Online School in progress... and breakfast (and other things)

in Home Edders3 years ago (edited)

Hi there, we are new to this community and wanted to say Hello!

We started online schooling both our teens over a year ago and haven’t looked back. It changed our lives and I was the mom that always said I would NEVER HOMESCHOOL!!! Anyway, eating my words now.

I think the fact that we only start in High School has made the big difference though. We loved our previous school and thank them for all the foundation and groundwork they laid in our kids. But we were ready for a little more freedom from the schedule and are almost ready for our eldest to graduate. #anydaynow

7A52BED4-F456-4F7E-9A35-3BAC70A9FF63.jpeg

Here’s how my son tends to do school most days. (With my 2 chihuahuas alongside him). My son would be mortified if he knew I posted this 😂

These days I have very little interaction with them as they’re able to follow their classes and get on with it themselves. Hence my time to blog!

Where do you mostly do school?

Sort:  

Welcome on board :)

Nawwww look at the chihuahuas XD My eldest usually has a cat lounging on or around him :)

Have a look at my previous post! It’s portraits of our chihuahuas that are hysterically funny 😆

I grew up with cats but unfortunately I am now allergic.

!ENGAGE 10

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.

Hey @zo3d! Welcome here! Loving the growing community. <3

I have 3 homeschoolers - the eldest is in 6th grade so he is mostly independent two, while the 2 younger ones are KG and 1st grade so... chaotic. haha.

Looking forward to see more of your posts here.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.
You received more than 4250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Welcome!

My girls started out in school and we turned to homeschooling when they were nearly 10 and 8. I can't imagine starting at highschool age, but then I can't imagine them never having been to school, either. They had their literacy foundation already in place when we started and my youngest just needed a little assistance there.

Little did I know (until the other day in fact) that the decision to homeschool ended up being the best thing I could had done for my eldest, who has now, at nearly 20, been diagnosed with ADHD. For my youngest it was always pretty obvious she struggled in the school environment and did better outside of it.

They studied wherever they felt like it at the time. Sometimes at the table, sometimes on the floor and probably more often on the bed as they got older! 😆 Freedom in how they learnt was always the best approach for both of them.

Wow! What a story.

My daughter is 17 and just about to right her GED. She had a teacher when she was still in school that just ruined the class environment for her. So we made the change and she thrives on her own. I’ve never facilitated her and she just gets on all by herself online.

My son moved to Cyberschool a year ago (grade 8) because we thought we were immigrating (that got cancelled by COVID). But he’s loving Cyberschool and there’s no reason to go back to regular school. He just started Grade 9 and we are happy and relaxed.

He’s struggled with a form a dyslexia and now all his assessments are multiple choice and I do the homework and assessment reading for him so he just has to pick the right answer. It’s made our lives a million times better.

My youngest (also 17) is currently doing her highschool certificate online. At first she wanted a lot of input from me, because she wasn't sure how it worked and, if I'm honest, lacked the confidence in herself. Now she barely needs me and has organised herself. So proud of her.

That's fantastic that you've found a way to work with your son's dyslexia! It can be so hard to get assistance in school sorted and even then it doesn't always work for them. Everyone is different, after all.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I've featured your post in the @HomeEdders weekly curation.

Curated by @minismallholding on behalf of @HomeEdders.


Supporting home education and educational content. If you're a home educator, home educated or are thinking about home education, find out what we're about HERE.

You can join the community by clicking the subscribe button on Hive or Peakd.

please feel free to join us on discord.

Oh thank you! I appreciate it.