Let's meet and learn about TYPES OF POEMS

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)



This amazing day will be full of great learnings. I am going to bring you into a deeper understanding of different types of poems. Yes! when you are done reading this post, there will be a lesson that will be stuck on your mind that they truly exist and upon knowing these, you will love more to create your own poems and explore with your imaginative minds. Each of us has our own focus in life and some people have less attention to poetry but I am here to help you and guide you that learning in poetry is such a fun activity and it will widen your ideas when it comes to writing.


Actually, our life is surrounded by POETRY and PROSE from setting, characters, conflicts, theme, and moods. These are happening every single day but the difference is, they are compiled into writings. I could recall 5 years ago how making poems helped me through my depression. I was able to create essays and poems almost every day because I was into mixed emotions and since I cannot share all that I've been through, I decided to express them all through writing. It has been an effective strategy for me to decrease burdens and worries in my life. Can you imagine how it brings to my life that no other people can do? It is WRITING.

1.png


My objectives for today on making this are the following;

  1. To identify different types of poems.

  2. To know the set of rules and guidelines about the specific poem.

  3. To value the importance of making poems.

  4. To practice their poetry skills through writing.

  5. To understand how to make an original poem.

Now, some of you knew already about these types of poems, but you are lucky enough to read my post today for those new to this. There is a setlist of poems but I just want to highlight the five poems which I love to make or shall we say, my favorites.

FREE VERSE

Free verse is the simplest of all. Do you want to know why? it is simply because, there are no rules to be followed, no rhyming word to be matched, and no set of lines to have. You can freely make your own topic of your poem and pour out whatever feelings you are having.


I made a free verse poem about a lemon. It is one of my favorites. I decided to change my lifestyle and it's my 4th day having a healthy life and lemon helps me to lose weight and cleanse my organs especially on my kidneys. I would like you to know that I had tiny kidney stones before but once I drink a bottle of lemonade, it eases me and I feel healthy at all. In the poem, I was able to describe how does it taste and its texture too. I hope this simple poem of mine can give a tip for those who want to do cleansing and, of course, lose weight.
2.png



HAIKU POEM

If you are an animal and nature lover, well you are fit in this poem. Haiku is a very short type of poem. It is originated from the country Japan. You are about to choose your own topic to be delivered along with your poem. I chose the ant. Though some people found them too annoying especially the red ants because they are aggressive and they tend to sting our skin. But looking on the other side, if you have read some fables story about the ant, we can see how they are risking their lives in order to store foods when the winter or rainy season comes they are prepared. It shows how clever they are.

Now, let's move on about the rules on making a haiku poem. Kindly read carefully the following;

  • It should be a 3 line poem.

Example:

  1. Ants are hard-working.
  2. They build chambers to store food.
  3. And keep the Queen fed.
  • The poem should have a 5-7-5 syllables pattern

What is syllable?

-A syllable is a part of a word that contains sounds (phonemes) of a word. It usually has a vowel in it. A syllable is also called a ‘beat’ and teachers often teach children to identify syllables by clapping the ‘beats’ in words. Another way to describe a syllable is a ‘mouthful’ of a word.source


(5 syllables) Ants are hard-working.

(7 syllables) They build chambers to store food.

(5 syllables) And keep the Queen fed.

3.png




ACROSTIC POEM

One of the best thing to do with Acrostic poem it's about the beginning letters. As you can see in the example, I picked the word LEARN and make a poem out of its letters. You can have your own topic or ideas just to make sure that it talks about the word you chose. You can see how I was able to create lines in my poem and connect each word to how it begins with the letter. This creates as your guide to make longer lines or ideas. What I mean, it's easy to make a poem with the sets of chosen letters.

I love the word LEARN because it is a never-ending process. By the moment we opened our eyes, we learn something new and before closing our eyes, we learned something from the whole day. Whether it is small or big but every chance in life we are learning from it in different ways and aspects.

The message of this poem is that Education is the key. In our country, we encouraged the children to give importance to letting themselves be educated so that they will reach their dreams in life. Regardless of the status of life, people are sending their children to school because that is the only treasure they can provide to them, and being educated will help them to raise their voice and rights from an innocent mind.

4.png



CINQUAIN POEM

This poem is short but it takes time for you to think about what to put in order for you to create a good poem according to its patterns. There are many types of Cinquain poems. You have to carefully follow its correct form such as;

  • On the first line of the poem, It will be your title and the title should have 2 syllables and a NOUN.
    Example:

Word: Sister
Meaning: a woman or girl in relation to other daughters and sons of her parents. source
Syllables: sis-ter

  • The second line will be adjectives to describe the noun (sister) with 4 syllables.
    Example:

Syllables: friend-ly lov-ing

  • The third line will verb and better to have with -ing at the end to show action with a total of six syllables.
    Example:

Verb: helping, teaching, guiding

  • Next, the fourth line can be with emotions or another describing word about the title or the noun(sister) with 8 syllables in all.
    Example:

Syllables: u-nique, sport-y,thought-ful, sin-cere

  • And on the last line, it should be the same word or meaning (synonym) of the title so I chose (sibling).

This poem is dedicated to our sisters who never failed to support us in all aspects. They are there to protect us in danger and willing to take risks in order to save us. This shows how a sister supports her other sister by appreciating who she is and what she does.

5.png




LIMERICK POEM

The last poem that I am going to talk about is the LIMERICK POEM. Are you familiar with this?


I do also love making this type of poem because its pattern and form are easy to follow. Limerick's poem is composed of five lines. We are going to focus more on every end of the word of each line on how they rhyme together. This poem has a rhyme scheme with AABBA. You may wonder what is it. It means your first, second and last line must have the same rhyming words. You can see in the poem how I highlighted the rhyming words of light, tight, and fight. So they are all in AAA rhyme scheme. For the third and fourth lines, they have the rhyming words of fears and hears with a rhyme scheme of BB.

The poem is all about how a person trying to save someone's life from a car accident. She can see that the woman was nervous about what happened. She was screaming asking for help but nobody hears them it's because it happened in the middle of dark and crowd less desert.

6.png


How was it, ladies and gentlemen? Do you love the new post today? I cannot wait to see and read your own poems. Make it a habit on expressing your deep feelings through creative writing. It is worth it. Thank you everyone and see you next time for more educational ideas.



Sources:

Counting syllables: source
Definition of words: source
Haiku poem: source
Ant clipart: source

Sort:  

I love writing poems. I am inclined more on creating free verse. The things that you have discussed are good thing to ponder, especially those who want a more technical poems. !discovery 20

Hi sir @juecoree, how are you? It's good to know that you are more into free verse. You are totally right that this can help those who want to know more about making poems.

Poems are indeed a great activity to dwell on, but it has been awhile sine I made a poem. Poems are good way to express once life reflection and existential questions. I am doing good. How about you? Sharing you some !PIZZA.

Connect

Trade


@missdonna! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @juecoree.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Congratulations @missdonna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.
You received more than 500 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 1000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi I really liked your post I have a degree in literature and my major is linguistics and literature. You describe very well the types of poems and your goals are clear, to make everyone approach poetry and narrative. One recommendation I give to people who are starting to write is not to stress about following the rules of metrics, the first thing is to let all your creativity flow in the transmission of feelings. Hence, as you rightly point out, poetry is a way of channeling our feelings, allowing us to externalize what sometimes with a normal conversation we do not do, it is to search in the deepest part of our being that which makes us alive again. Writing and creating poems and stories connects us and awakens us to a world of incredible possibilities. I work with both children and creative writing, which is a bit like what you say, even with children who have problems controlling their emotions, poetry is a vehicle that allows them to channel their own temperament and transmit what bothers them, what makes them happy, what makes them feel fear or frustration. It is wonderful to see a child express with his words in a story or tale something that has happened to him at school or with friends and then share it with you. In our writings, even if we use fictitious characters and places that are only found in our imagination, there is always a lot of ourselves because it is our life put on paper.

Oh wow, I am happy to know about it. I am too far beyond my degree but soon . Planning to enroll for E.L.T hopefully by this year. I just love the way you responded because I am feeling at ease that finally someone here is really expert and can relate to my post. I would love to learn from you as well. Thanks again @emimoron

What a beautiful article thank you very much for giving us this information, I like to write and I am a passionate reader, like you I think that writing allows us to drain and free ourselves from an additional burden that sometimes we do not manage to release in other ways.

Thank you @majo77, I am feeling great when people here in the community value the importance of writing specifically in poetry. I am glad to know too that you are passionate about reading. I am hoping through this, I can help those people who are trying to express their thoughts and feelings in this kind of way.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.