WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE community

in Rant, Complain, Talk3 years ago

I'm old enough to remember when one could eat food without photographing it first - It sounds crazy but that's exactly how the world used to be in ye days of yore. Food would arrive at the table and we'd reach for the cutlery, not the phone. Ah yes, the olden days.

I'm not sure when the ritual of eating changed however these days it seems if one doesn't have a legit photo of the food posted to social media one simply cannot begin to consume it, and one's life and self-esteem is somewhat less than it could be of course.

I've seen people arrange the food on the table in a manner most appealing for whatever idiotic social-media they are going to upload it to; It looks so complicated!

It takes effort to project to the world one has the most amazing life, despite one being a train-wreck. Thanks to social media and smart phones we can all live amazingly perfect lives, or vicariously through someone else's life which must be way better than our own because look at that food! Our lives can present so immaculately despite the reality.

I eat a meal out every working day of the week; Breakfast or lunch. It involves rye toast, avocado, poached eggs, seared flesh in the form of bacon, croissants, toasties and various other things, in various combinations and shamefully I take photos sometimes. Just for my blog you know. Fuck! It hurts just admitting it!

original_f9ecb07d-af84-4d92-bc63-ac9b2030d670_20210325_094242.jpg

Back in my idiotic days when I was on Facebook I used to see these plates of food pop up and think to myself, what the actual fuck is happening here, and why do I have to see it? It was one of the reasons I removed Facebook from my life and it's been the best move I made! Facebook is, quite literally, shit! [Insert your compelling reason for having Facebook here.] I know you have one.

I was recently on-chain commenting with @bulldog-joy who had posted a photo of a sushi platter only she forgot to take it prior to smashing out the eating-phase of the sushi so the platter looked a little battle-worn.

I actually thought it was cool and commented that I used to do that on Facebook. All my food images were of plates of food after the food had been eaten! Crumbs, sauce, off-cuts and half-gnawed food was all you got...Oh, and a comment that said something like how good was this steak! I know, small things amuse small minds - I get it.

I suggested to Anna (from the sushi-plate debacle above) that someone should start a WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE community and she seemed to like the idea...Or maybe she was just humoring me and actually thinks it's the dumbest idea ever. Either way, I'm thinking about doing so because...Well I guess there's no reason other than why not?

The concept is simple. Post a picture of your plate after you've eaten the food with a comment saying what was on there, the same as one would with the image of the plate or meal prior to having been eaten. Yeah, I know it's such a dumb concept, but it's probably going to be a reality so you might as well get used to it. An example below.


original_f8a2cdc2-3466-4d82-97b7-aa6ebfb816fe_20210325_094920.jpg

How good is this bacon and eggs! #winning #bestlife #betterthanyours #notsetup #natural #yourlifesucks #mineisincredible #hashtag #foodies #consumerism #mentalhealth #cryforvalidation #sideboob #needrelevance #noonelovesme #imawesome #vegan #nogluten #almondmilk #prada #creditdebt #whyarentItheboss #influencer #handout #noeffort #whyme #onlyfans #twitbook #instaface #boobsout #yougettheidea


Of course, as you can see there's many appropriate #tags which must be #tagged to give the post #credibility and to lead #people into potential #liking the comment because that #like is critical to one's #self-worth and feeling of #importance and #validation.

Untitled design.png

Naturally no actual plates of food would be tolerated in the WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE community and the mute button would be used to good effect to ensure all posts were on-topic. Above you can see some food images that are completely not acceptable - All mine of course and yeah...Fucking hell G-dog, that's a lot of photos of food! #dontevencare #sheeple #wtf

The community wouldn't just be about empty plates

Empty coffee cups and glasses, milkshake cups, greasy hamburger wrappers and KFC boxes, pizza boxes with nothing but oil and melted cheese in there, sushi trays, take-out containers, empty chocolate bar wrappers, banana skins and fruit peels, empty cookie trays, peanut shells, even pots and pans used for cooking food and general food scraps could be included...The list is endless...All welcomed, as long as there's no actual food in it, or the food is smashed up, gnawed and pulverised after the eating or cooking process. Look out all you massive communities this one could be the next big thing!

Anyway, I'm throwing it out there, the concept, and quite possibly, most definitely, maybe, for sure will get it set up at some stage. I'm pretty sure the response will be just as massive as it has been for the three other communities I started a while ago which have done so well almost literally nothing. #communitiestothemoon #communitymeister

That's about it for now I guess...I'm off to plan the grand release of the WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE community - Dancing girls will dance, marching bands will play, champagne will fall from the skies and Brittney Spears will be doing a concert to kick it all off. The release-party will be the hottest ticket in town...No food selfies allowed naturally.

In the meantime though...It's ok to follow along with everyone else in society and take photos of your meal to demonstrate how awesomely lekker your life isn't is on social media. Who needs self-respect found from within and one's true achievements and actions? Who needs to take ownership and responsibility for their own feelings, attitudes and actions? #overrated #toohard Post an imaginary life on social media and you're gtg.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hell, G-dog! I've missed reading you and you get this point of making a community about already eaten/dunk stuff. Where do I sign? Ha, ha, ha. I remember those good days. I still eat without taking pictures of my food and if I do, the picture have some mischief implied, i.e. sending them to my brother who is in Mexico. You know, just a little bit of teasing among siblings. I digress.

I still don't like food pictures. I mean I understand them in certain contexts. Maybe you learned how to make bread or made something with a lot of effort. That's normal. I can get behind that train because I take pride into the food I make.

Anyways, I like your idea. Deconstruction of the food pic is an attractive concept. It's boundaries with art are so thin, it could be called artistic photography.

 3 years ago  

Hmm, now you gave me an idea, the food deconstruction community. See how the collective minds of many can come up with greatness?

I was really only taking the mick with this one but who knows, it might happen. Also, I thought there was a message in my words...Like, find self-esteem through your attitudes and actions rather than the hollow and baseless accolades received from strangers in the form of a "like"

But maybe that gets lost amongst all my other nutbaggery? 😂

Thanks for commenting, I hope you're well.

 3 years ago  

find self-esteem through your attitudes and actions rather than the hollow and baseless accolades received from strangers in the form of a "like"

I got it. But I still wanted to throw my hat at the situation. You know. Do social media stuff. This reminds of the last job interview I had when the interviewer got me a coffee but wanted me to wait sipping on it for a picture. "Lol, no can't do". Ruining those perfect pictures is bliss.

I miss the old days of yore

I'm doing fine. Getting back on the horse of woodworking. How do you do, my friend?

 3 years ago  

I miss the old days too mate, no smart phones, no internet. I'd like to go back there, but alas it's not possible. So, I just make my way through this world as best I can.

I'm pretty good Andrés, I cannot complain. I'm off for a big hike in a little bit and look forward to some fresh air and time of the computer. Overall good though, no complaints.

 3 years ago  

Ah, those days of human interaction and no pandemic. Golden days indeed. But well, life goes on and we have to do so.

I'm pretty good Andrés, I cannot complain. I'm off for a big hike in a little bit and look forward to some fresh air and time of the computer. Overall good though, no complaints.

That's excellent, Galen. By the time I write this the walk would be over, so I hope it was good.

 3 years ago  

I went for an almost 4 hour hike to be honest...The old legs are a bit sore now, but in a good way.

 3 years ago  

Well, years are not gone by in a breeze. But you can still go on walks for hours, that's great!

 3 years ago  

No no no...THE WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE COMMUNITY...with food deconstruction as a weekly part, topic, contest, challenge, something lol 😄 ...but @bertrayo becomes the mod/adm for food deconstruct ...maybe I should just go to bed for now...😂

WWOYP 🤘

 3 years ago  

Lol...You're right...I don't know what I was thinking...Just Krav Maga'd myself as punishment...I'm a bit out of breath and have a few broken bones, but otherwise completely gtg.

 3 years ago  

🤕 lol. Glad you admitted your mistake...I was thinking about adding a gif here...but you are right...I have to get it under control...gzzzzzzzzzz 😬

 3 years ago  

Kudos on the gif-control! 😀

 3 years ago  

Ha, ha, ha. Well, this is gold. Sounds about right, but if that's a weekly topic we would need more. Something like empty desserts, empty mugs, empty bowls, empty plates and so on.

 3 years ago  

For sure...there is no shortage on ideas for this community 😄

 3 years ago  

😁

Def was some Nutbaggery involved. I do not think I would join a #notonmyplate comm.?

But might stop by from time to time just because of a few Nutbags that are there... Juss Sayin'

 3 years ago  

Oh why wouldn't you join hu? Don't you have empty plates hu? As a trukker you should be one of the first to join...lot's of material when being on the road lol...snacks and stuff you know...cat food counts too...😄🤗

 3 years ago  

You'll be the only one not there. But you can rock that sort of aloneness so all good.

I am a creature of my own creation... My own prison.

This song says it best.

You Will Listen..!

 3 years ago  

Good track. I always liked Creed.

 3 years ago  

😂 👍

You after the seed was planted

My opinion

I'll give it a

 3 years ago  

Gif issues Anna...You I mean. Get help! You need to see the gifologist. 😂😂

So, what do you think, the community is a yay or a nay? I'd say you're a definite yay right?

Also, where the fuck did you get that live footage of me up the top in my thinking mode? You stalking me?

 3 years ago  

Gif issues

Shhhhhh 🤫 don't tell anyone...after I revealed I think I need to see more than the gifologist anyways 😂 🤪

Also, where the fuck did you get that live footage of me up the top in my thinking mode? You stalking me?

...Stasi genes you know but psssst 🤫

 3 years ago  

Lol...Yes, you Eastern Block folks are all the same...Always looking, looking looking.

 3 years ago  

Uhhh one of my fav actors...how did you know? Seems like there is some eastern block blood running through your veins wink wink...oh and by the way in case you haven't notices...YAY 😄 .

I'm hitting the pillows now before people get the impression Chernobyl was taking too much of a toll on me 😂...See you later :)

 3 years ago  

Leonardo DiCaprio is everyone's favourite actor. 😆

Chernobyl really messed you up...But it works, so own it. Lol.

You know I know this Jason Statham right? Lol

 3 years ago  

Hey Leo is part German, I think his granny is/was living here.

But it works, so own it

I do

😱 did it again

First off, this is a funny idea. I could get behind it, except I would probably forget to take the picture or even post about it.
Second off, that is certainly a lot of #hashtags.

 3 years ago  

Thanks #mate, this is just me playing #around, having some fun and being a #knucklehead. Idiots like me can get away with it, no #harm no foul.

This #isn't to say that the #community #won't #happen. It is highly #likely to #become #reality.

Wow such is the train wreck of life we leave in. Everything revolves around social media. I like it that someone else thinks the same of Facebook. It’s really shit! And I’ve left it since I was nine.

 3 years ago  

Facebook is wrong on so many levels but despite this people pour their life out there...Whilst clinging to the illusion of anonymity here on hive. Lol.

Thanks for your comment, and good to see you've unplugged yourself from the matrix Facebook.

#boobsout ?😂

@mipiano look here... and I thought I have the tag issues :p
#WeNeedMoreTags

 3 years ago  

Hmm, well that particular tag was put there to mock how irrelevant tags are usually. At least it got a laugh.

 3 years ago  

I’m a little sad that some of the vegan Facebook trolls aren’t on here to flip the fuck out at you for tagging vegans in a poached eggs comment. They are one insane group of people!

I’m down for this shit man, as I said on my other comment! I’m great at starting to eat food before a picture is taken, to the chagrin of Siena sometimes. She doesn’t often take pictures of food but I’ll mess it up if we go out and she wants to take a quick snap of it. Sorry not sorry! Lol

I’m glad I quit Fakebook years ago. That place is awful!

 3 years ago  

Vegans are unique, no doubt. A generalisation of course, but one that covers most I'd say. Still, it takes all kinds. I have a mate ago says, about vegetarians, how dare they eat the food my food eats...But he's never yelled and screamed at someone for it. Lol.

I only ever take pictures of food for hive or to taunt my brothers in Finland who cannot get the food I may be eating. Otherwise I just eat it. Lol.

There could be a green light on this community I'd say. Time will tell. 🤪

 3 years ago  

Rant Complain Talk...Birthplace of WWOYP...we should all mark that date lol :)

 3 years ago  

Hahah yeah I think so!

Someone I knew on G+ was doing that, they would take a photo of the plate/container after they'd finished eating and tag it "nofoodfoodies" or something along those lines XD

 3 years ago  

I'll come up with a suitable tag, you can be assured of it. 🙂

That's a given XD

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Your post generated a lot of interactions and was the most commented of the day

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge

I think What Was On Your Plate is genius!

However, I am going to hold my hands up and confess to being THAT person. The food photographer - please don't hate me! 😜

I also have a compelling reason for using Facebook - work! Almost all of my job revolves around having a social media presence, but I have reached the same conclusion as you. Social media as a whole is problematic in so many ways. Most recently, I have taken to doing only what I need to do there and then getting out. I share my products, my availability for work, and then I'm out. It's kind of toxic and, as you said, full of the "perfect life" that doesn't really exist for most people.

 3 years ago  

I'll probably get the WHAT WAS ON YOUR PLATE community up and running at some point soon, when I have some time...You'll have to go against your food photography habits though...Wait until after your finished!

Yes, Facebook works for a few from a work perspective but it's such a terrible thing in reality. Saying farewell to it was the best thing for me!

Loading...
 3 years ago  

That was a #fun read. The whole #time I was #imagining how I would do a #whatwasonyourplate article and my mind went, without even asking, by the way, directly to what the #people next to me ate.

I'll have to wait til they #leave, of course, before #photographing their #emptyplate but I could make a #shitton of jokes about a strangers #emptyplate.

 3 years ago  

Now there's a new spin on the community...WHAT WAS ON SOMEONE ELSE'S PLATE?

You're an innovator mate.

I think you've reached that level of wisdom were things of the world or no longer things of paramount importance. The community sounds super fun, somewhere I'd like to spend my time.

 3 years ago  

I'll get the community up and running at some stage, maybe next week. Thanks for commenting. Keep up your good work on hive sir.

Thank you 😊

juice glass.jpeg

I know you have a legit rant, I agree with you. Very much.

But seriously, have a look at this. It's the remains of breakfast. FMB Freshly ground healthy shit in a tall glass. It's what's happening for me every day. Every single day.

I'm going to have some bacon and eggs in about 10 days. I've got a MRI scheduled and I have to fast before so when I get the hell out of that mess I'm having bacon and eggs. There won't be much to show, just an absolutely clean plate after I've licked it off...

 3 years ago  

Haha, that's exactly the sort of legit what was on your plate photo that would be acceptable. Nice work!

MRI...Let me know what's up when you're ready on Discord. 👍🏼