Do you have to post Daily to be relevant on Hive?

in #hive4 years ago

For a long time when I first joined that other fork, I posted on a daily basis, I felt like it was the best way to broaden my community on the platform. These days, I don't find myself having a lot to say, so I just let my auto votes happen for the people I support and go on with my day. Some days the only interactions I have with the platform is my daily SplinterLands Mission and Rising Star game play.

I've lost followers since my last post, and I wonder if I just didn't post enough for them to stick around? Or were they old followers who suddenly started seeing my content again and decided they weren't interested? I have no idea.

In any event, it is an interesting question isn't it? Some people maintain their presence through things like the Fitness Dapp which posts for them. I suppose I could do that, or I could post one of my Splinterland battles I suppose, but that does not seem like high quality content to me. No offense to those who are posting those things, but I scan right past them, I can certainly see the draw to posting your fitness progress to the blockchain as a personal diary, but as something that is of interest to others, I'm just not sure.

So I will just leave this to hang out there. What is everyone's opinion? Do you have to post consistently to get attention to your Hive Blog? Or is it okay to post every now and then and still be relevant?

Since posts do better with pictures, I will include a couple of pictures of our Monarch Chrysalis, several darkened today, meaning we should have some Monarch Butterfly tomorrow. That should be something worth sharing!

image.png

image.png

They turn black when they are about 24 hours from emerging. So we look like we have 6 out of the 13 ready to come out. In the bottom image you can see the wings forming in the lighter green one, but that one isn't quite ready yet.

Sort:  

Could just comment, upvote, or downvote to stay in the thick of things.

You're right, of course. I need to look at Hive more like I look at Facebook. I need to be more interested in what my chosen community is up to. Instead, most days I skip Hive because curating it can feel like a chore. I need to find my excitement for jumping on the platform again. Maybe that means revising my following feed to see more stuff that relates to me and not as much of the stuff I'm not that interested in.

I've lost followers since my last post, and I wonder if I just didn't post enough for them to stick around?

May be. Hive curation is broke and everyone is going for 5 minute upvote window.

Or were they old followers who suddenly started seeing my content again and decided they weren't interested? I have no idea.

May be they have put someone else for upvote and it is 50-50 chance they will include you or go with their current upvote settings.

but that does not seem like high quality content to me.

Nothing wrong in them if they are made interesting. I read some interesting actifit reports too though most are just low effort to mark presence.

High quality word always confuse me because post that I think of high quality did not get an responses that I thought average gathered good traffic.

So I will say feel free to post whatever looks presentable idea without worrying about "high" quality as such.

"So I will say feel free to post whatever looks presentable idea without worrying about "high" quality as such."

This, of course is the best policy for everyone! Post what you want, when you want, and don't worry about the rest.

The auto votes are nice, but they are also a curse in that people can take their posting for granted if you know that you have votes coming in regardless of what you post, why put in the effort.

Maybe High Quality is the wrong term. High effort might be more apt. I want to see that people took the time to write, or create something. Those posts that are just a stat tracker, or clicking a link on a splinterlands battle do not take any effort to produce. Maybe if I don't care for those posts, it is time for me to do some unfollowing myself huh?

In the end, it goes back to your quote above. Post what you like and let the rest take care of itself.

Thanks for dropping in!

You are not irrelevant of course. "Silence is golden" is an old song. I am amazed by the pictures. Never seen before. The garden I work in has some "pupas" of Papilio machaon aka swallowtail (?) a 7,5 cm large butterfly and largest in Netherlands.

Yeah I have really enjoyed having the monarch with me. They got their name from the emerald green Chrysalis with gold flecks in it. One of them is showing some orange through the black now, so those wings are getting ready to come out.

Swallowtail are very cool too. I'd like to try to raise some of them as well, Tennessee is a good spot for them. I just have to make sure I have the right host plants for them.

No one is irrelevant, it's just sometimes interesting to me to take a look at what makes Hive tick.

I don't think you need to post daily but I do think you need to interact with others. You could be posting the most interesting blogs in the world but if nobody sees them them how will anybody know. Joining a community or commenting on others gets your name out there just like any social media. If you get big enough others will do the promotion for you by sharing but it takes a long time to get to that point.

I follow users that I find interesting but it is not always the best quality work. You get invested in their lives or their projects and read whatever they are posting. Even if it's daily or weekly when I see the name I jump in.

I like splinterlands and am always curious about my friends rewards or how many steps they hit today. Only because I have connected with them. I don't care about random people's ones.

I would say build connections here. It doesn't have to be daily but it won't happen by itself.

Well said! Of course the commenting and engaging in other people's blogs is what drives them to your blog. And maybe that is the effort I need to make more of. Even if it is just carving out 15 minutes to go through the feeds and find something to comment on. I don't have to have anything to say for myself to have something to say on someone else's post. Wise words.

I guess it depends on your goals but like anything the more people see you the more likely they are to remember you. Before I developed Rising Star I was only posting the replay of my weekly show and that was it.


Rising Star - Play For FREE, Earn Crypto & Tradable NFTs on HIVE!

The squeaky Wheel get's the grease theory? haha. I just find I don't have a lot to say most of the time. But, like I said in another comment, maybe it is a matter of finding 15 minutes in the day to go through some posts and find something to comment on and engage with. That keeps me writing transactions on the blockchain and my words out there for people to engage with.

Keep up the good work on the game. looking forward to seeing how it develops!!

Congratulations @mikepm74! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the last Hive Power Up Day