Our little parvo survivor

in Hive Petslast year

20230112_134022.jpg


About two weeks after we got Mew, one afternoon he started to get a bit warm which made me check up on him more often. I was cleaning my room so I could move the cat tower inside cos he likes it that much. He and my dog were in the hallway playing or something when I heard a loud screech from Mew. I went to check on them immediately and he was running down the stairs.

I was worrying he got accidentally hurt by Ethan since the dog is big and very playful. I checked Mew and he didn't seem to show any signs of physical pain.



IMG_2552.jpg

30 minutes after that, I put him in Acid's room so he could be looked after since I wasn't done cleaning yet. Acid told me he was sleeping on the chair and just staying there which was cute but quite unusual at that time. He was already a bit warm too.

Ethan and I went to a walk soon after and when we came back, Mew was already warm enough for me to know he's having a fever and he was lethargic. Normally, he would not run out of energy but at this time he was kinda weak so I took him to the hospital immediately.

I was worried he might have internal injuries since I didn't see what happened to him earlier that time with Ethan. I know there are also cat viruses that he can catch since his vaccines weren't complete yet but my suspicions were more on the internal injuries since we never let him out anyway.



IMG_2565.jpg

Upon arriving at the hospital, we got checked immediately since there weren't other patients at that time. This is a 24h hospital so thankfully we can just go even at 7pm.

First thing the doctor did was ask me about how long he was feeling this way or when we noticed it. I told him he only started getting warm like 2 hours ago or something. He then took samples of his poo to and blood to test for infections and there you go, all 3 infections turned positive!

I was kinda shocked to see even the feline panleukopenia virus was positive. It's a parvovirus and it's very deadly as well especially to kittens. The doctor said he must have gotten the virus just recently since he's not showing any other signs yet like not eating, diarrhea or vomiting.

Since there are 3 positive infections going on, (Giardia, Feline Coronavirus, and Feline Panleukopenia Virus) the doctor said he only has 10-20% chance of survival. :< I knew kittens don't really survive with FPV and since there's no cure for it, they could only help the cat strengthen their immune systems and hope that the body would make antibodies for it.

We admitted him to the hospital since they can take care of him there and give the proper vitamins and IV necessary for him to survive.



IMG_2568.jpg

I didn't think I would be going home without him. I was so worried and sad but I was more on the positive side that he will survive.

He was scared of all the injections and stuff so he went to the very back of the cage.

Blood test results were okay and just slightly below the normal but overall good. It was really good that I took him there pretty early so that increased his chance of survival but still a lot of things could happen.

The next morning at 7am, they called me to give an update about his condition. I was really nervous at that time cos they called so early... I thought they said the next update was at 4pm when the assigned doctor is able to check on him. They said he was eating well and being responsive. His fever subsided and he had no vomiting or diarrhea and looked like he was overall good.



20230113_180321.jpg

We visited him after a few hours to see him still pretty well. He smelled pretty bad because he probably peed somewhere and laid on it. 😅 The doctor said he wasn't pooping yet at that time so we just waited for that as well.



IMG_3615.jpg

We gave him wet food and he ate it all. He always had a big appetite especially for wet food and thankfully he was still eating normally.



20230112_132718.jpg

Me telling him he needs to fight off the virus

Another day went by and he was still the same. lol. Still responsive, not really showing signs of weakness, eating well... but there was still no poop or pee. We were already getting worried as to why he wasn't pooping yet so we called the doctor for another update.

His doctor wasn't there so we had another doctor to check on his stats and to answer our question as to why he might be constipated or something. He said all seemed good and he was acting normally. I asked about the kitten's bowel movement cos normally he would poop 3x a day and he said some cats really just don't poop or pee when there's no litter box... Really... so we were worrying about his constipation or whatever was happening and he said it might just be the litter box. -_-



IMG_2604.jpg

We asked if they could put a litter box and sand in there and even while the staff was pouring the sand, I could tell he heard it and started to look for it. When it was placed, he used it immediately. He was holding it in for 2 days. -_- All this time he only wanted his box.

He looked so relieved and was even eating while his other leg was inside the box lol.



IMG_3613.jpg



IMG_3614.jpg

He looked so sad and he wanted to go home so bad. T_T He was probably thinking he's back inside the pet shop again and wanted to come home with us. We made sure to visit him everyday while he's there.



IMG_2634.jpg

After staying at the hospital for 3 days, we finally took him home. :D The doctor was a bit surprised he was able to survive despite having all 3 infections at the same time. He was prescribed 3 antibiotics, 2 vitamins, and an appetite booster that he needed to take for 7 days. We had a follow-up checkup after 7 days too and all is well.

It seemed like he didn't even get sick at the hospital which was really good. I think part of it was because we were visiting him everyday, reassuring he's not being left there to be given to someone else or something... which lessens stress hormones and boosting their immune system as well.



DSCF9145.jpg

He fought it really hard and good and this is him now a month after. :D He's becoming big really fast.

As to the cause of the infections and how he contracted the virus, there's really no way to tell. I have 3 adult cats as well and they might have carried the virus since they go in and out of the house. I've never seen them become sick but it is possible since the virus can survive really well even in a harsh environment. Even normal bleach won't kill the virus and they can be dormant for 6 months up to a year. I had to cancel my birthday party at the house so my friends won't carry the virus and potentially infecting their cats. He was also having some yellowish snot from his nose and was farting a lot when we first got him but my mistake is that we didn't send him to the vet for a check up during those times.

For the ones who have pets out there, it's so important to have your pets vaccinated. Puppies and kittens especially are the most susceptible for infections so they need to be protected especially now that there's an outbreak all over the world. There is also a blood parasite outbreak so it's very important to take preventative measures for that as well.

We are just lucky he has a strong immune system and was able to fight it off but these viruses are fatal and I've seen many pets die because of this. Don't take it for granted.

Sort:  

Poor little guy :( It's a real miracle that he made it!

I've had this tab open forever, and just got to it 😲 He must be so big by now :)

He is! And he is doing this atm lol

IMG_5110.jpg

Awesome ♥️ There weren't any lasting effects???

!PIZZA !ALIVE
!LUV

@hiddenblade! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Probably just immunity. Haha. But yeah he didn't get sick enough to get permanent damage to his body or something

Wonderful :) I knew there was something special about him when you wrote about how you got him ♥️

!PIZZA !ALIVE !LOL

@hiddenblade! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @wrestlingdesires. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

What's the difference between a rain gutter and a clumsy outfielder?
One catches drops, the other drops catches.

Credit: reddit
@hiddenblade, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @wrestlingdesires

(3/6)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Cats are very clean animals, no wonder Mew wanted the cat tray. 😁

It's just funny or maybe a bit stupid that the hospital staffs didn't think of putting a box there if they already knew cats would just hold it in if they are litter trained... holding it for two days must have been hell for him

I know, its odd but at least he's gone now. The staff might have learnt a lesson!

I am so glad that Mew pulled through. That would be so hard.

Even just imagining him gone so soon is so hard. :/

That would be hard. I’m glad he is feeling better.

poor thing, I hope he gets better soon and heals well

He is doing pretty well now, just a few tablets of immune-strengthening left but he is pretty much being a normal cat now. :D

I've lost 2 pups to parvo the last one happened just recently (January, a Female from the litter we talked about).
A real traumatic stuff😭, it's scary how quickly it changes your pet.
I'm so happy for you and mew, for the end game isn't nice😕

My first meeting with the virus and I mean this with all seriousness made my pet pup to poop out it's intestines 😞

Like it was so unreal, seeing it trying to crawl to it's mum's cage with the intestine trailing out...😔

Oh no I’m so sorry that’s so terrible for the puppy and you as well. :( How are the rest of the siblings? Parvo is really contagious 😓

Lost the male that was with her the most...
Although we had sold him before she showed symptoms, apparently he showed symptoms and died a few days later.

A fine ass pup he was😭😭😭

Gosh, for sure it was a scary moment. I never had a trip to vets because technically I am not the one who takes care of our pets, haha.

Mew is a very brave cat. Good job, Mew! :D

!PIZZA

Yeah it was.. we were already kinda preparing ourselves for the worst. :/ He is indeed!

I'm not an animal lover by nature, but I've close family and friends who lost their pets to parvo. Your mew is quite the fighter. He's probably got it from his momma 😺

Right? Been happening for a few years now (or I think when I started hearing about it even). Crazy these viruses are also probably mutating, it’s like there’s always an outbreak forever. 😓
Ha, probably🤣

Cat lover too 🙋‍♂️more than dogs!! cant have one now because my kids are still too young, dont want them to get allergies, their cousins have a cat and I have seen then sneeze when close to him, anyways 3 infections is no joke but cats and dogs do have awesome immune system, most of them are like battle tanks, they just keep trucking, glad your cat is ok now

Sad to hear they might have allergies! I myself think I have some mild kind, I just had a sneeze attack the other day and I think it gets triggered when there are too much fur on my face. And they are too much of them since his fur is like a cotton. 🤣 I hope someday you will get one and the kids will be okay. Hopefully it's not from the cats and was coincidence sneeze lol

Thank you!

Awwwww, poor baby Mew having to go through this. But so good to hear that he pulled through and has proven to be a tough kitty. I'm very happy for you 😻

Very tough, it was like nothing to him lol

Poor kitty, glad he is okay. Would be interesting to know where he got the virus. My 17 year old cat has never had a flu, not that I know of at least.

I got some theories since we still don't know where it came from. Maybe he already had it before we even got him and already survived cos the pet shop said something like "Doc says he's okay now" when we got him but I just assumed they had checkup before they put him up there so I didn't ask. And then maybe he's still positive with the result but he's only sick because of the other infections cos I've read that they can still turn up positive and can even continue to expel the virus for weeks so yeah.. Thankfully the other cats are okay as well and didn't get sick.

Is your cat an outside one? Maybe that’s why lol

Good to hear that other cats didnt get it, Do you hold him in quarantine, away from other cats ?

My cat used to go outside when he was younger but never far and not for too long. Nowdays no, he does not care about going outside. Only in the summer, when im in the yard, he pokes his nose out and comes to see what I do.

He has been quarantined from the very beginning since the cats don’t like him and he’s too small to defend himself 😅 There were a few times he would come down the stairs but no interaction that would cause him to ingest poop or saliva particles, not even food so yeah dunno.

Haha cute he doesn’t care anymore. Just be lazy ass all day inside :D

As a furparent each time that our pets are sick nakakaparanoid talaga. Nako vaccination is the key to give added protection for them some are neglecting it pa naman.

Kami we have puspins pero we take care of them greatly at lagi nasasabihan na bakit masyado ini-ispoil at kailangan pa mag vacinnate at bigyan ng wet food etc. Napapataas nalang ang kilay namin pag ganyan.

Buti oks na si Mew. Pagaling ka maigi baby!

Typical na tao kesyo puspin or aspin di na pwede ituring na normal na alaga?? Dapat yung mga “may breed” lang ang bigyan ng ganun? Tsaka “spoiling” ba yung pag vaccinate at bigyan ng tamang food🤣 muntanga lang hahah. Thank you for being a responsible furparent

Typical na tao kesyo puspin or aspin di na pwede ituring na normal na alaga?? Dapat yung mga “may breed” lang ang bigyan ng ganun?

TRUTH maka breed supremacist sila mga di naman nag alaga ng hayop.

Awww, Mew is a fighter for fighting that virus. As I've heare, Parvo is really deadly and there's a low percent of chance of survival. Thanks heaven he survived that. And he is so lucky too that he has owner like you that is maagap and the paglala ng virus was stopped ❤️

While I was reading you, my heart was racing, I have 6 six cats and some of them (probably all of them) have diseases that have transmitted fleas, but only some of them have shown symptoms, it is very hard when you have to leave them hospitalized, you feel that something is missing at home, not to mention the blow to the finances, it is expensive, but if you have them you have to take care of them, this baby is a fighter and I know she will live long and happy with you, I love to know that in the end everything went well.

poor baby I hope you get better soon

I'm really sorry to read what the little one has been through but he's a true warrior and I'm happy to see that he won the fight <3

I was very sad, but I'm happy that he finally came home healthy. 🙏 As a dog mom myself, I can understand your fear and sadness very well. But they are very active and very difficult to control! I'm always chasing after my dog and I'm always checking on him and making sure he's okay. It's great to have them, but taking care of a pet is an incredible responsibility. Maybe even harder than bringing a child into the world sometimes. But we love them so much that we can't imagine life without them after all! 🙏🤍🐺🐱

Parvo virus is very bad. I had my whole litter of puppies caught it long time ago. I lost one puppy🥲
I’m glad he is ok now.

aww mew, the picture where he looks so sad made me sad.. but happy okay na sya .. cutieee.. strong kaayo

hope he recovers quickly


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @thetyper ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Ah poor Mew! He looked so sad in that cage. What I was thinking looking at the tests was that only one was positive.. normally a light colored line on these tests means the test was done correctly but it normally isn't positive until very dark. Unless you're pregnant lol, then a slightly colored line is also considered positive. Reading about him not getting more ill, I'd almost suspect only one was positive but then again, then they'd have mentioned that, I guess..

Either way, better for Mew that he didn't get too ill and is now home again, little fighter, I hope it will be upwards from here only!

<3

I think the faint line means it's still early like what the doctor has said since he only got the fever when we sent him there. But yeah I don't know, since the doctors said it's positive then it's likely it is. XD

At this point it doesn't matter if we just spent more money for hospitalization for no reason, a lot better than being too confident. He's doing well now, knocking things in my room as well lol. :')

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(3/15) tipped @hiddenblade (x2)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.