#MarketFriday: Dim sum Restaurants are a Must Try in #MyCalifornia

in Market Friday4 years ago (edited)

Hello, awesome Hivers! It is #marketfriday once again in #mycalifornia

I love when Fridays come around, and how grateful we all are to the sweetest lady in Hive-land, @dswigle, for initiating the fun #marketfriday tag. So come on along and join in on the fun!
♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

Pre-covid, my staff and I have regular quarterly meetings held at the Capitol Building. It has also become a regular thing for us to have a staff lunch after such meetings.

A favorite of ours is dim sum. And I think that it is a #mycalifornia thing to go dim sum when there is a whole bunch of you going out to lunch. The service is fast, and every one can get to pick the little plates of food of whatever strikes their fancy!

This was one of those lunches when we feasted to celebrate the successful outcome of our meeting.!!

By the way, if you click on the Chinese names of each dim sum I ate, you will hear the Cantanose pronunciation in Cantonese. It can be so impressive to be able to order dim sum in Chinese!

And yes, I ate a small portion on all the food you see here, LOL!

Let me start with the common, well-loved and therefore more familiar dim sum dishes.

All photos by @silversaver888

Baked Pork Buns

Translation: Gohk Char Siu Bao

Baked pork buns are a classic Chinatown pastry like egg tarts and butter buns. These are BBQ pork wrapped in sweet dough and baked. While living in San Francisco, I enjoy stopping by my neighborhood Chinese bakery to buy a baked pork bun to bring home and enjoy with my coffee.


Steamed Pork Buns

Translation: Djing Char Siu Bao

Steamed pork buns are a classic dim sum dish made with roasted or barbecued pork Pork then wrapped in white dough and then steamed. Steamed pork buns are one of the “Guangdong Big Three,” along with shrimp dumplings and siu mai, a true staple of the original Cantonese dim sum tradition.


Shrimp Dumplings

Translation: Har Gow

Shrimp Dumplings are transluscent wrapper filled with either whole or cut-up shrimps with veggies like water chestnut or bamboo shoot for a little crunch, and then steamed. I usually eat my Har Gow with hot mustard, whereas most of my friends prefer soysauce for a dipping sauce.


Pork Sui Mai

Translation: Siu Mai

This was the first dim sum I ever tried! It is an open-faced dumpling with ground pork and shrimps, often with green onions and black mushrooms. Yummy morsels!


Oh my, I ate so much...

and want to describe every dim sum plate that I ate with you in one article... but I value your time

So let us skip to the dessert!

EGG TARTS

Translation:Daan Tat

Egg tarts are yummy pieces of sweetness! A flaky pastry crust filled with creamy egg custard. Every time I have these, I always tell myself that I should try making these at home for my next tea party.



This was my nth Plate of Yummy Dim sum!


I promised myself not to spend more than one hour writing an article but let me show photos of the rest of the food that we ate. I may have to do a part 2 in a future #marketfriday article.

Can you name and describe one dish in the photo below?






😍So YUMMY delicious and #ilikeitalot!😍


❤️❤️🤗I feel stuffed all over again, just putting up the photos for this article!🤗❤️❤️

#MarketFriday was initiated and hosted by @dswigle (Denise). Let us to join her and many others as we share different markets across the globe.Thank you Denise for the opportunity to your tag.
This post is also my entry to the weekly challenge SHOW US YOUR CALIFORNIA - Week 16 by @thesocalhive.
All photos, gif and videos were taken by me using my iPhone6 Unless specified otherwise.

Make it a #FABULOUSFRIDAY!

Thank you for stopping by to view this article.

I post an article daily, and I hope to see you again soon!

Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!!!!

@silversaver888



@silversaver888 is a proud member of #silvergoldstackers and the #ladiesofsgs4eva


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!



@silversaver888 enjoys being part of:

Shadow Hunters by @melinda010100


Wednesday Walk of @tattoodjay


Market Friday of @dswigle

iqlc48.png

My California of @thesocalhive

Show Us.png

Feel Good Community of @barbara-orenya


Sort:  

I like Chinese cuisine, but never had Dim Sum. Actually, I don't ever recall seeing place that served it near the places where I've lived. Perhaps, one day... but until then, I will still enjoy other Chinese cuisine! 😋

I wish I could mail you some dim sum! We don't have a Dim Sum place in my town either, and they are usually located in larger cities. I know that a lot of work goes into preparing Dim Sum little plates of food. I love Chinese food in general. I have not really prepared home-made Chinese food. The dishes always look so labor-intensive.
Thank you for stopping by, and leaving a comment, sis @thekittygirl! I hope that you are doing very well. Have a marvelous weekend, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Everything looks so delicious @silversaver888, now if I could only learn how to use chop sticks Lol😀
The Mrs gets a good Laugh every time I try to learn how to use them!🙂😍
So glad I found your post tonight, I couldn't find it under silvergoldstackers tag...
Have a wonderful weekend my friend😍😍😀

Sushi may be picked up and eaten using your fingers. It is appropriate to rip pork buns (char siu bao) and egg rolls with your hands. Char siu bao (pork buns) and egg rolls are acceptable to eat as finger foods because they’re difficult to hold and eat with chopsticks. For the rest of the dishes, I think that it is totally okay to use a fork. But when in Rome.... well, it is never too late to learn how to use chopsticks!
I am glad that you found this article. I always look forward to comments from my 1st fam- SGS!
Have a wonderful weekend, my friend @silvertop, and take care 🥰🌺🤙.
!tip

Your post are always very interesting, what do they say variety is the spice of life!
I hope you are having a wonderful weekend my friend, take care!😍😍😀

Looks interesting, but I am not much of a Chinese food person. Most likely because I've not gone to any Chinese restaurants. Anyway, I'm glad you had a good time when you went. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful evening my sis!💕😘🌸

My first experience was actually so interesting and fun. Dim sum dishes have varied flavors... savories and sweet little things, and so delicious! I think that if you like shrimps, you would love Shrimp Dimplings, and if you like pork, you would love the Sui Mai or Dumplings pictured above. The first time I tried Taro Root Dumplings, I immediately loved it. I will have to drive 35 to 100 miles to a major city (like Sacramento or cities in the San Francisco Bay Area) to find a good dim sum restaurant from where I live because Dim Sum restaurants are specialty Chinese restaurants. I am glad to have these photos on file and share them with you, sis.
Have a fantastic weekend, sweet sis @elizabethbit. Take care 🥰🌺🤙, lots of hugs and love 🤗💕.
!tip

Thank you @silversaver888! I love shrimp although I haven't had any in a long, long time. Take care sis and have a wonderful evening! 😘

I am now super hungry! Yum! 😃

Hehehe... you are a true Californian! Exposed to a variety of flavors of foods from different cultures and well versed in the use of chopsticks and loves dim sum! Gosh, I too am hungry now!
Have a wonderful weekend and take care, my friend @brian.rrr 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Mmmm! I love going for Dim!
😋😋😋

Hehehe... I am so craving Dim Sum, my friend @thedamus! With the pandemic and all... everything ... this is now is the new norm. It makes me wonder when I would be able to have dim sum again!
Have a lovely evening, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Congratulations @silversaver888, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Oh my!!!!! THANK YOU for picking this article!!! In a minute, I will be writing this weeks article for #mycalifornia! This is such a pleasant surprise!!! Doesn't the food get you hungry? California is a mecca for a variety of cuisines and specialty restaurants... I wish I took photos of all foods and restaurants pre-pandemic! Oh well... I shall see you later, @thesocalhive! Thank you again, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

🎁 Hi @thesocalhive! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @silversaver888!

@silversaver888 wrote lately about: A Feel Good Challenge: #Alphabethunt Letter N Feel free to follow @silversaver888 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Loading...

Looks good enough for me. I had dimsum not too long ago but now I'm wondering when is the next time.

What is your favorite dim sum dish, @ace108? Not all restaurants are open around here. It may take a long time before I get to eat dim sum again. As soon as there is one open, I'll probably go and get me some. Same with the Japanese restaurants. I am craving Sashimi!
Have a wonderful evening, and take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Mine is something that is wrapped in bean curd skin.

image.png

Many places do this in the steam and or fried version

Oh yeah... I love that too and one of my favorites, and I personally call it "monk's food". I have the Stemed Bean Curd Rolls that on the photo above. Isn't it called sin zuk gyun? I love the bamboo shoots and black mushrooms filling in this dish! You are in, my friend @ace108.

Wow you have really dished it out here i love my Dim Sum and everything else on this menu great selection 👍

This dim sum restaurant is so popular, perhaps it is because it is only one in the city. I really crave dim sum and sashimi. I am just grateful that the past, I could readily get-together with friends and have wonderful times over great food. I know that in Lafayette where you stayed and the surrounding cities boasts of great places to eat these types of cuisine. When I lived in the SF Bay Area, there is the SF Chinatown and the Oakland Chinatown with some of the best dim sum restaurants.
Thanks for checking out this #marketfriday article, @kohsamui99. And have a wonderful weekend! Take care 🥰🌺🤙
!tip

Dim Sum have always been a passion for me they are such a tasty little snacks of energy and protein foods i could eat them till the cows come home and lucky we have a couple of excellent Dim Sum restaurants in our area.

Have a lovely weekend @silversaver888 😊

Looks very Authentic and tasty Chinese food, we have lots of Chinese restaurants in the entire Vancouver region and the best ones are the ones often crowded by Chinese patrons. At least that was before the Pandemic.
My older Son loves the BBQ pork (Cha Sew) where I enjoy the Pork Dumpling(Shu Mai), they're all great even the Chicken feet(Gai Geck) and the old Chinese lady that lives up the street from me calls me (Peng) Apple. I now wonder how many restaurants will survive?
Always, with love ...🌺 💝 🌹 💓 🌸 🌼

You are in, sis!!! I really love dim sum and tend to over-eat! I do love Gai Geck and I like the gooeyness and great flavor that one can only taste in this dish and nowhere else! So I've had the recipe from YouTube book-marked for a while now.


And I am going to make this dish one of these days. I just need to be able to make it to an Asian meat store!
Have a great weekend, my lovely sis @kerrislravenhill! Lots of love💓💝 and a million and one Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!
!tip

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 14 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

Congratulations @silversaver888! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 800 posts. Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Whale - Make it spray and get your badge!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks, @hivebuzz, for everything that you do! 🥰🌺🤙

🎁 Hi @silversaver888! You have received 0.2 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.