds made on piano, with the damper pedal lifted through the whole composition. (You are listening to it, right? Just checking, as I said, it lasts for...a bit of time). John Cage already inspired some pianists with his way of thinking and with some of his pieces, like the famous 4:33. Four and a half minutes of silence inspired Nils Frahm to make his piece 4:33 a Tribute to John Cage. Edje picked this track to showcase in HIS POST I AM RESPONDING TO , although the whole album is what he meant to be his entry. An album called Old Friends New Friends, that brought him a real-like listening experience, feelings of a very close and personal sound, brought even closer by the darkness and just a few sparks that reached his place. Was it a perfect set-up to those moments? I bet it was, as I "tested" the album in a similar way. The landscape for that listening has to be a dark place and loneliness.

IMG_20211229_111535.jpg
Lonely piano waiting to bring sound...

I know, it would be cool if my response would be the 4:33 piece, but the landscape is what came instead. Imagine a wide space, before the dawn, the Sun still doesn't seem to bring the light but some stars are trying to break the complete darkness. Fog over the river, which mingles with reality combined with some remote sounds of mysterious bells, probably of fictional beings. This is how I hear the composition In a Landscape, you are listening to. Composer, as I mentioned, John Cage. Many of his works are experimental, even with electronic sounds, and also using everyday objects to make the piano sound different and peculiar. Paper, rubbers, threads, long bolts, penny placed between the strings of a grand piano. Another important thing in his music is structure and rhythmical order. Seems that he liked the numbers also, as for the composition I performed here, his instructions state: 15 x 15 (5.7.3.). It means that the piece has 15 parts, made up of 15 measures each. Each part is divided into three musical phrases of 5 measure, then 7 and 3 measure. Not that a listener would count the measures, parts, and phrases... I could skip or add parts, and maybe you would not even notice, but it was John Cage's idea how this composition would be balanced. Another note was: damper pedal and una corda pedal lifted all the time, from the beginning to the last measure, where the performer has to release both pedals and play a D minor chord without sounding. In this way, we obtain harmonics, which are the higher frequencies that resonate upon a fundamental tone. It is very soft, I hope you can hear it. It is when I at the end release the pedals but I hold the chord. Very soft frequencies can be heard until they fade away completely by themselves.

To record this composition, I couldn't use the electric piano I have at home. I needed a grand piano. Luckily, a friend of mine could offer me his studio, a place where he practices and records music. BUT! He recently changed a complete octave of strings, and the tuner was there about a month ago. It has to be tuned again now, as the strings loosen until they are not completely set. This can cause some tones to not have a perfect pitch, but I hope you don't mind too much. I recorded the video and the sound from the resonant box, it is what you see on the video. I feel the sound is louder this way than if you would listen to it from another place, even just a few steps away. And it is a video, believe me, although you can think it is just a photo as minimal moves you can notice. It is because the damper pedal is lifted all the time so they dont move as normally would, and the hammers we can not see from this angle as in a grand piano they are below the strings.

IMG_20211229_212512.jpg

The crime scene for recording the piece...

If you are still here, reading this post, and excited to see who will be the three invites in this edition of Spread The Vibes, here we go with the announcement of the lucky winners (although they still dont know how lucky they are ;) )

@ewkaw , third invitation to take part in spreading the musical vibes. I bet this time you will not skip it, right? {angel blinking} Deadline: 30 days... deal? :D

@edje , set your counter to three, and bring me your three promised posts! Would setting a deadline help? :D

@por500bolos , surpriseeeeee!! Trilogy thing from the third attempt, you are my third invited hiver for taking part in this challenge! Extravagant and rare music from the personal LP collection... or more of your tracks? You will know how to amuse our hearings!

mipiano_-_MP.png


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

@tipu curate 🌸

💙🎵🎵🎵 thank you ☺️

Yay, 21 days and the response landed 😀

Thank you :)))

Very interesting post!

Thank you 🎹🎶🎶

I loved the sustained notes! I felt like I was swimming in the music hehehe.

Great interpretation, I didn't hear any dissonance and the piano sounded perfectly tuned, you're going to tell me "yes, it's because you're a guitarist" hahah...😁

Also to add on what you said about the number 3, it's also the highest level in Freemasonry, 33, and the age of Jesus Christ on the cross, amongst maaaany other symbolism behind the number three, 3 like the trinity.

Yes, the sustain pedal is pressed in the beginning of the piece and just in the end I had to release it. So it is almost 10 minutes of swimming in the music :)))

There was a G that was not perfect, in mechanic either, so it was always somehow louder then the other notes...and an F that was softer, those are small small details. In pitch, not that bad either, even that imperfections gave a feeling of a more natural sound.

Oh yes, the number 3 is taking place in religions too, a lot of, lot of symbolism in the number three, you are right. :)

Without realizing it I have received a very interesting amount of data related to number 3 and you are right, it gives to think a lot about those "coincidences"; I really thank you for that because I like this kind of information.

Another thing, you made an amazing shot of the piano while it is playing, that gives it a perspective rarely seen.

On behalf of Dina and Omar we want to wish you a happy new year!!! 😊

Dear Omar and Dina, thank you for stopping by, I appreciate your efforts, even now knowing from your other post where you said you dont speak English, but you see, it seems perfect. Great effort you are doing for reading my texts in English, I always post just in one language, so thank you for your understanding and all your engagement!!

Number three has many use and symbolism, many more than I wrote here, but that would be too much then for a post that had to bring some music too :)))

Un abrazo fuerte y feliz año nuevo chicos 🤗

😆😆😆

Some people should set the counter for future spread the vibes to three

😂😂😂

that's all I can say at the moment

still 😂😂😂

{long long long pauzzze}

John Cage and experimental. Interesting how you call what John does is experimental. And am sure it's what it is but to me the piece you play is simply a beautiful piece of music. Though I wouldn't classify this as experimental at all. Ok ok ok (there is the magical 3 again), in the piano world I suppose this music is quite different to the usual, hence experimental. Since I usually LOVE experimental music in many different genres, it's obvious I love this piece as well.

How cool you got your friend to give you access to his studio. And even more cool you went the extra mile (well, at least extra 10 miles or even more) to get this piece prepped and recorded! Simple: WOW 🤥🤥🤥

{edje: what are you doing? no jokes at this point... you meant to say 🙇🙇🙇}

BTW am not so sure about this little bookcase in the studio. Must interfere with the perfect sound.

Owww Owww Owww: the higher frequencies at the end, I suppose you mean the kinda echo-ish sound? I have to ask, though I know it's super hard to bring sounds into words. So maybe the term 'echo-ish' is the wrong one. Maybe I should say, when you use the pedals, it makes to sound live longer, something I do know from pianos. When I was like 12 years of age or so, I sat behind a grand piano a few times and hammered around on it for a while. When doing so, I discovered the effect of the pedals. Anyways, that's maybe a different story for another time {euhm, that's the whole story actually, would be a copy/paste action when I dedicate a post to it}.

ps Your 'obsession' with numbers and symmetry makes you kinda mathematically wired, I think. Some call this being a 'nerd'. I call this being someone who is able to see the beauty in everything from real to abstract worlds. You gonna like the metaverses sooooo much!

🤗🤗🤗

EDIT: maybe that last comment, that you will like metaverses soooo much, is maybe not true. I just entered for the first time Decentraland. Being a nerd myself, very mathematical wired, a beta person, I was bored within 3 minutes. Maybe even less.

{long long long pauzzze}

Like pause in Cage's music? Damn! I knew I had to play the 4:33 thing :D

Cage and experimental. You are right, this piece in concrete is not that experimental, even the numerical explication of the parts is not that strange thing. But, his other works, using electronic elements, that back in time, were innovative. Also, the use of different objects to put between the strings to make different effects, like coins, rubbers, threads ( like Nils and toilet brushes ;D ) was kind of experimental and it opened the way to other composers to go further and experiment more.
I was not sure would you love this piece or not, I know I already asked you, but then I decided to go with it, in the complete version of it. You said: do what you like and not what listeners would like. So here it is :)

Yes, it was nice of him that he gave me the place to use it. I didn't have to convince him too much, after all, we can all help out each other in one or another way. 10 miles? maybe, if I count the go there and back way to home. Bookcase, hahaha, yes a bit of mess too, but he uses that room now just practice, so no importance for recording. And, if not there, my recording would be just perfect hahaha, so I can blame the bookshelf as it is not :))

No wow-s required, so what was actually the joke part? ;D

Yes, that echo at the end, those are harmonics but it hardly can be heard...
Hey, I would like to read that story, I didn't have the opportunity to read or hear it. I would be glad if I could read it one day, in a renewed version. Every story can be brought back as many times as one wants, in different ways, words and setup. But for sure, it would be cool to imagine you playing the pìano (ow, it can't be true challenge :)))) ) Edje playing the piano, with or without a photo, but with perfect descriptions 😇

Metaverse paragraph, so now after the edit, should I respond or not? ;D

Dont know, if this will be the future, I will have to adapt. If it will not be a part of my needs, I could live without it maybe? But thank you for catching up that seeing beauty in everything thing... It is somehow true :)

{this comment really need to balance the weight of the one above}

The joke part: well the WOW was followed with 3 emoticons with the Pinocchio nose, basically un-WOW the WOW.

I know 😇

But as I said no wow-s are required, so wow or not I did what I did, an extra mile or ten 😋

The piano sounds incredible! It's really cool to see inside and watch all of the pieces of the piano work together. Wonderful piece and performance!

We just inherited a piano and I'm slowly learning. Maybe someday I'll post a piano piece too!

Wow, that is great, inherited a piano? Looking forward to seeing you learn it, that would be cool!! Thank you for your comment @bertimismaximus!!

Great music! i really like it!

Thank you!! I like John Cage's music too, seems that we are the only ones that like this piece :)

And I see you are completely new at Hive? Just landed here? That is great, hope you will have a good time here!! Welcome!! 🎶

Hi how are you, actually I'm looking forward to mushrooms from you...

Talking about the piano playing you do, that's really nice to hear ☺

Oh @mirz, unfortunately, I dont have a mushroom post for today... Ewkaw said food topic and I am not really good in that field. I had just one, only one food-related post on Hive ;) but, I know, everything can be learned so it is my fail that no post for Fungi Friday today came from me.

And thanks for visiting my piano post, I hope you didnt fall asleep with this piano piece, the 56 mushroom photos from your post today are more interesting. Wow, those hairy mushrooms on the log are cool ones. Ok, will no tel more here, more in the comment section of your post 😁

Thank you very much, you explained it at length, and I feel impressed, besides being great you also have a good heart, nice to know you 🤗

Do you allow if the piano sound can be filled with insect videos that I will upload to youtube? ☺

Once again I want to say thank you...
In Indonesian it is called, "Terima kasih Banyak" and in my local language Aceh is called "Terimoeng Geunaseh" 😁

Nice to meet you too @mirz
Hive is a great place to meet people, isn't it?
Your language seems difficult to me, but it is soft and nice to listen to, it is melodic. I listen to this language many times in Hive Open Mic community, where we have participants from Indonesia. Maybe you know them, nice people!

Regarding music for your videos, do you mean this one, music from this video? But you know, I am not the composer of this piece, so you should then write that the composer is John Cage and the title of the composition In a Landscape. However, it is always better to use some royalty-free music for those kinds of videos, featuring insects or other non-music-related things. If I would compose my own music, then why not :)

There are many musicians here on the platform that write their own music, that would be a perfect match then :)

Hola @mipiano
Thank you very much...
Sorry I can only reply now 🙏
Sejujurnya, I use a translator, and I can't speak English yet (i will learn about it). 😁

Ok I'll have a look at other music in this community, and thanks for your suggestions about youtube 😉🤝

By the way, I also have some friends from Spain, and they are also very kind to me, just like you 🤗👏

Seems that people living in Spain are alike :)

Thanks once again for your comments, and this is cool that you can communicate through a translator, even if you dont speak English. Great effort, well-done mirz!!

Ok, will no tel more here, more in the comment section of your post.

Sorry I don't really understand about this, so I'll reply here 😄🙏

I missed one letter, it had to be: I will not tell more here... 🤣
I wanted to say, I am going to comment on your post, about mushrooms! :)

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 9000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more