Worklife – My previous Georgia office

in WorkLife2 years ago (edited)

From 2018 to 2022 I worked out of my home office in Georgia, leaving the corporate world I set up my own home office and spent many hours each day administrating networks, managing servers, blogging and just doing crypto/finance stuff. I would tend to get up early, between 4am and 7am have some coffee and knock out a bunch of tasks. People found it weird I would wake up early working from home, but I am very much a morning person so getting up before everyone else and knocking out some tasks feels good. Up on the wall is a F-16 showing off all its parts. I cannot tell you how many times I just stared at it waiting for things to load on my computer.

Though as I have moved this office and many of its features could not come with me, as you will see many features are permeant . I had an entire slab of granite installed and it became my L-shaped table. And I have accented the room with Brazilian hardwood, extra pieces I had after remodeling our deck.

The frame holding up the massive granite table is made from scaffolding parts. These are known as "speed rails" and "kee clamps" Large steel piping is ran along the width and length, it is very strong.. As it needs to be to hold up 1200 pounds.

I have three PCs set up in two areas. The first PC is my work computer, I do all my tracking of business related stuff and blogging from there. I have a second computer that is for gaming/AI/video editing. And the third is just for downloading software or running sketchy software. It has nothing of importance on the last computer. The last two computers share a 32" 4k Gaming display.

A Lazyboy chair is set up in my office as well, though it gets almost no attention. I have probably sat in it for a few hours over the last 4 or so years lol. Its one of those things I thought I would use more, but I guess I just work too hard.. lol hardly used it.

The chair came with me, will keep using it.. Quite comfy.

My other chair is a Herman Miller and I love it.. Wish I went with the XL but its fine. Hive logos can be found all over my office... hah I had even more but were all packed when I took these pictures.

Where my two monitors are is my primary workstation the first one mentioned. I have two 27" 4k displays.

A proper keyboard and mouse is key to working for many hours. Both are ergo designs. When I worked in IT I had to use these keyboards as some of the users had them at their desks. I hated them at first, but now I only want ergo keyboards and mice. Hah look at all my SD cards and m.2 drives laying around.. I was constantly using flash drives to move data between computers.

My ol faithful laser printer / copier / scanner. Had this thing for almost 10 years and its great.

Sitting at my other workstation is where my gaming/AI/video editing rig normally goes, it was packed up when I took pictures.

My friend @ibt did a lot of work on my home, including laying some nice wood in a few places of my office. Really gives the place a luxury feeling.

Two entire walls were done with this wood. Hah dont mind my computer socket poster.

I am always amazed by my friends craftmanship.

We oiled it when we installed it a few years back and still looked great.

The really long pieces go up top above where I sit.

Lets take a look at the table hardware:

I spent a few hundred dollars on these fittings, they are not cheap.. costing anywhere from $20-50 each. I have around 20 of them so it was a big expense. And the granite was around a thousand dollars as well.

Going with over sized pipes, it held strong for almost 5 years and I think it will continue to hold this weight.

The underside has LED lights, adding to a nice effect when I want them.. Sadly I almost never used them.. Too busy working.

One of my workstations sits in the gap between two tables. I raised it a little so it does not suck up carpet dust.

I was worried when I built this table it was going to be too tall or too short.. luckily its just right for me.

The nicest formations in the granite were put right where I have my workstation. I love the designs and patterns in the granite.. Never seen any other like this one.. I visited three locations and checked out their stock before settling on it.

My protection:

I keep my .357 Magnum within arms reach, never know when I might need it.

Normally I keep it in my holster but I took it out so we can take a look at it.. Its a King Cobra.

I keep it out of the way but close enough I can reach for it if I had some unexpected visitors when working. Not that I expect that to happen but just like to stay protected.

My office chair:

This chair was the newest addition to my office, previously I had a Serta chair but its fake leather was flaking off and making a mess.

I considered buying a gaming chair, but I have had these chairs in my offices I worked at before being self employed. I really liked them so glad I got one for myself at home.

Workout equipment:

My office was also my gym, I try to work out every other day. Doing weights and resistance workouts. So my office is many things, amazing I fit it all in one room. I mostly use the kettle bells and the dumb bells.

I even jump rope in the room, it has tray ceilings giving me more space. Its how I would always start my workouts. I picked that up doing Muay Thai.. Jump ropes is how we always started.

Being my first home office after starting my own business it was a lot of fun building it out. Now I need to build a whole new one.. I may skip the granite and hardwood features but still going to have a badass office soon. But with unpacking and such its on the back burner. Though it was nice before leaving to take some pictures of the office while it still has some life to it. Seems like everything was thrown around for the last few months with the move.

Sort:  

Hey Solo homie~
Your place is to me a great memory of working some stuff with you and also a place to just lite up dat joint and chillllllll out. I have good memories of all the homes you invited me from Cali all the way to Georgia.

Also This is the place where the Hive talk all started from exactly that office. :)

and now this place is also become a memory and ya'all moving to Virginia. I hope to see you there soon some day. Maybe by that time you probably built your garage sized mining farm with server rooms stacked on top of another. hehehehe.

Great post on all the details of showing what your work space is like to everyone. I liked that extra "protection" in case someone crashed in trying to steal the salt lamp. In the name of da LAW!!!!

Thanks for posting Solo and hope you can share more stuff here on your next work journey in Virginia!~~ Can't wait to see that.

Yeah man we have spent hours in that office brain storming together. But we will do the same again in my new home.

Hah yeah if you take too long to visit me I will probably have everything set up.

But it will take a few years.

Yeah man glad to post in your community, love the idea and glad you are getting some traction in it.

Hi @solominer

That granite is absolutely beautiful and I love the chunky look of your table scaffolding. You had a really nice set up there, I know moving is crazy at times but I do hope you are taking that gorgeous table top with you to your new location.

I need to get some of those Hive stickers, I wouldn't mind one on my laptop. I dig that wide screen you have, I've worked with dual screens mostly and loved having the extra room, I would think that it works well for your videos and such.

I'm keen to see what your new set up will look like, this one was pretty badass.

Glad you like it but no its not coming with me.. It weights over 1200 pounds and would break if I attempted to move it.

I will just build a new table maybe something of different material next time I want a custom desk.

Yeah you can buy Hive stickers from redbubble.. Thats where I got mine.. and then attached them to some cardboard and a magnet.

https://www.redbubble.com/i/sticker/Hive-Blockchain-Logo-by-metzlismith/114670339.EJUG5

That's an amazing space you had there bro, and really painful you didn't carry the most expensive gadgets along... My eyes caught that Magnum real good, but hope you won't have issues having it in your possession in your new location?

Looking forward to seeing your New badass space ✌️❤️

Its okay I indeed brought the most expensive items with me.. My computers and hardware is a lot more than the office decorations.

Hehe thanks... as for the pistol no it will not be an issue. I may gift some of my guns eventually but we shall see.

Yeah I will make a post as it comes along.

not an easy setup to change ergonomic settings🤣 , did i see that correct aare youu using hollow points in the magnum ? , we are not allowed to have those in this country , we are not even allowed to cary loaded guns here. And only people with gun permit can have one , most cops don't even have a gun here .

The wood does gice it a classy look indeed well done .

I live close by where @solominer lived but now he is off to the virgin lands. In Georgia... when it comes to firearms... almost everything gun junkie wise is possible as long as you get the proper paperwork and permit. I remember in California were not allowed to have hollow points as well.

I used to have a firearm here too but only for sport shooting making your own ammo is part of that , when my depressions started first thing i did was handing in that gun.

You are damn smart on that one. And something I will replicate if it happens. Didnt think about it till you mentioned. That will be on my rule book.

Yeah those are hollow points. I like them as they have more stopping power and tend not to shoot through wall studs and such causing excess damage.

Where I live in the South we have the most freedom out of just about anywhere else in the US.

Wooow 😲😲 you have a fancy office. It looks like you have taken great care to have all the necessary work tools and set up the place. Currently, I work from very home, it has its advantages and also its disadvantages but there I go little by little. I congratulate you for being an early riser, it is very difficult for me.

PS: Use the lazyboy chair more often 😃😃

Ah much appreciated, yep.. there is a saying "you need the right tools for the right job" so I am all about my tools.

That is great you get to work from home, yeah sometimes there are distractions.. hehe

Thanks much, coffee really helps.

OK will do :-)

Wow simply satisfying. Firstly the photographs look so pleasing and secondly your narration of what a conducive environment it is to be in and be yourself . I loved reading the

Thanks you, really happy that you liked it.. It was quite the office.

I have a himalayan salt lamp on my desk too to keep me calm. Theyre definitely a good addition to every workstation.

I should probably get one of those... probably good on the eye too.... I see way too much screen light.

nice, yeah I love that lamp.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

oh sweet, thanks a lot

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 68000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 70000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I also work at home in the IT area, of course I don't have a dedicated office, I would really like to, but it's not possible here where we are.

Solominer

Nomnomnom Spam is fun you fucking retard

Make hive a better place with curation and bully new users by @solominer. Every investor in hive should downvote all your shit and counter vote the downvotes on new users.

I am happy you waste your downvote mana on me, you idiot!!!