You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proposal: On-going Hive chain development; new features, testing, and developer support

in #hive4 years ago

Hi @netuoso. Thanks so much for all your work to get Hive going. I support you (and will vote your proposal) also for your future work.

I do question the amount you are asking though, and i write without judgement.

Let's say HBD are on average 80 cents (and this is of course an assumption), then 275 HBD works out to be $6,700 USD per month.

Now i am living a fairly simple life in Bulgaria, with no dependents and i own my home outright (actually the house with barn on 1/3rd acre only cost me $8,000 + approx $25,000 to renovate - renovation still in progress), and i can live a pretty comfortable life on just $500 per month (excluding holidays/visits to family in UK).

Now of course living where you do, i expect you have vastly higher expenses and if i remember rightly you have a family to support. But even so, $6,700 per month (assuming HBD price) would appear excessive. Perhaps it is market value for your expertise. I don't know. But perhaps you might re-consider the amount you are asking.

Con amor
Atma

Sort:  

corrections due to my silly confusions

My own opinion on the amount is hidden here, but we'd probably need to be more nuanced than simply 'n price/month x 12'. --> compare with lifestyle.

What I would like to see, however, is a proper budgeting process that 'investors' can track. Not that I don't trust netuoso but people will want to know where their stake is going for sure.

At the end of the day, I think we're paying for expertise, rather than one's ability to survive on the funds. I can't say if this is too much or not enough, but generally, if you skimp out on the costs, you lose the quality, so the assumption here is netuoso is the best we have.

Hi @mobbs. Thanks for your reply. It is good to clarify the difference between HIVE and HBD (which Hive proposals are awared in). HIVE may be around 17 cents at the moment, but HBD (Hive Based Dollar) is designed to be close to $1. I have assumed less. I'm not sure where to look to see what it is now.

Yep you are right, I was totally tripped up by something I've known about for years. I think the new names on Hive slipped by me heh. I corrected the post to make it more relevant and less dumb =D

Yes. I voted the proposal (earlier).

Thanks for the update.

Hi, I see your reply below also and want to remind you that HBD will not be guaranteed to be worth $1 of HIVE. When the HIVE price is low and the debt ratio high, a haircut rule goes into place and the "peg" can be considered broken. There are things the users on the network can do to improve the peg and value of HBD if this happens, but again its still a risk.

As far as compensation for these tasks, I based them off an estimated number of hours that will be required for each. With this proposal, I expect to spend roughly 15-25 hours per week; sometimes more, sometimes less. This also comes with response to emergency fixes or work required outside of my normal timezone.

My progress and work will be documented as Hive posts as well as via my Github profile where I will be contributed work to the https://github.com/openhive-network/hive repository.

As you said, cost of living and value of job skills are highly variable in different parts of the world. If the stakeholders and voters are concerned regarding the cost of the work, then it is absolutely their choice to abstain from voting. I hope people do their own research before making a decision regarding proposal voting or even witness voting.

Thanks for your reply brother. Keep up the wonderful work.