You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lack of engagement is hampering Hive adoption

in #hive4 years ago (edited)

Agree you can't force engagement it has to be natural interaction otherwise it comes across at best as false or at worst as spam. For me we need to get the killer mobile app that provides a similar experience to what is out there (FB/IG) and also deals with on boarding in a simple way (light accounts) and then I think people will come. I have hopes @dapplr might achieve this.
People need to be able to try before they buy so to speak which is why light accounts with no focus on the rewards pool are needed IMO. The pooled rewards from those light accounts could help fund the app that hosts them.
Once they see the potential they will invest the time to understand what a full account is worth and upgrade to one.

For what its worth I get more 'meaningful' comments from 3k followers on hive than I do from 45k on Instagram. So its all relative to what peoples expectations are.

Sort:  

For what its worth I get more 'meaningful' comments from 3k followers on hive than I do from 45k on Instagram.

I don't use Instagram so could not comment, and I have stopped sharing my links on Facebook. I don't see the point anymore, I do Tweet my stuff though.

What was eSteem have a mobile app though I don't use it, the text is a little small for me. Light accounts? I think peakd.com does those, but it's not really enticing people on. The expectation is high for newbies and when they get little or nothing they leave and go back to where the masses are.

If there are masses, you will get interaction.

Yes but you have to start somewhere. People should promote the fact that you own your own connections here rather than that you get paid. Plenty of influencers on Instagram or Youtube that have existing monetization models without the global reward pool; as long as they can reach their followers. The issue is that those platforms can cut their reach at will. So to have a distributed database of peer to peer connections which no one controls allows people to control their own reach. I know a lot of people on IG with this issue where reach has been cut and now they are being forced to use paid promotion to get it back. I had this myself with reach cut over 50% when I was forced onto a creator account on IG and now get asked to pay to get it back. The issue is that without a smooth user interface and onboard process you simply can't get your followers to move over here. In the mean time I think we are more suited to taking users from communities on reddit. But I remain hopeful we will get there.