Survivorship Bias: Use The Losers Experience on HIVE

in #hive3 years ago

I think many of you have heard about the survivorship bias. A term that appeared during the war and indicates another cognitive error in our perception. Its essence boils down to the fact that people tend to make fundamental conclusions only on a sample of "survivors" (successful examples), at the same time, ignoring the dead (losers), despite the fact that the sample for dead is much wider. After all, knowing the cause of death, we can avoid many mistakes when making decisions. However, it's very problematic to get a report from the dead, as well as the loser, whose voice will not be heard.

Indeed, who is interested in the stories of defeats when we've examples of winners, with their, at first glance, simple tips "Believe in yourself", "Do not give up" and "Follow the dream". All store shelves crammed with bestsellers on how to succeed in business, in your personal life, or selling water in the desert.

The problem is that success is often a chaotic and random combination of circumstances that worked only for a specific individual. You'll not be able to repeat the success of Elon Musk, even if you have a step-by-step plan of his actions, starting from birth. There are hundreds of great guys, with amazing ideas, who have not achieved success. Failure is a more objective source of information, because it happens to humanity much more often.

This estimation error occurs constantly in our life, including on social networks, and of course here, on Hive. I've seen many posts on the topic "what needs to be done to catch a whale, be popular and notices…". Stories of people whose lives changed after their success here. There are many of them, they are true, and often useless for 99% of other users.

Let's be honest, we're all here at the Normandy landings. There are guys with a storyline like Tom Hanks, who ran to the redoubt without getting a scratch. But, a lot of good guys were left lying on the shore, unnoticed, abandoned, dead in the author's sense, their voices were not and will not be heard.

4546346436.jpg

To the dead, we can add thousands of wounded who don't give up and crawl forward, pulling themselves up on their only surviving arm. After all, they see a successful Tom ahead, who is waving the winning cryptocurrency flag at the top of the ratings. Don't give up fighters, you still have a chance to survive. Perhaps I'm one of these guys, with a torn off hand, but with a strong desire to kick the ass of a couple of fascists. Sometimes I pass out from blood loss and chop off, leaving the platform for a couple of years. But Tom's victory cry brings me back from unconsciousness and I try again to join the winners in this war.

43535345.jpg

Maybe I'm not as cute as Tom Hanks, or I've problems with coordination and I ran in the wrong direction, thinking that I was the smartest and stepped on the stretch. Rolled away at the wrong time, ducked, didn't hear the order or didn't notice the projectile, or missed the briefing. I'm one of those guys, who tried different tactics, they didn’t lead me to success, stripping a couple of limbs along the way. Nevertheless, I'm still alive, and I can tell at least about some of my mistakes.

#1 Don't try to catch a whale at dawn on the day of the 17th summer solstice

I've seen this in a couple of "successful" tips back in the Steemit era. And I tried. The essence of the approach: most of the whales are North American users, the activity time of which can be radically different from the time of the user, who wants his post to be seen by big fish (sorry, a mammal).

My hourly difference with North America is about 8-10 hours. Well, you can imagine what came of it. Instead of soundly sleeping in my bed and gaining strength, I tried to finish and publish a new post at a certain «magical” time. Did it work? Sure... If you want to increase the level of domestic violence in your family due to the irritability that comes from lack of sleep, just do it.

Seriously, this clearly didn't work even at the time of the birth of Steemit, when there were a couple of hundred active users. With the platform growing and whale activity decreasing these days, this is clearly a losing proposition. Sleep soundly, write for your pleasure.

#2 Don't give up on controversial and unpleasant topics

During my publishing craze, I came up with about 5 topics for posts a day. And almost always 5 out of 5 were rejected by me. Why? Because these were topics that (as I thought) could offend someone, reduce my popularity and reputation (yeah, I thought I had popularity and reputation). And do you know what happened next? I've seen articles from other authors on similar topics who were not shy about expressing their opinions, and they were successful.

It doesn't guarantee that the topic would have been noticed under my authorship. But in any case, don't limit the choice of topics for yourself. Even if you see that someone has already used "your" topic, write anyway. As our mother says to each of us: you are special, as is your opinion… and your terrible English.

#3 Don't ignore the social dimension

Seriously, people, this is still a social network. Publish post after post in the stupid hope that you'll just be noticed by someone... this is not the WAY. Ignore other small authors and write only to whales "cool post, I'm delighted, you're amazing"… It's like getting out of a trench and showing the fascists a naked ass. Most likely, they will simply shoot you with a machine gun, without even realizing what they were shooting at. There will be no one to blame but yourself for the wasted efforts. Look for friends, not patrons.

Ok, if you still decide to follow only Moby Dick, at least read his post and sincerely express your opinion if the published topic touched the strings of your soul. Insincerity is visible even in the Internet word.

#4 Not everything should be published

This looks a bit like a contradiction to #2. However, what might have seemed interesting, exciting and potentially successful to you, can turn into something useless. I often came across a feeling when the beginning of the article was going well, it seemed to me that it would be a bomb. But the more I wrote, the more I realized that it was gradually turning into some kind of shit, not into good post (I feel this effect right now, on these lines).

When you feel like you're doing shit, you can either stop doing it and wasting your energy. Or, finish it, but don't expect to get a medal of courage for scattering feces on the battlefield.

...

It would be logical to stop there, because any next advice I come up with to improve this article and make it useful and insightful, in fact, will be written only to be written. It's time to start following my own tips. All these bla-bla-bla will not make you absolutely successful here, but I hope it will keep your morale and some of your strength for a victorious dash.

Sort:  

A stellar post as usual - your analogy is fantastic, and your humour on point. An utter pleasure to read, and thanks for stopping past MY post so I was reminded to see what brilliance you have posted.

I have shot myself in the face recently, resulting me retreating to a trench to lick my own wounds, which tasted awful. After many bottles of wine saline solution and hard drugs a few panadols and a dirty bandage, I returned to the battle renewed, enjoying the cameraderie of my fellow soldiers far, far more than all the other whale bullshit shenanigans power trips goings on.

and thanks for stopping past MY post so I was reminded to see what brilliance you have posted

Yes, that's the whole point :p In fact, I update my friends ' feed and really follow their publications. I can't write as much myself as I would like, but I can read high-quality content from other authors. I like to maintain a constant dialogue with some of them. For example with you and meesterboom. For the opposite example, I like
nonameslefttouse publications, his writing style is very good. But I understand that I can't understand the whole meaning of his texts, because English is not my native language. Therefore, quite often, I can't comment on his post deliberately (sincerely), and I don't do it.

And you write quite easily and about simple things that happened in my life too. So it gives me pleasure to read and comment on you.

I tried to finish and publish a new post at a certain «magical” time. Did it work?

It's not such a big deal anymore, this timing thing. Are you from Europe or even the UK by any chance?

HF25 took care of that dumb window, now.. you just need to be seen.

Well, until 2014, my government claimed that we were part of Europe... in some sense.But it seems to me that Russia is still stuck in the middle between Asia and Europe :)

When I took a semester of Russian in college (yeah, just one, lol), I was able to get some of the grammar because I had already been studying German and Japanese and could spot the similarities as far as some of the rules went. It really made me appreciate how Russian is a mishmash of European and Asian cultures.

Today we are like Asia, tomorrow we are like Europe, you will not guess where the wind will blow. Your multilingualism amazes and scares me :)

Ha ha ha, I'm not fluent in the other languages, I just speak a little bit of several. Enough to get in or out of trouble, maybe. 😂

Great post, you have a new follower :)

Thanks for the recognition, I will try to do less shit so as not to let my followers down ;)

Better a thoughtful shit than a thoughtless cat pic.

Damn right. But... I've a cat. And when I see the word "cat", I can't resist showing you his photo:

z_d40c7c08.jpg

I'm sorry my new friend, here you can see even 6 photos, I made a collage for you.

I deserved it :)
It was just an illustrative example, no offense to your cat!

Great post, written colorful and humorous!
Easy and fun to read.
Thank you!

Thanks for reading, my friend! It is a very pleasant feeling when other people spend time on your work :)

This is why there needs to be more stuff to do on the chain than simply "post and hope to earn while pretending you are an author".

I think Hive has come been getting better in that regards.

Yes, the Hive has absorbed the best, it reminds me of Steemit in its first two years.
And you're right about more stuff to do on the chain, there is a difference between pretending and sincere participation. On the other hand, we cannot ignore the commercial component of this place. Is it bad? Definitely not. Someone comes, pretends to receive money and leaves. And someone stays, changes their approach and becomes a full-fledged participant of the platform.

the one thing that is proven to be successful is that consistency is key, make 100 posts on Hive with no excuses, and if none of those are profitable make 101, sooner or later good content gets noticed, there are many curation projects out there. Nice post

Sorry I waited this long to click follow. I can be a real asshole sometimes.

Forget it, man, it doesn't matter. Do this only if you find it useful and interesting for yourself. I communicate with you not for the exchange of pleasantries and benefits, so i can joke with your leg ;p

Shoooot. You know how many mufukers try to walk like I walk normal?! They act.. All I do is walk.

When ya got it ya got it.

If I'm repeating myself right now I'm not apologizing cuz I do it regularly If I'm repeating myself right now I'm not apologizing cuz I do it regularly but during our two year experience, one of my favorite friendships made was with a Russian.

Shoooot. You know how many mufukers try to walk like I walk normal?! They act.. All I do is walk.
When ya got it ya got it.

You mean some assholes who are trying to parody you? If so, well, shit is everywhere, and you will step into it sooner or later.

If I allow myself too much, just tell me about it. I'll shut up without remorse. But now I see in front of me a tough man who lives without sparing himself, so why should I feel sorry for him.

I remember about Vladimir from Costa Rica :) I guess he didn't play with "tolerance".
And if you are able to pronounce the name Vladimir, then you are ready for the next level: my name is Vsevolod :D

I've experienced a few head injuries

..my name is Vsevolod

If your name sounds like a pharmaceutical grade vegetable, I got it!