Capturing wildflowers with a telephoto lens

in Photography Lovers8 months ago


wildflowers-9066.jpg

They have such a cool look

break.png

Today, I decided that I was gonna bring my camera with my Sigma 70-200mm lens on my walk. There were a bunch of sparrows out flying along the canal and I thought it would be cool to try and get some photos of them, but they were so fast and small, that I didn't really get any good ones.


wildflowers-8963.jpg

But there was so much life along the walk that I still had something to take photos of. I have never really spent much time shooting flowers with my telephoto lens, so it was an interesting challenge to use it for all of these photos. I am getting a lot more comfortable using it for these types of shots though.


wildflowers-8968.jpg

The biggest difference with using this lens is that I have to back up quite a bit from my subject for it to focus. This is the complete opposite of my 100mm macro lens. With my macro lens, I can get super close and the lens will focus.


wildflowers-8990.jpg

The minimum focus distance on this lens is 1.2 meters. So I basically have to be almost 4 feet away from whatever I am taking a picture of before it will be able to focus on it. It's not a big deal 99% of the time because this lens is mainly for making things far away seem closer.


wildflowers-9059.jpg

So to take pictures of flowers and stuff, you really need to space yourself right. It sucks to not be able to get super close and get a bunch of details, but the thing I like most about this lens is how it compresses the background and the bokeh is super nice when you shoot at 200mm.


wildflowers-9064.jpg


wildflowers-9065.jpg

The lighting was really cool outside. We have been having a bunch of rain along with a cold front. The cloud coverage really makes for some nice lighting. It makes the flowers seem like they are glowing.


wildflowers-9069.jpg

I really like the colors in this photo, along with the many different depths of field for focus.


wildflowers-9071.jpg


wildflowers-9073.jpg


wildflowers-9075.jpg

This shot was pretty fun. I had to stand on my tip toes to be tall enough to get the flower in focus. I love how the bright colors stand out against the dark greens and shadows.


wildflowers-9076.jpg


wildflowers-9078.jpg


wildflowers-9080.jpg

If you look closely, you can see a bug staring back at you. It was just soakin up the sun on the flower petals.


wildflowers-9084.jpg

I hope that you enjoyed the photos. It was fun using my long lens for these types of shots. It is always an adventure when you stick a lens on the camera for the entire day and force yourself to use that lens for everything.

Sort:  

You brought the big gun this time 70-200 mm!!

No wonder you got those shallow focused subjects. Got to love that, especially with the shots with just single flower.

Did you do some post-processing too?

!LUV
!PIZZA

@derangedvisions, @pravesh0(1/10) sent LUV. | connect | community | HiveWiki | NFT | <>< daily

Join in Hive General chat | Type ! help (no space) to get help on Hive. Info

Made with LUV by crrdlx

I edit my photos in Lightroom after. Ya, the 70-200 does some really cool stuff with shooting single flowers.

Oh, cool! You got the 70-300 as well?

beautiful flowers, with detailed portraits visible. I love it

Thanks. It was fun.

Would have love to see that bug close up. Hehe.

I wish I had the macro lens on to get up close to it.

Great photos! As a gardening & photography fan, I enjoyed seeing your photos and it was a learning a telephoto lens can be used in this way. I still only have a lens that came with my camera but definitely want to buy a telephoto lens in the future :)

Thank you. Telephoto lenses can be a lot of fun to experiment with. I hope you are able to get one soon.

Your shot on your first photo is so beautiful, the flower looks softer plus your editing is so perfect that this flower is even more stunning,

you could say all your flowers have different beauty and all are perfect

Thanks. They did turn out pretty cool.

But what beautiful photos. Excellent work.

Greetings and blessings

Thank you

70-200 did a fantastic job, enjoyed all the shots

Thanks. It takes a while to used to this lens but it makes some really cool shots.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@pravesh0(1/5) tipped @derangedvisions

So beautiful editing 👍👍

Thanks

Your camera result and editing both are awesome. All these flowers looks so beautiful. I really like to see natural beauty and relaxing alot. Thanks for sharing.