Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Thank you Shayne, invaluable post for a newcomer like me. I am in the process of making my intro, it is so tempting to dive right in because this place is so positive, I love it!

More wonderfully helpful information! Thank you! Wish I would have understood about the getting involved with the community before starting to post my content. I believe my earlier posts could have earned more had I followed this advice early on.
So here is a question if you have a moment, or anyone for that matter. What if one was to create a new post with a new picture based on a previous post in order to get it seen? Maybe add in more information and a twist (i.e. my organic natural chocolate recipe with something different added in like nuts) so it is not exactly the same. Would this be a good option?

I don't see a problem with that, really.

Exposure is a fickle thing on Steemit.

I've written several posts that are all basically about the same topic, just worded differently or with new or updated information.

hola, muchas gracias por tu post, aclaro muchas cosas, quiero preguntarte; puedo hacer mi presentación solo con video? o debo agregar contenido por escrito obligatoriamente? y no pude ver tu video, me dice que no esta disponible, saludos desde venezuela!

@raincountry That sounds like a great idea! You can surely write it differently or with a more 'fresh' perspective so currently followers wouldn't feel it's too spammy. In my world of nutrition I often have to repeat concepts several times for people to not only notice but understand the 'how' and the 'why' behind what I'm asking them to do.

I did all these, did an improved intro but still only 3 people checked it out. And I see other post with less effort and they get upvoted. It's unfair :(

I hope people don't feel entitled to upvotes. Sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't. All you can do is position yourself the best you can hope for the best. Best luck!

Thanks for your response

Thank you so much! I found this very helpful but I also wish I could have someone explain very enough and how I can really get involved in steemit. It sounds so exciting but I am yet to have my piece

Thank you for this.
Are you suggesting to make a video introducing yourself rather than write a post?

Welcome @shayne . You should also upvote people that comment on your post.

This is not the way to go about doing Steemit, dude. You didn't even read the post. You're going to start getting flagged for spam soon.

I try to upvote people that make comments on my posts. If I have steem power. Just saying. No offence.

You're spamming. I'm just giving you a friendly warning because you're new. You can choose to listen or not. I just hope you don't start getting flagged for upvote-begging.

Wow! Nice Post to share! :)
btw I just upvoted your post and also followed u
Can you please follow me back?
please
I post lots of Interesting Things every day...

PS
(ANYONE LOOKING FOR FOLLOWERS PLEASE FOLLOW ME
AND ILL FOLLOW YOU BACK! INSTANT FOLLOW BACK ILL PROMISE!)

I will follow you @deism12

thanks done following you also.. :)

I will follow you both @deism12 @autonomsystem

thank you very much!
i also follow you back :)

Followed you
Ps follow back

Isn't this misleading the purpose of the following and building up connections in the community?
Especially under a guide like this?
Thought its to start up chats and get connected through interests ect, having people follow the sort of known essential content?

i just signed up here new, but i was hoping not to have this same childish run on followers like facebook, Instagram and co.

Please don't take it as an offence, it is just meant in general. What do you guys post about and what are your interests? Then of course I'd think about following.

By the way, thank you for the guide, it was very helpful.

I am mainly interested in cryptocurrencies, investments, especially european point of view, literature, and openminded towards any interesting sounding suggestions. These will be my main posting subjects, too.
If you feel like replying, what your posted content will be about, i will pleasently think to follow you.

Thanks :)

Following you guys...
The ART of Returning the Favor!

Self Five.gif

The ART of Returning the Favor...
I'll start following the people here.

Self Five.gif

I'll follow. :)

l will follow you

replied so I read this later. thanks for sharing it.

From marketing to MarketKing

lol

nice write up

Thanks for info! I wish I read this before I started)

You can always redo your introduction post! :D

Good job on this post. I am very new to Steemit so I am looking for articles that help me figure out how I can use Steemit. I really appreciate your simple instructions to help new users know how to get started.

Thanks a lot! I try.

Is it better to show the photo of myself? It seems it can get more upvote.

Showing a photo of yourself is a good idea, as I said in the post. It will help. But there are no guarantees, of course.

Thanks for the information, this is very useful for beginners in steemit :)

You are welcome :)

Absolutely great article! I didn't know that the first tag is the most important, now it makes more sense. I am trying to familiarize myself with the platform first before writing anything, though i see people posting articles with ridiculous content... won't even go there! haha
Why is video important? I would rather read (old school) than watch videos (millennials) :)
followed you :)

Video is more authentic. Someone could easily edit some photo off of a random person's Facebook profile (catfishing). Video? Not so much.

ahhh i see :) ..we are talking about different things. I sometimes find posts with video only and not always am in the mood to watch, just need peace and quiet and a good article to read ;) if you get my point.
Other than that for introduce yourself I totally get it why video is a better proof!

shayne: thank you. This I think has been the easiest info I have heard since starting Steemit a few days ago. Being old and techtarded isn't easy. The majority of the groans I've heard is the difficulty in manoeuvring around. I've looked all over for a way to return. Just can't find it. Thanks again

If you are asking it's meaning= I don't have the knowledge of today's technology, I cannot understand the terms, short forms, crap, I even argue with spell check. Hope that answers your ? Billytwohearts

Thank you Shane!

Very good advice. thank you.

@shayne bienvenido al mundo steemit, upvote.

https://steemit.com/@cyclope

Are you trying to get flagged?

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $31.43 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Very informative! Thank you for sharing this. I know you have many followers already, and im one of them, hoping you could follow me as well.

Wow, your post is really an eye opener. I've been thinking for almost two months now on how to create a thrilling "introduce yourself post". You just opened up my mind to possibilities. God bless your heart. Watchout for me (@fessikay)on the Steemit community.

Drafting my introduction post, I was a little weary maybe I was allowing things to get too personal and drawn out. It is reassuring to read this post encouraging sharing personal experiences and remaining emotionally open and honest. Really awesome post, thank you so much for the help I really appreciate it.

Wow! This is really eye opening!
I wish I had done more research before I went full steam ahead and posted three whole essays.
I will use this as my guide though, and get a belated self-introduction posted soon.
Thank you very much for this 😊

This video has enough information and looks original. I may not do a video introduction of myself though, i think a picture would work for me

Today I created my steemit.com and I am glad that I found your post before I started to write my #introduceyourself.
I am really excited to become a part of the steemit Community.
Some points you mention will help me to make my #introduceyourself a bit more professional. Especially the point, that I don't have to be afraid to get personal is important for me!
Thanks a lot !

Awesome post, @shayne! I'm brand new here, made a post, then ran across this recommendation by you! About to do my Introduction post now! LOL I guess that will be the second post, instead of my first - Oops! Rookie mistake!

How and where does one introduce themselves here?

On your own wall, using the tips I outline here :)

I am new here if am to post news how do i add citation other stuff

Thank you Shayne for these important tips. I am in the process of preparing my intro so I will be able to do it better, having read your information.

Very Helpful. Im just writing my first post now after sitting on Steemit for a month. Glad I found this.

Great post! I will write my introduction post tomorrow and this helped me a lot. I wrote down your advice ><

This is very helpful. I'm glad I came across this.

Hey Shayne. I found this very helpful since I am also in the process of writing my intro. My favorite part is about authenticity. Great advice. Thanks

Thank you. I'm glad you got something out of it. :)

Thanks @shayne for the info! I almost just made a post to put my first one up. I am going to think a little more on how i want to do the introduction

Thank you Shayne. I am very new to all this and want to put some time and effort into this. I want to dive in but am nervous about starting it all. I will begin to get my introduction together and share with everyone very soon. I want to really have fun with it since I write a lot for myself but I would love to share it with everyone. Here's to the next step. Thank you again!!

Hello shayne, thanks for all the information you ve shared, im new steemer and im working in my first post to introduce myself.
Un saludo from Canary Islands!!

today is my first day in steem it.. and havent made any post yet. This is an enormous help . Thanks much shane. I am Rafael from Philippines. I will follow your tips :)

Thank u @shayne for the introduction post.
I have a better understanding now on how to go about my intro post. although like u said, im still trying to get followers so as to get my post noticed.
Thanks again.

This is Really Helpful @shayne. This is a Goldmine for us who are New here in Steemit. More Power to you! And Keep on Making Great Content!

Thank you! I am going to take time to write one now :)

Thank you for this! I was really having a hard time trying to think of what to write for my introductory post. Good thing I stumbled upon this and now I kinda know what to write about. :)

Awesome tips.Thanks for sharing ..!

Hey Shayne. I'm glad you wrote this. I was going to dive right in with my first post, but I didn't have any idea how to begin, so with the format you outlined above, I can start off on the right foot.

Thank you @shayne for posting this awesome guidance. it helps me a lot as beginner to prepare my content before posting it on steemit. i am pretty sure this article gives more benefits for more people about how to write based on their personality

Great post man! Really helpful.

         Thanks @shayne your post has been really helpful, as i am looking forward to writing my introduction post. Would really appreciate if i can also acknowledge you while writing mine and also making a reference to this post. My aim is to solely help minnows like myself out here who would come across my post and also to also serve as a guide in the steemit community....... Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for your amazing tips! Now I feel motivated to start writing :)

Peaceful parenting FTW! Thanks for the post @shayne I like your style :D

There are 2 pages
Pages