Banishing the Monday Blues

in The MINIMALISTlast year (edited)

It's a choppy morning on the West End in Negril, at Home Sweet Home hotel overlooking the cliffs.

received_668472568312384-03.jpeg

... Big waves are a bit too much for me, but despite the rough seas, I still find the turquoise water inviting. However, it's not rare that slight extremities in the weather alter my feelings and emotions, so I tend to be extra mindful to keep my mood positive and stable regardless of what's happening around me.

With it being like this, what better time to indulge in some yoga, for relaxation, calmness, and happiness, to ground me.
Yoga is the perfect way to kick-start my week.

MillyGoddess.jpg

It's all about Mindful Monday peeps, and I'm feeling like a goddess in Negril, as I banish the Monday Blues with Yoga. 😊

I like to beat stress in natural environments of blues and greens, where I can breathe fresh air, focus on the rhythm of my breath, and feel my body slowly relax and sink into the ground.

My back door view here is just as spectacular, as the front view, from my balcony, but from that spot above, I felt the sun pelting on me, as I listened to the waves bounce against the cliffs, while the gentle tropical breeze cooled my skin.

... No to Monday Blues, yes to the Caribbean Blues :)

IMG_20221203_154415_287-01.jpeg

Let's face it, Mondays could be the "bitch from hell", but with yoga, I'm like "bring it on baby."

Incorporating slow living, with my mindfulness activities is essential. Slow living is taking time out to tune in and be mindful, to feel the energy of natural spaces around me, and simultaneously observing the value of time.

received_492831922945875-02.jpeg

Taking time out, and moments of stillness, allow me to focus my mind and set intentional goals that I feel are needed in my life to improve my well-being.

One such goal is getting back into a simple fitness routine of resistance training that fits ideally into my minimalist ideology of working with what I have and in this case, it's carrying and working with my own body weight. Doing this kind of activity brings some vitality and vigour, which helps to uplift my mind, and gives me a wholesome feeling.

IMG_20221204_104316_372-02.jpeg

It's about finding Balance...

... and slow living and mindfulness help me to achieve balance in my life, if I train my mind and eyes to see the beauty in the simple things around me, such as nature and continuously find creative ways to utilize what I have at hand.

received_1748643575510254-03.jpeg

Nature is everything to me, no matter how different.

With practice, mindfulness comes naturally in all activities that I do. Wherever I go, applying mindfulness and being in the present helps my mind to zone in on the positives. Life is energy, humans are made of energy, and I gain so much energy from being in nature, where I feel and connect with the spaces around me, and resuming my yoga practice today has been like a mental reset.

Although my yoga session today was a bit challenging, due to some shoulder injuries, it was just what my body needed to push start my strengthening, toning, reflexibility and increase in range of motion.
I feel no pressure, but I'll try to slowly and consistently find my way back to a regular routine.


This is my front door view below. See what I mean about the back door and front door views being epic?

homesweethomepool.jpg

Just a note...
I do enjoy sitting by the sea more than I enjoy spending time in it. But whenever I want to engage in some mindfulness and meditation, I appreciate the blues for the vast body that it is. The sea helps to keep me in check, while at the same time, giving me the inspiration to explore and discover the world.

What are some of the mindfulness activities that you like to do especially on a Monday to set the pace for the week?

I thank you for stopping by, as I share some personal images to reflect on these awesome memories that will live with me forever 🙏

(All images are mine, and the cover photo was altered using the Paaint mobile app)

Sort:  

You are so beautiful and so inspiring!

I'm starting Yoga again tomorrow! I'll check in, if you don't mind, to make sure I actually get on it again.

Also...

You are beautiful 💥💗

Hey there!😁

Thanks for your sweet and kind compliments.

I have just resumed yoga because I was down with some flu-like symptoms for a month with body aches, and I'm just regaining strength. My body is so tight that it's unbelievable, and I'm hoping that yoga will help my frozen shoulders. It was agonising to raise my arms, but slowly I breathed into the pain, while taking them up and back with each deep breath.

I'm sure you'll get back into a routine, so don't put any pressure on... let it happen naturally.

I should be back home tomorrow, so I'll catch up on some messages that I know I've missed.
Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it a lot 💗🌻

Oh my gosh! I could be looking at that turquoise sea for hours and days and never get tired.
I admit that I had abandoned a little bit of the mindfulness practice, but these days while resting at home, and as I have had to slow down, I have felt so good putting my mindfulness into simple things. This blog is a great inspiration even though I'm not as close to the Caribbean Blues as I would like ;)
I'm glad you're having a good time 🤗

It's great to hear that you're taking things a little easier and slowing down. It's so important for us, not just our physical energy, but our mental energy too.
We don't realise just how much energy it takes to keep a congested mind functioning.
Yes, it would be nice to be close to the sea, but other nature can be just as beautiful. I'll be going back to my family home tomorrow, but this has been an excellent break, and chance for me to appreciate the beauty of the island.

I hope your recovery will continue to go well xx

Thank you, Milly
Keep enjoying your time in the Caribbean xoxo
!LUV

My jealousy is so profound that I’m actually crying fat, fat tears. However, I’ve decided to console my myself by reconnecting to yoga.

The Caribbean Blues, now there’s a thing to market or bottle. WoW 🤗💕❤️

Honestly, I fall in love with the sea whenever I'm back here. On the other side of this town, there are 7 miles of white sand beach, which is regarded as the best beach on the island. The sand is fine and powdery, but my husband hates sand and is happier on this cliffside.

The Caribbean Blues, now there’s a thing to market or bottle.

For real! When I look at the water it's like unbelievable, and that's just how I feel too 😍❤️🌺

💕🤗❤️🤗🤗💕💕🤗🤗❤️❤️😉😉

Endless water - Wow, that view is incredible.
Its an amazing place to do yoga and practice mindfulness.

Life is energy, humans are made of energy, and I gain so much energy from being in nature, where I feel and connect with the spaces.

That's so very true. Well said.
Its nice that you are able to continue your minimalist practices and bring them wherever you go.

The view feels unreal. I sat under a gazebo having breakfast and was mesmerised by the beauty of it all. Just a wrong step and I could be into the deep blue.

able to continue your minimalist practices and bring them wherever you go.

That's what I love most about it too.

#Mindfulness #Yoga #anytime #anyplace

🙏

You could NOT have found a more serene view to beat the stress! Forget the yoga, just looking at the view in person would take all my stress away! Such clean water is a myth where I come from.

Hehe! You're right, I didn't need the yoga to get me in a meditative state at all. I felt charmed!

Such clean water is a myth where I come from.

Now that you mention this, I realised why it was so shocking to see the amount of thrash that was washed ashore depending on the direction of the winds while I was in Asia.
It made me so sad to wake up to sightings of every manner of garbage you could imagine. We had regular groups for beach cleanup, but it always seemed like a futile task. What a shame, heh?

Looking at the images alone gives me this inner peace talk more of being physically present in such amazing space. I could sit by the sea all day just breathing in and out with my my mind purely blank. It's been a while I visited the sea or even riverside and I've done yoga just once; that day, I couldn't feel my body anymore. The pain was excruciating and I was asked to be consistent so I don't feel the pains whenever I'm doing it but my mind hasn't agreed with me just yet to take it up as a consistent thing to do. Hehe

I love the glow of your skin, you look amazing too🤍.

Haha, your comment is so funny.
Yes, I got such a calming feeling while I sat next to the water.

I hope that you'll get to do yoga again, but it's great that you opened your mind to have at least tried it once.
Yes, our bodies can be so tight and even tense without us recognising it, and our bodies do have memories, and our muscles will fight to hold on to what it's used to.

Maybe you could find three to four moves that appeal to you and try doing them regularly, without even acknowledging that you're doing yoga. That way you could do it anywhere you are.

I love being by rivers very much, that's my favourite body of water, but the sea is also magical and a place I love to go to meditate.

Thanks for the compliments. I used to wear light makeup every day from a very young age. I stopped doing so for a few years now because somehow, I prefer my natural look even with all its imperfection😊

Thanks for stopping by with your lovely comment:)))

I hope that you'll get to do yoga again,

I hope so too cause I do want to have that relaxing feeling sometime.

Maybe you could find three to four moves that appeal to you and try doing them regularly, without even acknowledging that you're doing yoga.

YouTube should have some moves yeah, I'll check it out. Hope my body adapts quickly.

prefer my natural look even with all its imperfection

To be honest, you're naturally beautiful at least I've seen a few of your photos and I know makeup would still look really nice on ya, no caps!

Thanks for stopping by with your lovely comment:)

My pleasure 😊

Thanks again for your lovely comments. It's 6:30 am in Jamaica, and I just woke up and will do a morning session of yoga.
Have yourself a great day:)))

Have yourself a great day:)))

You too😉

What a better place to free your mind and practice some yoga? I bet the sound of the waves and all these views are very relaxing. I love the colors of the water… didn’t you say that you’ll take me to Jamaica? I’m coming!
One love!

You got that right! It's the perfect setting to let go of all your problems and just let the magnitude of the beauty guide your mind.

Haha! I think you just might like the next Coffee Conversation topic that will be published at 01:00 UTC (later).

Yeah, the colour of the water at the right time of day is spectacular. Such a beautiful shade of blue:)))

🇯🇲❤️💛💚

I feel like I have something to say about every coffee conversation topic! 😁
Already waiting with anticipation!

Ok, I'm happy to hear that:)))

untitled.gif

What a beautiful view you have in your beloved home 😍😍😍 dear @millycf1976

I agree with you that natural spaces are the ideal setting to combat stress and to turn Monday into a whirlwind of tranquility. We should always look for ways to prevent external factors from undermining our peace of mind.

Greetings 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗

turn Monday into a whirlwind of tranquillity.

I like that.

Yes, we sometimes have our own lives under control, yet allow external factors to cause us turmoil.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it:)))

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you very much to the team:)))

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much Ewkaw and the #qurator team. I appreciate your support:)))

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

Thank you very much for your support:)))

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @millycf1976 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 8250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 8500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!