Send In The Clowns - Piano Cover

in Music3 years ago (edited)

Joker.jpg

How do you feel about Sunday? Are you active on Sundays, or do you want to enjoy the peace and spend the Sunday morning at home, maybe even in your pyjamas, lazily not going out until you run out of food? Maybe you’re recovering from a Saturday party (not this year, I imagine, because of the situation) or you’re planning a family lunch?
For me, Sundays always passed at the speed of light, and once approaching the late afternoon of Sunday, it always evoked a feeling of sadness in me. Fortunately, I have learned recently to enjoy every moment, even though knowing that Monday is a workday and that a new work week is starting with all the stress and rush. I’ve learned that Sunday is a day when I can enjoy the things I love, at the pace I like. Sadness replaced by joy.

However, that dualism of sadness and happiness is somehow always present our lives. Even the most positive person can sometimes feel sad, so I was thinking that maybe that was the purpose of the tag #Sadsunday? Looking at the tags in the Music community posted here by @ music-community, I came across this tag and wanted to know more about it. The search didn't show me recent posts with that tag, but I found out that the user @flipstar introduced it in February 2019. As I am here for six months, I haven't met him and I think he is not active anymore. However, we can see why he created this tag

I want to introduce a new tag. Sad Sunday is meant for all the music which brings out the tears. You listen to if you suffer from a broken heart, the hangover from Saturday or a brutal bear market.
It is not limited to any specific genre.

Bear market? Not this time, although we all have to be wise and stay calm with this bull market, of course. Hangover, neither, lol. Let's just say that this #Sadsunday can be a place where we can discharge any kind of sad moment or frustration we are facing.
My pick is Send In The Clowns.

Send In The Clowns Photo.jpg

The song Send In The Clowns is written by Stephen Sondheim in 1973 for a musical (A Little Night Music). When Frank Sinatra recorded it, the song became very popular. Listening to versions on YouTube, I found as well a version made by Judy Collins. It is a bit calmer, without so many "rubato" movements. You can hear actually that Sinatra sings it pretty freely.

The song also appears at the end of the movie Joker (2019). I watched it in the cinema, and I don't even have to say how much I was disturbed and how I cried at the end of the movie. Surely, the song stayed in my mind, and here I bring the piano cover of the song. I recorded it yesterday in the evening, after practising it for the majority of the day. My poor husband just couldn't stop to sing it as well, I always make my family sing all the pieces I play at the piano. Good for them or not, that is me.

The lyrics of the song Send In
The Clowns

Isn't it rich?
Are we a pair?
Me here at last on the ground,
You in mid-air,
Where are the clowns?
Isn't it bliss?
Don't you approve?
One who keeps tearing around,
One who can't move,
Where are the clowns?
There ought to be clowns?
Just when I'd stopped opening doors,
Finally knowing the one that I wanted was yours
Making my entrance again with my usual flair
Sure of my lines
No one is there
Don't you love farce?
My fault, I fear
I thought that you'd want what I want
Sorry, my dear!
But where are the clowns
Send in the clowns
Don't bother, they're here
Isn't it rich?
Isn't it queer?
Losing my timing this late in my career
But where are the clowns?
There ought to be clowns
Well, maybe next year

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


So tell me, do you like the #Sadsunday idea, and should we make it alive again? Do you like the song, and which version do you prefer? Let me know your opinion... let's talk about it, so we can make the Music community a place with more engagement.

Many greetings and Happy #Sadsunday to all.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Owwww the #SadSunday tag is back :)

Must say: I never used this tag (as far as I know). At that time when it was bear market, it was not just Sunday, but all weekdays. I can't create music, so in that respect, no sad songs/tracks/recordings from my side. Sure, some posted music by others. I could've done that, and could do this in the future. Before Covid, Saturday outings to festivals, clubs and whatnot could be followed with a SadSunday, but mostly the Sundays following a great dancing trip on Saturday usually was followed with a great Sunday hanging out with the same (or different) crew of the day before making my Sunday's usually a HappySunday. So maybe, when you (we) like to revive the #SadSunday tag, we may establish a new tag at the same time HappySunday. This could be followed with a #SadMonday though {LOL}

Your piano piece was great to listen to this Sunday morning at which I'm happier than sad with super calm weather, the sun high in the sky, the city still at sleep :)

There are already #musicmonday and #mondaytrance, but #sadmonday would be great hahahaha 😂

Your piano piece was great to listen to this Sunday morning at which I'm happier than sad with super calm weather, the sun high in the sky, the city still at sleep :)

I am glad you liked it, and seems that the Spanish Sun went to you place, it is raining here, which is very very rare 😂

By now, the 🌞 moved away replacing the skies by the colours loved by Thor aka Donar. But I think he lost his hammers and all, probably searching for them right now ⛈️

Madrid and gazillion meters of ❄️. How crazy can it get!? ☃️

Madrid and gazillion meters of ❄️. How crazy can it get!? ☃️

I know, I want to see snow hahaha. There were a bit of snow in the nearby mountain yesterday morning, but the police closed the roads as many people wanted to go to see and there was a collapse of cars 😂. I wanted to go as well hahaha, but it wasn't possible.

South West of my tiny country got snow, about 200km away. Yesterday, many took their cars and drove there to see, touch and feel all the cold white stuff. At some point tremdenous traffic jams, so it seemed to me. At the other side of the country, traffic jams towards the beach, since it was super sunny yesterday. I closed my eyes and saw Sun and Snow at the same time... No traveling required, Not traffic jammed, No delays.... Just a halfway blink of the eyes {LOL}

Good strategy 👏😂

Photo from yesterday morning...just looking from the window 😜

IMG_20210110_131132.jpg

1: looks awesone!
2: that's a tiny bit of snow indeed.

I like the idea! I post sad songs any day of the week, but keeping to themes is fun as well.

Oh great!! I see there will be #SadSunday posts again 👏👏

I always like Sundays. A day for walking, playing music, visiting family, reading a book, drnking a good beer, preparing nice food. So the tag 'sad sunday' doesn't really ring a bell.

Sadly I can't listen to your performance, 3Speak is having a bit of a problem apparently. I'll try again later.

Hey @partitura, I am happy to see you here 😃. Yes, Sundays are great, but don't you feel a bit in late Sunday afternoon a kind of longing? Just a little bit for some moments? hehehe

Btw, now it is working (3speak)

Listened to it just now. A melancholy piece, beautiful in itself, just not my experience of Sunday. And late afternoon is actually something to look forward to: that's when we open a Belgian beer or some wine, play a game or watch a movie together with our kids.

Posted using Dapplr

Movie with the children? That sounds good 👌

Estas recibiendo un voto por parte del proyecto "Sound Music" (@music1sound) y este post fue seleccionado para el reporte de curación diaria. Contáctenos para saber más del proyecto a nuestro servidor de Discord. Si desea delegar HP al proyecto: Delegue 5 HP - Delegue 10 HP - Delegue 20 HP - Delegue 30 HP - Delegue 50 HP - Delegue 100 HP.

Muchas gracias @music1sound ☺️

Impecable! Loving your vibes.
te admiro! (;

Thank you Ricardo for stopping by. Como hemos empezado hablar en Inglés, ahora es raro pasar al castellano jejeje. Tampoco es mi lengua materna, pero me defiendo igual de bien en varias idiomas 😁

(; me imaginé porque me fije en tu perfil que dice España jejej , un gusto conocerte!

 3 years ago  

Que hermoso!! Siempre es encantador escucharte mi gran amiga... Te mando un abrazo apretadito xD

Muchas gracias @edwardstobia por pasar y comentar 🤗

Una pregunta, porfa si tienes tiempo a responder. Tú ves algunas fotos en este post? Habían tres fotos y unos enlaces para youtube y yo ahora no les veo. Hace unos días me pasó que no veía no las publicaciones ni notificaciones, y desde entonces este post y uno más lo veo sin fotos que puse 🤷

 3 years ago  

Solo veo el vídeo y el texto mi amiga... Que estará pasando? =(

Pues no lo sé, ahora veo que casi todo lo que he subido a través de 3speak y luego editado en peakd tiene el mismo problema. Las fotos y todo añadido ha desaparecido 🤦🏻‍♀️

Muchas gracias por confirmarme la info, pensaba que el problema es que solamente yo lo veo así.

Que tengas un feliz finde 😋🤗