How you can help change the life of a fellow Hiver today (seriously!)

in #hivelast year (edited)

helga hive.png

I know I know... when people ask you to support someone you don't even know, you usually just scroll on.

But... Hive is different. Why?

  • Because Hive is one of the only "places" in the world where we can GIVE without losing any money!! We can support each other in a life changing way without having the money coming out of our own pocket!!
  • Plus, we are a caring community. I remember 6 years ago when I joined Steemit Hive, we all mass upvoted a community member in the Philippines, who needed an expensive, life-saving surgery. And we succeeded! It was one of the most fascinating things I was ever part of and truly showed me the power of blockchain. Especially ours here.

So. Do you want to help me do something similar today?

My friend helgalubevi is going through quite some health challenges, which, as a result cause financially challenges. I am intentionally not tagging her, because I don't want to make her feel uncomfortable. It's also not for me to share what the exact challenges are, but if you scroll through her blog, you can see for yourself.

She's incurring a lot of costs to get the medicine and healthcare she needs, and due to those health challenges, she's often also not able to create an income. She needs to cash out every little bit of Hive income at the moment, to get by.

I recently had a little glimpse into how stressful it is when you are unable to work and lose income (due to an accident in my case) and at the same time your costs suddenly increase. As everyone knows, stress is not exactly condusive to the healing process.

It's Helga's birthday today

I have delegated pretty much all my Hive power to her, since I don't get to spend a lot of time here at the moment. It's not a lot, but in any case it will be of much better use to her. (I also f**ed it up a little and instead of a 1,200 delegation, it now shows only 200 - I'm still investigating and looking into fixing this, so don't judge me if you only see a tiny delegation :))

How you can help

  • Follow helgalubevi and upvote her posts and comments

  • Or put her on auto vote

  • Send her a delegation for a few months. Maybe even a year. Especially if you have a few thousand HIVE to spare. You know, something that can make a substantial difference. Her challenges may be a long healing process. If she would get to earn around $500 per month with our help, I think that could really be life changing and reduce a lot of stress for her.
    (And personally, I would encourage her to use those delegations to self-upvote, too, but I don't know what the latest consensus on that is.)

  • Of course you can also send her a tip, if you have anything to spare. Did I mention it's her birthday today? ;) Even if it's just 1 HIVE or a fraction. Imagine you woke up on your birthday and got tons of birthday messages from fellow Hivers?

  • Upvote this post generously. I have set it so that 100% of the rewards will go to her.

  • Share this post so others will see it and get a chance to join in. Whether you re-blog it or share it on discord, twitter, etc - whatever will get more people to see it.

Screenshot 2022-11-30 at 14.37.27.png

If you have any other ideas on how we could help - let me know in the comments.

And now I will tag everyone I can think of... brace yourselves.. ⚡ (Sorry not sorry. It's for a good cause.)


UPDATE (since my tag wasn't super well received by the first commenter...): I don't mean to trigger anyone. And I'm perfectly OK with you ignoring this post. I tagged all the people here I consider either Hive friends (no matter how long it's been since we've been in touch) or people who are invested in creating good things with Hive. Successfully helping someone in need is the kind of story we can tell to people who are not on Hive yet, and show them the power of this platform.


@abh12345 @adetorrent @alexvan @anomadsoul @apshamilton @arcange @basilmarples @bitrocker2020 @blocktrades @brianoflondon @canadian-coconut @clareartista @crimsonclad @detlev @felixxx @felix.herrmann @gtg @jza @karinxxl @kenny-crane @lichtblick @mammasitta @misslasvegas @ocdb @pnc @roelandp @slobberchops @soyrosa @starkerz @tarazkp @taskmaster4450 @travelfeed @waybeyondpadthai @znnuksfe

Sort:  

I appreciate the good intention behind this post, dear @connecteconomy - and am glad that you tagged me... Having multiple challenges myself to overcome, and dwindling income in fiat, my first reaction was not to go to my wallet and delegate - however, I do know from my own experience in crisis, that the most useful help I was needing was in how to navigate towards true, deep healing - so I have responded from that place. Many blessings to you and gratitude for your presence here, no matter if briefly!

Thanks for your nice comment, Clare! I sent you a little Thank You 💜

What a beautiful surprise to find your gift in my Hive this morning - thank you sincerely, dear friend; it is hugely appreciated....

Hey sorry to hear about your friend. I know that health is such a hamper on people hability to experience life. Hope things get better for her. I sent her a tip hopefully she can hit her mark.

You're good people, jza! 💜

This is a really nice idea. I looked at Helgas profile and like the travel posts. When something comes up, I may do some upvotes, even though I am just a very small fish with 2 cent upvote value.
!PIZZA

Thank you @kheldar :) That's a lot more than what my upvote is worth right now ;)

I haven't heard from you in years.
You saved only 1.7k HP and you delegate it all away.
And then you ping me to send my coinz to someone?

wtf

I accidentally voted but I find you so horribly rude! Oh well! You made your point

I am rude. I am also right.

Hey @felixxx!
I'm delegating it all away because I believe it's the best way to put it to good use while I'm not able to spend time here. If I'm not delegating it away it will just sit here and be of no use to the community. Or am I getting this wrong? Giving it to a person who needs it, and who can use it to upvote others - isn't that the best option? Happy to be educated on this.
I'm not asking you to give your coins away...
Hope you're well!

I honestly think it's too late to educate you on common decency.

I do not understand why you are so angry on this. Don't like to be pinged. Fine. But come on, she is just tryiing to do something good here. Lets stay calm.

I am doing something good, by powering up my hive and giving votes to people. A ton of them to her.

I am not angry; I am disappointed.

It seems I am missing big parts of the story. Sorry for "crashing" in. !PIZZA

Same here. I'm not sure what exactly I did to trigger Felixxx so much. I hardly get to spend time here anymore, so I'm not sure about the "tons of upvotes" when there is nothing to upvote to begin with..

Anyway, we all try to do our best with the means we have. I appreciate this platform regardless of whether I'm able to spend time here or contribute. I'm still singing its praises while I'm not here. And I do believe delegating my Hive power to others instead of having it sit idle, is the best way to put it to good use.

And @felixxx, I tagged all the people here I consider either Hive friends (no matter how long it's been since we've been in touch) or people who are invested in creating good things with Hive. In my book you fall in both categories and I'm sorry I triggered you.

I've also always appreciated your honesty, though personally I don't think being rude is part of "common decency". Maybe we can give people the benefit of the doubt and focus on their intentions before lashing out.

Outsch! Another really mean comment!
Be glad to get a little ping instead or did it hurt?

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@kheldar1982(3/5) tipped @felixxx (x1)
kheldar1982 tipped connecteconomy (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Aahh... I wonder where are you now?