COVID-19 & THE HIVE PROPOSAL; What is the truth?

in #hive4 years ago

image.png
source

There's so much going on but at the same time, like, nothing going on at the same time. A large percentage of the world is on lockdown/quarantine with all the self-isolation and corona precautions in place, so a lot of businesses are closed and many people have lost their job in the process. There's widespread paranoia, and with that comes panic accompanied by conspiracy theories about vaccines, depopulation, and all the other stuff on the internet.

Is Bill the Villain or Hero?

At the forefront of these conspiracies is a certain Bill Gates. You might have heard about him because he's only one of the wealthiest people on Earth that got bored of making billions through computers and started a foundation with his wife, Melinda, where they focus on infectious diseases and whatnot.

As I mentioned earlier, paranoia is in the atmosphere and you can literally sniff it when you step out of the house. In every corner, you find so many corona "experts" yapping from the comfort of their homes or beer parlour about how Corona could be solved easily and how the idiot leaders can't see it. For what it's worth, I think the leaders of my country are idiots but this feeling is borne from a long time of ineptitude, rather than the peculiar situation we're in now, I digress.

Now word on the street is that good old Bill is somehow the one responsible for creating the virus because of his statements about population control. This rumor that was tagged as a Bizzare conspiracy theory by Business Insider was loud enough to get the world to "sit up" and suddenly people are thinking, "wait a minute, it seems this Bill guy isn't the good guy he prances around to be.

These rumours are unfounded, but they're also just that, rumours made by armchair analysts and people in the know. I don't think he'd go through the stress of creating a virus, and then put up this charade to create a vaccine for it, although he's just human and we all know humans can be twats. The questions I have or wonder about are;

  • Why are the vaccines mandatory?
  • Why does one man have so much influence on international healthcare?

I don't know his intentions, and I can't claim to have an idea about it. I've come in contact with a lot of information supporting, or against good old Bill but not enough of people looking at both perspectives.

The Proposal

This brings me to THE PROPOSAL by @justineh that has caused a major stir in the community. The truth is an interesting thing; in certain situations, it is black or white, while in other situations, it is a rainbow.

The first time I saw Justine was on Steem where I figured she was either some whale or big shot because her posts got a lot of upvotes and engagement. then I ran into her Twitter and noticed she was also getting a lot of attention there from people outside of the Steem community. I put two and two together and realised she was a big deal.

Coming back to today, I read her proposal that we all know about where she requested $30k for her work in getting us listed on Exchanges, as well as for further two months of work as stated there.

If you've not read the proposal, I suggest you do, because it is probably the most entertaining proposal you'd ever read, but in a horror-thriller kind of way. I can't even quantify the rollercoaster of emotions I felt while reading it and a part of me felt insulted, demeaned, trampled on, shit on...you get the point. That's how I feel.

I'd normally steer clear of politics in any capacity because things tend to get really awry really fast, but with a situation so loud, I thought I'd throw in my 2 cents on the issue, and get some honest responses, in form of questions to Justine or anyone willing to chip in on the matter;

  • Without playing the modesty card, and with every single ounce of honesty in you, do you really think this proposal would go through if it were done by me or any other member of the community?
  • Would you vote for a proposal like this?
  • Would you be fine with everyone in the community wrote proposals for remuneration for their contribution during the hostile takeover?
  • Would your $30k contribution matter if the community didn't react and take to tweeting and creating awareness?
  • Are you insinuating that all the exchanges we got listed on were exclusively as a result of your input because this is how it seems?

But with some ingenuity from the group as well as showcasing the power of the community and our story, we were able to satisfy legal requirements as well as show why no centralized company was needed.

  • In your proposal, you used "we" regularly and I'll quote one instant above. Are you insinuating that the only reason Hive got listed and attention was because of this closed group of individuals(Three of you)?

I'd really like some closure right now, because, unlike you, where it is just business, and you have the liberty to get paid for your time through the community fund, the rest of us go the long way round.

Rolling Back

Oh well, I let my emotions seep out there for a bit but the topic is truth. The truth is that everyone has their own version of the truth, and we're all right in our own right. I know mine, but it is not a hill I'm willing to die on; hearing yours would go a long way in reducing the hurt, and finding a midpoint in everything.



Sort:  
Loading...

I personally thought @justineh's ask was a reasonable one. And I thought it a courageous move from a talented woman in an otherwise very boysy crypto world.

I DO think she deserves to be remunerated. and 30K is not unreasonable AT ALL. Au contraire. The VALUE the listings will bring to Hive far outweigh the modest amount she is asking for, which is well beneath commercial rate and which has saved the community a small fortune. Measure that cost over income generated over time and it becomes a tiny ask.

The only reason I haven't voted YES to the proposal is cos I do think there MAY be others who deserve remuneration. As a plankton in the pond, I don't even know enough to know who they might be.

I'd personally like to see a series of posts from people who know, who were there (not your average algae asking "what about me? I tweeted once") suggesting who the top people are they think contributed to listings (doing exactly what for how long etc) and to Hive's successful establishment who need-deserve remunerating. A top 5-10-20 group could be voted-agreed on by the wider community and a defined sum allocated. The Yes-No of the proposal system doesn't allow for an alternative.

A quiet private standing ovation for a courageous community member who has contributed a lot and has the courage to ask for what she is worth.

Agreed. As far as:

.... I do think there MAY be others who deserve remuneration. As a plankton in the pond, I don't even know enough to know who they might be.

I think they have spoken with their votes for the proposal and in commentary on her post.


I'm bored of hearing about people thinking that tweeting closes a deal with a multi-million dollar company!

Without the tweets, the multi-million dollar company won't give a shit. The companies evaluate the community's potential based on the buzz created. Or will a multi-million dollar company list a coin if only a selected group use it?

Without the tweets, the multi-million dollar company won't give a shit.

Do you have any facts to support this opinion?

The companies evaluate the community's potential based on the buzz created.

Does the 'buzz' have to pass a certain decibel level?

Yes because buzz is a strong determinant of the value of most entities these days. Especially if there's a positive sentiment around the internet. Here's an academic publication to back my first statement
Research gate

Well, considering Hive doesn't have a marketing department, and that we're Decentralised, it is our collective responsibility to promote/shill the platform. We all made loud enough noise to make John McAfee, cointelegraph and numerous reputable outlets talk about us. Or do you want to say that all those events were also coordinated by the select few?

Don't get me wrong, I'm taking nothing away from input but as a community, we all work to our collective capacities and with our resources. If certain members ask to be paid for their services from the community fund for that, then I don't get where we're going.

Do you have any facts to support this opinion?

Yes. Binance and Huobi backing down. Binance issuing a statement over major influencers picking up the story like McAfee, Vitalik, The greek Bitcoin guy. Not a single thing would happen without the community outcry.

Does the 'buzz' have to pass a certain decibel level?

There are metrics that are taken into account, yes.
If youre refering to "decibels" as loudness of sound then decibels are irelevant in the case of typing words over the internet.

No. Highly unreasonable is the right description.

The only reason why there is even a talk about this is because WE GOT LISTED.
We got listed because of the actions of the community.

If she asked for 30k for the same amount of work (or even for more work) and exchanges didnt list us, people would have told her to bugger off.
So really, shes not asking to get payed for her work. Shes asking to get payed for the results.
And the results are NOT her doing. They are OUR doing.

This kind of work is either voluntary or is payed like 1000$ a month at best. Its basically secretary work.
If she wasnt popular this would never pass. Its the reason no one else made this proposal except her that was involved

No one outside the "secret" group, outside the people that had insider knowledge could have got the job. 1 guy that wanted it was even kicked and told he was too greedy for asking for 100$ a day and shes asking for $500.

Oh and youre saying we should give her money because shes a girl? Fuck off with that neofeminist shit.

No one outside the "secret" group, outside the people that had insider knowledge could have got the job. 1 guy that wanted it was even kicked and told he was too greedy for asking for 100$ a day and shes asking for $500.

You keep throwing that around a lot.. you got proof of that?

Also math is helpful.. he wanted $100 a day, full time ( $36,500yr in a 3mth rolling contract). This was only for his role though, for sending the initial emails. He wanted to build a team, me included as he didn’t want to do the full workload to get a listing .. and pay us all this ($30k each x 4 = $120k). As “the exchange listings were going to take 6mths to a year”. I didn’t think money should be asked for before work was done. I also saw no need for a full time team on it. It was short term work.. get the initial big listings. Full time team was wasteful, especially when it could be done by fewer. (Mine is for $500/day as it’s for past and future work.. so over 160 days of work makes that $250/day for the work done. I got it done quicker, with fewer people, no need to pay me for a full year. Which I’ve told you and you repeatedly ignore as it doesn’t fit your agenda.)

I also didn’t like that he stated he got the Bittrex listing as a reasoning of why he should be paid (Gandalf did that and saying otherwise was bs). I also stated I would support his proposal at a later time (this was in March). Never once did I call him greedy and I didn’t kick him. The group stated they didn’t want to do proposals too soon as we needed to actually get some shit done first. It wasnt me scolding him, it was the group saying they wouldn’t support his proposal. That’s it.

He was kicked over a week later for not responding and starting a Steem witness where he started running the JS fork code and publicly asking him for a vote.

So please, get your damn story straight or stfu.

Loading...

Civil discourse is great, isn't it? Disagreement is NORMAL and NEEDED in a decentralized world. But so is politeness and respect for someone with a dissenting viewpoint.

I was simply saying she is courageous in the boysy crypto world. NOT same as saying she gets paid cos she's a girl. Read again. I think she - and others deserve to be paid for an excellent job which has already borne measurable results, and will continue to do so. Results that have saved the community a small fortune and which will enable us all to excel.

she is courageous in the boysy crypto world

Her having or not having courage has nothing to do with crypto being or not being a "boys world". There is a fair amount of women in crypto in important spots. Ciara Sun is an example. Our two biggest influencers on Hive are women.
If anything its easier for a girl to get noticed because of the significant presence of incels in crypto, especially on twitter, which some women do take advantage of some times.
Neo-feminist nonsense gets on my nerves.

Go see which tweets tend to get the most upvotes from female crypto influencers.

Id sooner say Justine is courageous to write the proposal she did asking for 30k then for being a girl in crypto.😂

not your average algae asking "what about me? I tweeted once*

I'm your average algae and this sort of hurts you know? I'm emotionally invested in this company and I'd have done the same things she did for free, but that's just me and the thousands of other algae who were busy creating buzz who didn't write proposals for our services.
Thanks for giving me clarity all the same.

haha @abh12345 LOL. Yup. Nailed it with that last comment.

It's all good. It is just business and money is money.

I dont see how that's any different from someone coding in features. Having exchanges to trade hive is more important than any single feature added recently. There's no point to hive if you can't trade it,

I personally support a proposal for this but I think it would be more fair to pay every major contributor to the creation of hive and the battle against the hostile takeover(perhaps on a longer term not to ask for a really high HBD amount/day). Especially when the amount requested is about the same as the average wage in the US. ( I used the US because HBD is based on USD)

Well that escalated quickly. I have voted @justineh's proposal and here is my reasoning. There is an old proverb from The Book...

For the scripture saith, Thou shalt not muzzle the ox that treadeth out the corn. And, The labourer is worthy of his (her) reward. — 1 Timothy 5:18 (King James Version of The Bible) Parenthesis are mine.


James Weldon Johnson. (n.d.). AZQuotes.com. Retrieved May 06, 2020, from AZQuotes.com
Web site: https://www.azquotes.com/quote/523891

I am a former Lay Baptist Minister, and current Internet Ordained Rabbi. If G-D thinks she should get paid, who am I to say different? I may be a mean ass honey badger but, my arms are too short to box with the Almighty!

Oh well, how can I argue with the good book.

I'm just going to say great post and I loved all comments I do love seeing what's going on 👀

( I'm upvoting this comment so people can see please do the same)

I'm on a blacklist
I can't appeal against plus this was with account

source @hivewatcer

Editing your previous posts does not change the fact that they were plagiarized or copy & pasted from somewhere else. All text is recorded to the blockchain and publicly available.

Those posting with the intent to evade abuse detection are quickly added to the @hivewatcher blacklist and ineligible for appeals