Mt. Pulag Is Indeed the Playground of the Gods

Hello everyone!

How much of your comfort are you willing to give up to see this view?

Last week, I posted the only preparation I did for Mt. Pulag, but I was pretty confident that I'll survive the climb. My only worry was the cold. There were already warnings that there are instances of the temperature dropping to negative degrees Celsius at this time of the year at the summit of Mt. Pulag. Some climbers who had already summited the 3rd highest mountain in the Philippines told us to bring at least four jackets. I only have three jackets plus one windbreaker. I trusted my Columbia Omni-Heat jacket because I didn't feel any discomfort due to the cold when I climbed Mt. Apo. My only worry is my extremities. My hands and feet would easily get numbed that I didn't even try taking a bath at the homestay we were in even if it has a hot shower.

I was confronted by that question when we woke up at midnight last Saturday to reach the summit of Mt. Pulag, via Ambangeg Trail, before sunrise. We were fast. We reached the summit at around 4:00 AM and that's way before sunrise. It was too cold for me to bear because of the wind at the top. Good thing we brought emergency blankets. We ended up huddling under the grasses that were only about 3 feet tall. We were like birds making nests under the grasses. But once the sun started peering at the horizon, everything became worth it. So, to answer that question, I'm willing to give up all my comfort to the point of just the bare minimum for survival to see that view.

It all started with this:

I didn't bring my Fuji camera because I thought it would just be a hassle and it might not work properly due to the cold. All the photos are taken using my phone. They're not edited too much, just a few lights and shadows and a little bit of saturation. Some photos are a little bit blurred, maybe because I was shivering while I took the photo. I have other photos taken from my GoPro, but I'll use them when it's time to document the whole ordeal properly.

The west view of the summit:


The north view of the summit:


The south view of the summit:


The sunrise:

We were not greeted by the famed sea of clouds because the sky was so clear that morning and the wind was a little bit stronger. There was a sea of clouds, but it was too far. I couldn't ask for more though. It was one of the clearest scenes I've witnessed in all of my mountain climbing.

Why is Mt. Pulag often called the "Playground of the Gods"? Based on the briefing of the DENR personnel, Mt. Pulag is named as such because the locals considered the mountain as a sacred place. Some tribes used the mountain as a burial site because they believed that when a person dies, his soul will to the mountains. And I wanted that. I want my soul to be in the mountains. If I'll die, I want to be cremated and have my ashes scattered in the mountains. I want to be a part of the mountain even as nutrients to the plants.

I mean who would not want always to see this kind of view?

As we descended from the summit, that was when all the beauty we missed when we ascended revealed itself. I just couldn't get enough of it!

These are not color graded. That's the color of the dried grass as the morning sun illuminated the whole mountain. Saying that it's magical is an understatement.

How about with the moon in the background?

Or this lone pine tree?

I'm intrigued by that tree because the DENR personnel said that the plant species in the mountain don't mix. At the summit are the grasses and a species of dwarf bamboo, next is the mossy forest with bonsai trees and berries, and then the lowest is the pine forest. It means that the lone pine tree is not in its supposed place. I love that kind of energy. It's not just surviving, it's thriving.

That's all I have to share for now. I'll post more photos soon!

Happy Hearts Day!

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.

Sort:  

Love it.😍 Breathtaking view! No wonder Mt. Pulag is such a beautiful mountain. Can't wait for you to climb mountains around the world.

It goes beyond my expectations! More mountains to climb jud kay nainspired nako musaka. 😅

Looking at these suddenly gave me the urge to be with nature! 😩 I'd love to see this view in person. Naol talaga! Can't wait for more photos, Kim!

Easy lang sha if maghome stay ka via Ambangeg Trail. Sana soon ikaw din, Arc! As for more photos, let's see dahil masyado akong tamad.

Balang araw, Kim! I don't want to be stuck here with my computer foreverrr. 😭 Hahaha keri lang sa paghintay ng photos! Katamad naman talaga, lalo pag maraming na-take.

Aakyat na yan! Now na! Haha

Waaaaaaa! I've always wanted to come here but I'm not good at hiking, how much more climbing this sacred and beautiful mountain.
For now, I'll just feast my eyes with your lovely photos!
Di halata nga phone ra ha! Nindota gud ug phone haha

Di jud nindot akong phone. Like pangpobre ra jud. Nindot lang jud guro ang place na di mahalata ang imperfections sa photos.

What a hike! I love the views and I could spend there the whole day just sitting and enjoying them. Well, I guess I would end up with a bad sunburn 😂 but priorities..

I see that there are quite a few people hiking at the same time. I like to see that people enjoy nature as much as they can 🙂

Four jackets seem as a lot to me, but it can be that people there are not used to cold, so they need a bit more protection 🙂

Thank you for sharing!

Priorities! I put on a lot of sun screen prior to the hike so I was prepared. We are not really used to the cold. Our comfortable temperature is at 27°C. 13-17°C and we're already shivering. Having 4 jackets is just enough especially during the night.

Wow love it my friend 🥰😎
You guys did reach the top rather early and I can imagine the cold and trying to keep warm together sheltering under the grasses. It sooooo was worth it.
These photos, although taken by your phone, are epic. STUNNING! The views… 🤓
You were so lucky with the clear sky. Beautiful.
Looking forward to the rest of the documentation 😊
Thank you so much @ybanezkim26
!ALIVE 👋🏻😊

Hopefully I won't get lazy and continue with the whole documentation. Have a great day, my friend!

Let’s hope 😋 you have too, so many fans here 😇 hahaha 🤣 !LOL

Thanks a lot, enjoy your weekend 👋🏻☀️🐝

Wow! Fans? I felt like I'm just blabbering here. Didn't know I have fans. 😁

Have a great week!

Hahaha I think you do 🤓
Thanks a lot, enjoy yours!

@ybanezkim26! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @littlebee4. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hi there @ybanezkim !

How much of your comfort are you willing to give up to see this view?

To directly answer to that question, I would say « pretty much all !!! »

Seems like you were quite well equipped but I was wondering how high is the Mt. Pulag ? (for sure, I could check that easily too !)

The views you shared here are really gorgeous and it remember me every time I climb a tall hill or a little mountain ⛰ :) Thanks you a lot for that morning hike with you, I always thought to be buried and then with a tree growing on top of me, but I like your plan too... though we both have time to think about bout it 😂 !

I guess we're the same! Mt. Pulag is 2926 meters above sea level.

I guess I'll include in my last will to be buried under a tree or be cremated and my ashes be scattered in the mountains. That's why I always say I'm a mountain person.

I don't often have the occasion to go mountains hiking, but I think I'm one inside too. Love the fact to get higher, taking altitude !

I wish you a nice weekend, take good care @ybanezkim26 ✌️

It's always cool to see the moon in the day... but from the high up i couldn't imagine. Looks like an incredible view from an amazing experience. Thanks for sharing here my friend! Cheers

It's also one of the views I'm in awe. It looks like the moon is just in reach. Cheers!

untitled.gif

I Love the play of light and shadow on the tall grasses and the undulation of the hills to mountains. What an amazing place to see and be in, wonderful @ybanezkim26

Glad you loved that one as much as I did! It's a sight to behold. Much more in person.

It looks beautiful out there!
Thanks for Sharing Kim. I am looking forward to the full story!

Exceeded my expectations! I have always wanted to share the whole story, but I still have a lot of pending prior travels. The dilemma.

Truly a wonder place, Out of this world, not everyone can get a chance to visit beautiful place like this, You are lucky in this regard. Every view is delightful and treat to watch.

I agree that not everyone can visit the mountains. That's why I always view them as special places only those with the determination can visit.

woah! jaw dropping! thanks for sharing this experience with us.. kanice jd guro to see it in person...

Thanks, ma'am Jean! Super nice jud in person. Lahi ra jud.

I'm in love with the beauty of the sunrise! One thing you get to see clearly when you're up there at the top of the mountain! Mt. Pulag's legend is interesting. Some tribes using the mountain as a burial site,. Isn't it a little creepy up there?he he
But the photos are beautifully captured!Cheers!

There's no sign of it being creepy. I guess the souls are at peace up there. I mean who wouldn't? 😄

what a lovely view indeed. Mt Pulag is on my bucket list actually and Mt. Ulap too. Hopefully this summer. You are too brave to do it this time of the year, I just can't. It's too cold. Hehehe!

!PIZZA

Mt. Ulap is already in my radar after we stayed in Baguio for a day after the climb. Sana makabalik ulet.

I hope you'd use pinmapple in your next post dear. I hope I can go to Mount Pulag too. Such a wonderful place

I'm a curator of pinmapple though 😅

Edwards the colors around here which is so stunning also the walking seem like it was a great adventure for you. Not many varieties of plant or tree surrounding the mountains, but with this few types can also bring the unique atmosphere. There are more scenery that I think you could show us and I hope to see them soon.

Thanks! It was indeed a great adventure. Minus the cold, everything was just awesome.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Absolutely glorious!

It's so surreal that nature is rich in everything, it's so comfortable to be in vibes like this, so much peace.

Truth! There's so much peace up there. Except the cold.

you can tell very well from the photos because it is a very sacred place it is very beautiful

Indeed! It exceeded my expectations.

This makes me very proud to be a Filipino.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yoieuqudniram.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Wao what a great and amazing places. Whenever I go to such places, I keep my clothes first and the clothes that may be needed there so that I don't have to worry. Natural sights are very dear to the heart of man and in such places one feels very relaxed and especially when one is with friends it is more fun to chat. In winter, when the sun shines like this, the day becomes even more special because one's hands are getting very cold and the sun is soothing.

Indeed! Nature is always awesome to see.

Yeah man.

You are privileged to be able to enjoy such beautiful views of nature. Best regards.

Indeed! That's why I am always thankful for that great day.

what a beautiful place! I would love to be able to visit it one day, it looks like it was a great experience for you

You can visit the mountain nearest to you, if possible.

Beautiful photos!

It is absolutely beautiful. The soul sinks with delight.

Indeed! It's one for the books.

Indeed! It was an adventure for the books. I'll always remember this one.

That's normal. That's why I always take advantage of the energy I still have. I can even feel the difference in terms of energy when I was still in my early 20s.