The adventures of a seasoned reef aquarist -- The Introduction

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hello fellow Steemians (I hope I'm getting this term correct!)

So I have known of this site and community for a bit over a year now although never took the dive in to see what there was to offer.

My experiences up until this point have been from a my cousin who seems to have a decent following here for his posts on "mushroom hunting" as the layperson may know it, although he doesn't actually eat anything, he just likes finding stuff an identifying it. In addition to this I have occasionally been diverted to a posting here from my browsing of the interwebz.

So why am I here now? Well I have been told I have a pretty unique and interesting hobby by many people who have tried pushing me towards sharing this experience with others and I guess I can say I was inspired by my cousins work here.

While I do hope to keep everyone interested and engaged in what I will be posting (hopefully picture intensive), I would like to forewarn you all that I am not the greatest writer and this journey may seem rather crude to those used to some of the eloquent postings I've seen here.

So to go a bit into myself and what exactly this hobby "reef aquarist" means... well basically just means I have an aquarium/fish tank in my house that contains a miniature ecosystem if you will... a replication of a natural reef contained within 5 panes of glass or in some cases injected mold plastics.

O right... Me. I got my first freshwater fish tank I would say around the age of 10, but the nature of unplanted freshwater tanks bored me, so by the age of 13 I had my first reef tank started. Now at the age of 27, I have 14 years of experience with it. I've kept almost every type of coral excluding non-photosynthetics, as well as many different varieties of invertebrates, and fish, and who knows how many billions of various microorganisms I can technically call my pets as well.

O and did I mention I just finished medical school and am applying for medical residency as well? O and for some reason I decided to turn this hobby into a mini business as well this past summer.

Yes, that escalated quickly, but I'm not here for that. I'm here to share the cool things about my hobby that I think many people can appreciate.

I know I have some pictures here somewhere... Lets see what I can find.

Below is a coral called a blue polyp monti cap. So all of those pretty little blue dots are called polyps and are actually individual mouths to grab tiny bits of food out of the water column for the coral to consume.
IMG_0320.jpg

Below is another visually appealing one. These corals are called jawbreaker mushrooms. All of the ones in this picture (PLUS MORE!) came from the same 3 corals I purchased. They mostly reproduce asexually by a process called budding where they will stretch out their "foot" further and further away from their body until it tears off and becomes its own coral!
jb5.jpg

Not interested yet? How about this one! Below you can find an embryo from a blue/green reef chromis. The small school of these fish which I have in one of my tanks lays eggs every few weeks. These were pulled out of the nest at day 4 or so if I remember correctly to get a picture under a microscope, seems one of the 3 eggs shown wasn't fertilized properly. I also have a video showing a heart beating and the fish wiggling in the egg every so often, but not sure how to upload videos here if they are even supported in text posts like this.

baby.png

Anyway, that's all I have for now. Hopefully you guys enjoy it! Let me know if you want to see more or if you would like to see me just pack up and leave, I will do that too.

Now to try figuring out this tagging system.... hmm.

Sort:  

Hi @gmorv
Welcom to Steemit & have a nice day!
I gave you my little upvote, & you can check @hoaithu 's blog to get upvote x2.5BID & Free for new steemians!

I love this place! We seem to attract all the most creative and thinking outside the aquarium (I mean box) type of people! Excellent post and I love the idea of having this system within my own home.

All the best,

Phi23

You can easily get one of these systems in your own home as long as you're willing to learn about how to take care of it! I'll try to look around this new world (steemit) the best I can to see if others are doing anything related to this, if not maybe I can even have somewhat of a how to guide set up in my series of posts. The sky is the limit, that's what they say. Or in my case, the surface of the water.

I hope you find your own little community here. Greetings from Holland.

Thank you! You're right next to one of my favorite countries... Belgium! Haha. I loved the beer, chocolate and waffles the few times I was there. Cant get that sort of quality here in the US with our mass produced goods.

Welcome too steemit, and make your dream come true here

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the welcome. I will do the best I can!

Hello and welcome to steemit!
I would like to invite you to @steemstem, where you will find lots of other steemians interested in/writing about science!
Join us on discord for more!
In the meantime, you can read a few of links I gathered here
I wish you a wonderful time and lots of fun here!
Katerina

Thanks, your collection of links seems super helpful. Going to take a while to get through it. So far learned, I should have given myself credit for the 3 images I used. :)

I think you already mention that in your post : )
Yes, you should give credit to anything you use that is not yours.
Also, especially when it comes to photos, they should be licensed for re-use (You can see more in the links I sent you)

Yes I saw in the links you sent.
I may end up using some images and diagrams that are not mine in the future when we start diving a bit deeper into the scientific stuff, so I will make sure to give credit where credit is due.

Welcome to steemit @gmorv.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thanks for your support!

Welcome to Steemit @gmorv :)

Welcome to steemit!
Wish u best of luck!
Think wisely,before u post!
Thats the best advice!
AND,B YOURSELF!

Welcome to Steem, @gmorv!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3333 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus Points : Wallet Sneak Peek.

Hey gmorv, welcome to Steemit !

Are you an Instagramer ? If so, don't forget to link your Instagram account to your Steemit account at http://steemigram.com/. Then, all your Instagram posts including the hashtag #steemigram will be posted on your Steemit blog !

If you have any questions, please ask us here or on Discord

Welcome to Steemit gmorv. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Hai newbie welcome too steemit and enjoy this platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks!

Hallo guys, how are you today.
And welcome to steemit,
I hope you enjoy in this application.
Follow for apvote.

Posted using Partiko Android



This post has been voted on by the steemstem curation team and voting trail.

There is more to SteemSTEM than just writing posts, check here for some more tips on being a community member. You can also join our discord here to get to know the rest of the community!

Welcome to Steem! As said by @katerinaramm, don't hesitate to pay us a visit on the stemstem discord :)

Thanks, I'm not sure what discord is...

Here. You can join our server and chat with us live :)

Cool Stuff thanks for sharing :) Liked and followed!

Thanks! Seems like I'm here to stay with the showing of support I received on my 1st post. So keep your eyes out for a new post sometime in the near future.

Welcome to the community @gmorv! Here in the platform you can do a lot of things to grow your authorship. Follow your favorite authors to help you learn new things and become a great author as well.

Here are some helpful posts about blogging from Steemit users:

While it's true that everybody can earn from content creation and curation, the best practice is to not expect anything in return. You won't get tired writing beautiful contents if you love what you do.

Do you find it hard to keep up with the game? Try adding value to your content and let others authors see value in it too. Don't be afraid to express your thoughts and make good contents.

Everyone had their own starting point, yours is just beginning.

See you around!