Inspired - February 11, 2020 @goldenoakfarm

Ginger bug - ingredients crop February 2020.jpg

A couple days ago @goldendawne made a #ulog post about making a ginger bug. She’s posted about this before and each time I’ve thought I must try this. This time I had all the ingredients so I went for it.

Recipe.jpg

This is her recipe. My helper friend was here on Tuesday and he did the chopping. I used the filtered water from my Berkey as I didn’t have spring water.

Ginger bug - finished1 crop February 2020.jpg

I used a wide mouth quart jar, as I thought it would provide more air space for fermentation.

Ginger bug - finished2 crop February 2020.jpg

I have both buttercloth (above) and cheesecloth. Experience has shown me that buttercloth works as well as cheesecloth in fermentation, but will keep the fruit flies out.

Now it’s on my counter and on Wednesday I must make the first addition of more sugar and ginger. I hope it begins to work!

Sort:  

Oh how awesome!! Glad you're able to make some finally!

I love having this on hand. I get tired of plain water some days and having this around I can make some flavored lacto-fermented sodas to enjoy.

I’ve done this and had amazing results! Just be careful when you bottle it because we had an explosion that we still talk about to this day! Never could clean it all up, went straight to the ceiling and all over the kitchen!
PS we’ve got a Berkey too... kindred spirits (;

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment