The sour diesel is getting frosty

in WeedCash Network6 months ago (edited)

With only a few weeks left we are closing in on the wrapping up this grow. The buds are filling out and getting covered in crystals. Though the orange hairs have only started to form in the last week or two. Soon I will start using a microscope to get a closer look at the trichomes and judge their "ripeness" depending on color.

With the orange hairs starting to form low down on the plant and working their way up lots is changing inside the plant. The terpenes are forming and giving the plant a distinct smell.

This is my first Afgani strain I have grown, the smell coming off is different from other cannabis grows I have done. I am really curious how the buds will taste when vaped/smoked. I love how every strain I grow smells and looks a little different. Its lots of fun growing cannabis.

Using the netting to grow these plants has been a learning experience. I think this grow the canopy came out much more uniform than the last blue dream grow I did the same with.

The netting helps support the buds and lets them get heavy without risk of falling over.

I see the leaves are starting to turn yellow, this happens late stage of the growth when the plant is putting all its energy into the buds.

Taking pictures of my plants during flower means I have to wait for the grow lights to turn off, so I usually take the pictures in the evening. The extreme yellow color makes it hard to judge the plants state. So I took these pictures after the grow light turned off.

We can see all of the buds in the lower canopy, I will save those for edibles.

Out of the many dozen colas, two stand the most grand... above is one of them.

Last I counted there were over 30 colas so that's around 7.5 per plant. They all look real tasty.

It was fun growing this sativa dominant strain during the summer. Saving my indica seeds for the winter I want more purple and black plants. But during the summer and autumn here its quite warm in their grow environment making it hard for them to change colors.

Besides the grow updates I have changed the way I dose out their fertilizer. Using these kitchen squeeze bottles I can pour into measuring cups easier than it was using the big jugs the fertilizers come in.

Every four days I feed my plants so its nice not spilling nutrients all over the place. Storing my fox farm fertilizers seems to work well this way and it has not clogged them yet.. Just requires a good shaking. I am using Grow Big and Big Bloom during the vegetative periods. And during the flowering periods I am using Tiger Bloom

So what's next?

With my plants around the 60 day mark in flower, it will be time to start checking for bud ripeness soon. I have a digital hand held microscope that attaches to my laptop I can view them in real time. I will be looking for milky white and amber colored crystals, at that time I know I should harvest.

My next grow will be something more indica dominant.

I have two strains I am considering:

Zebra stripe f3: They claim it tastes like fruit stripe gum.
Zsweet inzanity: A cross between durban posion and rainmaker and original glue.

Both should have the perk of going purple or black if I can get my tent temperatures low enough. Depends on how cold of a winter we get. Usually I need night time lights off temps around 50F to make this happen. So we shall see if we can get it cold enough to turn those indicas purple/black.

Sort:  

@solominer!

@loonatic passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

These look great, man. They're really healthy. I admire your professional approach. I'm sure many people don't check the trichomes with a microscope. Or is that normal?

Much appreciated, yeah late stage they are doing well. They are going to get more yellow on the leaves as the buds form but thats normal.

No most people do not check the trichomes with a microscope. Most tend to just get inpatient and harvest early. Or possibly by judging the amount of orange hairs forming on the buds. They start white and turn orange as they ripen, but I find the microscope the definitive method.

So you are a real professional man! Congrats to you :)

Thanks bud.. working on it.

wonderfull plant those buds shine like snow :D

Hah yeah man, my camera flash really lights them up. When I harvest I'm gonna try to get some more pictures.

what what great post, hope it gets 10000000Hive

Thanks bud.. glad you liked it.

When did you Unmute me? I'm surprised.

Your still muted, I just clicked on display comment.

untitled.gif

untitled.gif

He didn't finish the meal, shame. Never throw away good food.

These look so good. It’s awesome to see how far you have come in such a short time.

Yeah man well thanks to your help and many others in the Canna Curate community indeed I think every grow is getting better. This wraps up my first year of growing in Virginia. And already changed so much in my methods compared to growing years back.

Those plants are looking good!

Have you ever heard of the theory that harming the bud by either pinching it or sticking it with a thumbtack will cause the "plant to cry" creating more THC?

Thank you, yes I have heard about that. I tried it once and did not notice much difference. Though I did not really test well with having identical plants and trying it to one and the other. These days someone could do a test for that with THC lab results so curious if it would work.

But for now I am not doing such a technique.

The buds are really growing well, They looks very healthy.

They sure are.. thanks a lot

Love what HPS does with cannabis. Your grow looks so amazing Solo!!

Posted using WeedCash Network

Yeah man loving my old school lights. Thanks!

looks good my friend!
!WEED

Thanks much bud

I didn't know that each variety of cannabis plant has a different aroma and looks different, dear friend @solominer
The knowledge you have is admirable, and it is greatly appreciated that you have shared this experience with us.
May you enjoy the weekend

Yep! That is one of the coolest things I have learned about cannabis. Every strain has a different terpene profile. A mix of chemicals that change the smell, taste and effects of the cannabis. See for a image below showing some of the common ones found in cannabis and where else they are found in other plants.

Thanks bud.. hope you do too. Glad you enjoyed my post.

Source: https://www.greenstate.com/explained/what-are-terpenes-understanding-cannabis-aroma-molecules/

yes, it's really very interesting
Thank you very much for the image and the link of the information
Have a great Sunday and happy start to the week

looks delicious broski

Hah yeah man it should be.. cannot wait to find out for sure.

Hey @solominer thanks for the upvotes. Can we be friends? I was just seeing your career in Hive, and I became a fan. Can we follow each other around here? Your blog is impeccable, I love the quality you put into each post. I'm like a pokemon trainer wanting to stand out as one of the most dedicated content creators on Hive. I would love to learn more from you.

I also like some cannabis, and if you saw most of the marijuana we smoke in Rio de Janeiro you would be sad or sorry. There are A LOT of bad things. Famous pressed marijuana. Sometimes skunks and hashish arrive but they are expensive and we cannot cultivate them. Anyway, I'm also eagerly awaiting legalization in Brazil, so that I can cultivate, extract my oils, produce olive oil, among other things. We have several friends who do this, but hidden from the eyes of the law.

Hey bud well welcome to the platform, yeah we can be friends.. If you have any questions just let me know. Well glad you like my posts.

Oh cool, thats good you can get some cannabis where you are too. Sometimes it can be hard to get in some places. I hope they do legalize where you live. I had to move to live in a place with legalization but hope it comes to you. Best of luck with yalls grows.

@solominer

Thanks friend, let's go together! I've been avoiding sharing the subject on social media lately. But who knows, maybe with legalization I’ll share it again, I’ll be rooting for it! Legalize Brazil, which turns Rio de Janeiro into paradise.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

What do you call a marine mammal that should do something?
An oughtter.

Credit: reddit
@solominer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of holovision.hypno

(5/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.