Learning about disabilities

in Home Edders3 years ago

img_0.26354774172865886.jpg

Good day @homeedders hope you're having a wonderful day with your young ones and teaching them about the world around them and helping develop tomorrows leaders.

I want to talk about disabilities and the rapidly changing world around us when it comes to kids toys. As someone who started their career in disability as a carer I know first hands both the hardship and reward of the sector. I also got to experience the world from a different perspective, the perspective of someone living with a disability.

There are alot of social issues that impact people with disabilities which is why I was excited when I started seeing the roll out of toys that had a version of Barbie and with a disability.

img_0.6721664392656571.jpg

We all know that kids learn through play and their early development is based around Nature Vs Nurture and depending on key determines their outlook of life is formed by their experiences.

It's hard raising topics around disabilities with young kids as they're not able to adequately form a view, you need a lot of physical things for them to be able to learn. My nephew has autism and is 6 years old however, lil miss 4 doesn't really understand what that is.

img_0.30950212002042.jpg

The inclusion of toys which now have disabilities is a great way to introduce what a disability is to young children and allows them to explore it in their minds by asking questions about it in a safe way. I'm really surprised at the way companies are doing this and I'm greatful as it allows me to cover another important topic in our daily lives and helps increase awareness.

No doubt, this small change will provide a great advantage in future generations and how we view and support people that are born, live or develop a disability.

What are your thoughts on the topic?

Sort:  

I was kind of aware of the existence of wheelchair Barbie but my kids never really played with Barbie dolls. My kids know a little bit about inaccessible architecture (have had a few cases of HOW THE HELL ARE PEOPLE WITH MOBILITY ISSUES OR EVEN JUST WITH PRAMS SUPPOSED TO NAVIGATE THIS NONSENSE sometimes with much harsher words in our wanderings).

Mine learned by skating (which the lazy teenagers have lost interest) and us explaining that if we can't easily cruise around an area on our skaties (or rather them with their skateboards and scooters, I did skateboard around with them a bit but I'm usually on inlines) without having to get down to navigate something then a wheelchair/walker/pram is going to have serious issues.

Even now when I'm going around with them they'll notice accessibility issues and usually make a comment about it.

What were we actually talking about, representation in toys? I'm all for everyone being represented in toys XD Homogenity is boring.

Haha yes! See that's what I mean the broader community awareness. That's great they got to experience that and learned.

With toys, I'm wondering what future changes it will unlock for the next generation as they become aware of it at an early age.

!ENGAGE 35

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

This is a fascinating topic and I do like how it's extending into dolls; after all, kids are often fascinated by these things and will role play it with their toys. How many dolls and teddies have been bandaged up over the years or found a new life as an amputee.

I had to chuckle at this recently, though:
image.png

I was wondering how a doll could be depicted as deaf, but it turns out they have hearing aids on their ears.

I did see that in the shop too and I didn't see the hearing aids. I did scratch my head wondering what the?

Now that you've informed me they have hearing aids I feel a little bit silly 🤣 and yes totally. The Barbie with a wheel chair came with a wheel chair access ramp.

Lil miss 4 has been using it with her toys so Barbie can access all the other stuff her other Barbie's can. She has already been identifying gaps in her toys.

I can't wait to see how things progress with her thinking in the near future about the land around her and how it will impact her.

It just goes to show it's not something you think about unless you are in their world.

Yup totally, and I hope that the addition of the new toys helps shape the way tomorrow thinks and acts.

!wine


Congratulations, @melbourneswest You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @minismallholding.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 17743.849 WINE & Last Price : 0.280 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 1.300 HIVE

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Awesome! Thank you for the feature. Greatly appreciate it. It's a great experience and a wonderful community.

I'll second that! 😁
!ENGAGE 15

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.