Back to the garden after a break, my next blockchain cannabis crop: Reclining Buddha!

in WeedCash Network3 years ago (edited)

My last (lockdown) crop was my hardest ever. Afterward, I took several weeks off. But the urge to grow has returned! Thanks to the free market, I have seeds to start up my new indoor cannabis garden, selected from my personal stash:

I'm blessed to have rarely paid for a seed, and always obtained them from the unregulated market. Prohibition forced incredible growers and breeders underground, and as part of the Vancouver cannabis activism scene, I have been spoiled by some of the very best seeds in the world. For my next crop...

Reclining Buddha

... is a heavy-hitting Indica, high in THC, moderate in CBD, and known for mind-altering effects and uplifting sedation. An excellent choice for making healing extracts for my wife @MediKatie. I've never grown this strain before but I'm experienced with similar Indicas.


Day 0 (December 7 2020)

The seeds came to me through the free (aka "black") market - a friend in Amsterdam sneaked them into a letter a couple years ago, and now seems to be the time to grow them out! The strain is a cross of mainly Super Skunk and Holland's Hope, two iconic Dutch cultivars. It was bred by Sensi Seeds.

I've germinated 11 seeds (saving 6 as genetic backup) and I expect 9 or 10 or those will sprout. They're not feminized, so I'm expecting about 5 females to survive to adulthood. I'm going to keep them low and tight, and try and up my yield this time. Not looking to produce seeds, but if I do get a nice male, I'll consider hitting a couple branches with some controlled pollination. I'll probably harvest the flowers as soon as they're ready, to make way for an epic summer crop.


Day 0 (December 7 2020)

Not my first rodeo

This will be my third crop at this location, plus I did three crops like it at my little apartment in Vancouver over the past few years. All indoor setups like this, and all of them right here on the blockchain! They were:

  1. Pink Kush
  2. Steem OG & Northern Lights #4
  3. Super Skunk
  4. Steem OG & MK Ultra
  5. MK Ultra & Mango Kush

Before that, when my grandmother was alive and I was caring for her at her house in the outskirts of Vancouver in 2015, I managed to grow a single plant, avoiding detection of out-of-town family members who swore to destroy any cannabis found. It was a Girl Scout Cookies, and turned out to be female. With the small amount of bud, I made oil for MediKatie's cancer.


The plant I stealthily grew in my late grandfather's greenhouse. It was right when Justin Trudeau took power and promised to "legalize cannabis day 1".

And before all that, I ran a black market grow-op for a couple years, so I have experience in a variety of cannabis garden settings. Not to mention decades of experience growing other plants for food or flowers. I can grow, and grow I shall!

That's my new spot, ready for action once my germinating seeds have finished sprouting (within another 48 hours).


Day 2 (Today - December 9 2020)

All it takes is one corner of a small room! And it can be done for almost zero budget. I'll be upgrading my light soon, but it doesn't require much electricity - no more than any other household lamp. I've done this multiple times, without ANY fertilizers, pesticides, fungicides, or other products. Just dirt and tapwater!


Day 2 (Today - December 9 2020)

Follow along as I complete my "Soil to Oil" series with this Reclining Buddha crop.

I'm growing cannabis - to treat MediKatie's cancer and my PTSD - which will be far safer and stronger than anything in the legalized market, for almost no cost, right in my livingroom and on the blockchain! Join me!

And grow in peace.
DRutter


Posted via weedcash.network

Sort:  

It is illegal in the Czech Republic so far, but I have not been caught yet and I will not give it up. I usually have 6 females and I shine them to grow 600W blue LED light and to flower 800W red LED light. I wish you good luck and a nice harvest 😉

Why would family members destroy something that's in your home?
I do wonder how they'd react if they ever see one of my future plants.
Nice collection of seeds you got there though.
Good luck with the process!

The funny thing is, within months of that happening, cannabis was "legalized" here in BC. They wouldn't act like that, now. But they never apologized, or even mentioned it. They acted like savages, because the state allowed/encouraged it, and now they prefer not to remember it.

A side note... my wife @MediKatie and I were activists who helped contribute toward the process of legalization. Although unfortunately the powers that be lied to us and gave us prohibition 2.0, under the name legalization. So during the time I was growing that single plant, to help MediKatie's cancer, my family was trying to find and destroy it, and when I wasn't busy hiding my plant from them, I was doing activism to try and make growing and using cannabis no longer a criminal act.

I think it's commendable that you and your wife stood up for what you believed in. Even when large powers and even friends and family are against you. It's often not an easy task, because most want to go with the flow and force you to go along with what the system has taught us. To want to destroy a plant that helps a loved one and doesn't harm anyone else, just because society tells you to, is not logical at all.

Kudos on showing your strength. 🍻

My seed just broke thru so we can be on the grow journey together.. are you doing the 5-gallon challenge?


Posted via weedcash.network

I don't have room for pots that size right now, and I grow without nutrients etc, so I can't really compete (or win).
But I'm gonna follow/play along a bit with my posts anyway. I'll check out your new crop! Good luck.

Welcome back!

Awesome, great stuff!
Good luck with the new crop :))

Appears to be the start of something wonderful! <3
Grow on!!

Reclining buddha sounds deeeeeecent.

holands hope is nice all your strains are good 😄


Posted via weedcash.network

Thanks! I can't wait to see how they turn out. I have 4 sprouts, and 7 seeds still trying to germinate. Stay tuned for the exciting conclusion ;D

How do you tell between make and female?

Good question. When the plant begins to flower, the difference between male and female becomes obvious. Females develop pistils (light-coloured furry tentacles) to try to catch pollen, and form a seed. Male flowers develop pollen sacs which open up after a few days to release pollen (yellow dust).

https://hive.blog/cannabis/@drutter/uh-oh-another-male

Males don't produce much medicine, so unless you want their pollen (to make your females produce seeds) it is best to identify and remove them from medicine gardens.

Sometimes seeds are "feminized" which means the plants that grow from them are female. If you don't want any males that can be a big advantage. My seeds are NOT feminized, so I will have to be watching for males. That doesn't happen for several weeks, though.

Congratulations @drutter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 75000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 80000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal #2