New to Steem!

in #introduceyourself5 years ago

Good day everyone! As the title says, I am new to Steem, and I am excited to be here and be engaging! And now a little (or a lot) about myself.

Who I Am

20190531_091014.jpg

My name is Victor though, online, I often go by the handle wwwiebe. My last name, Wiebe, is pronounced weeb and, hence, wwwiebe = World Wide Wiebe. It has been an ongoing joke since college, and one that has stuck. There are a few other folks out in the wide world that use the same handle here and there, but they are also Wiebe's, and so I welcome them.

I am a born and bred Canadian, though have ended up in the United States these past 20+ years. Despite that, I still think in metric, spell colour correctly with a U, and program 'aboot' into my phone's dictionary.

By day I am an IT Consultant, focussing on process improvements and automation. That is what pays the bills, but by night I'm 'dad' and a creative spirit with way, way too many ideas to conceivably ever be able to complete.

Photography

I am a photography buff. In addition to the camera on my phone (which is usually the best one I have, because it is usually the one I have with me) I have two additional Sony DSLR's and a number of raspberry pi's with camera attachments (including the IR camera). The "pi cameras" are fun because I enjoy to place them into retrofitted antique cameras, such as the one in this picture, and the result of the 'selfie'

20161015_204803.jpg

steampunkselfie.jpg

Game Design

I like to design games. I've made games for my children for Christmas the past three years, and have a few prototypes of other games ready. I have, in fact, started building a mobile game with a new partner in Unity - he is providing the assets, and I am providing the coding (and teaching myself Unity and C# in the process) (obligatory screenshot!)

Screenshot at May 31 11-36-27.png

I'm also working on a tabletop game inspired by trading card games and chess: Frogs of War.

Writing

I like to write, but for some reason don't get to do it as often as I would like. So many ideas. So many. I have ideas for comics, graphic novels, short stories, and even a sit com. I tried my hand at cartooning once and found that I enjoy it, though it's awfully time consuming. (kudo's if anyone can find the website I host/hosted this on).

32. The Unexplainable.png

Bicycling

I'm lucky enough to get to work from home. In my home office. In the basement. So to keep myself from turning into a wraith, I like to get outside when I can, and I often go for bike rides at lunch. This particular picture was not taking during one of those rides, but it is my bike and a neat abandoned building I found not far from here.

20160830_094153.jpg

General Nerdiness

I am a nerd at heart, and I am proud of it. As sung by Rush, "And the geek shall inherit the earthy" (maybe slightly paraphrased). I enjoy IoT gadgets, have a shelf full of arduino's, raspberry pi's (even an orange pi!) and too many sensors to count. I've had a photography idea for a community internet game but am now thinking it might be better suited for blockchain. I'm new to blockchain and crypto completely, so now I need to learn that, too. My 17 year old son and I have decided that for a summer project we're going to put together a solar-powered-raspberry-pi-cpu-crypto-miner as a way to introduce ourselves to the technology.

I'm always happy to chat, discuss, and even collaborate! I'm just one man standing in the way of way, way too many ideas. Happy to be here!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, wishing you success with us. Cryto Mining with a Raspberry Pi, I came across someone doing a similar adapting a Pi to SHA-254 Hive mining protocol via Litecoin cash wallet. A economical energy efficient and fair system that currently is a work in progress as far as the Raspberry is concerned.

That's awesome, thanks for the idea! I haven't decided on what coin to try to mine yet, so I'll definitely need to look that up. Thanks!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Hey, that's an awesome directory. Thanks for the pointer! I've already found a few interesting follows using it. Cheers!

Welcome @wwwiebe!

Hope you enjoy your time around here. Looks like you have lot to offer for the community.

If you're into photography here are plenty of communities and contest that run daily: @monochromes #monomad challenge, @photofeed, @photocontest, @photocircle.

You should visit them and see if you like some of them... They help you giving you some more visibility and you can grown faster.

Greetings from Mexico.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @neuerko, glad to meet you too! Thank you for the photography pointers. I've already come across @photocircle, but the others are new to me. I'll be she to check them out. Thanks again! Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for endorsing our project @neuerko :)

Welcome to steemit @wwwiebe.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

🚀 🌕

Moon your steem everyday ! Instant 75% Dividends payout after every game.WIN 344 STEEM every round with 0.001 STEEM. FREE Player Upvote worth $1.01 every 2.5hr moonSTEEM.com

Hi @tuanis, thanks for the welcome and the pointers! I'll be sure to check them out.

I got side tracked in finding the comics and I saw it on Tidwick :D Welcome to Steemit!

Saw you featured by @ocd.

Ah, you found it! That just made my day! :) Now I need to start updating it again!

Sounds like a plan 😁 I'll revisit the site and explore more later on

Welcome wwwiebe!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

That's awesome, thanks! I was looking for a mobile app for it, and it ended up coming to me!

Welcome, looking forward to following your journey here on STEEM.

Welcome, looking forward to following your journey here on STEEM.

Thanks! Looking at your profile it looks like we have some similar likes. As I get one of my projects off the ground I may very well be in touch!

No problem. STEEM has many great communities. Check out @SteemSavvy and their steemsavvy.com website with learning videos to help with learning how to engage on STEEM.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay fellow Canadian....although a traitor hahaha I kid, I kid :D

Welcome to Steemit!

Nerd....I just read an interesting article on BuzzFeed (lol) last night. About the term of nerd and geek. Today's kids and future all are and will be nerd and geeks as technology advance more and more, which is a good thing, thus the term nerd and geek, will always be associated with positive thing (or something like that, I cant remember the whole article lol)

Hope you like it here on Steemit :)

I'm proud to be a geek. It keeps me and my family fed. :)

aaah! didnt mean anything bad :D just that i remembered the article i just read last night :D

Loading...

Welcome to Steem wwwiebe! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @macchiata.

Thank you! Those sweets really do look tasty.

What a great introduction! I hope you enjoy your time blogging here while earning a little crypto! Be sure to let us know if you have questions!

Thanks @thekittygirl! I appreciate that!

Welcome to steem and also, would love to see a tutorial on solar powered raspberry-pi- cpu crypto-miner soon!

I will absolutely write that tutorial! School is finished next week, so hopefully by the middle of the month we'll be working on it!

I am a nerd at heart too and love biking. Welcome.

Thank you!

Hello wwwiebe, welcome to Partiko, an amazing community for crypto lovers! Here, you will find cool people to connect with, and interesting articles to read!

You can also earn Partiko Points by engaging with people and bringing new people in. And you can convert them into crypto! How cool is that!

Hopefully you will have a lot of fun using Partiko! And never hesitate to reach out to me when you have questions!

Cheers,
crypto.talk
Creator of Partiko

Thanks! I'm happy to have the app now. Was able to get logged in and I'm good to go!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome wwwiebe,
We already met but I wanted to sent you my welcome message which I do every day for all our new friends, so here goes; welcome wiener herzlich willkommen
to the Steemit platform, Yes its happening you are a steemian now. This is the moment to warm welcoming you as a new user. And you receive this message because you used the #introduceyourself tag!

I was welcomed with good advice too when I started so here i am. I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming right now but don't worry. After a few blog you will be the best blogger and contributor.
If you have any questions just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have!
I may know the answer. But very important I recommend you to never give up any off your passwords they are yours ! Please for safety tips read and visit the white paper.
To easy post use Partiko and to control your account use Steemify.
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and its Free.
It gives you insight on what is happening in your account.
Maybe great to join Steemterminal in Discord and visit @heyhaveyamet to See more newcomers onboard.
Here is what we do :
https://steemit.com/heyhaveyamet/@heyhaveyamet/meet-the-hhym-and-the-steem-terminal-crew-part-one-hhym
Good Luck, Have fun and I wish you loads of success on here! :)
GREETZ from Holland
Britt

Hi @brittandjosie! Thanks for the warm welcome! There certainly is a lot of information to be had, and I'm slowly plugging through it all; during the work day no less!

Very glad to meet you. :)

And please you know where we ate if there are questions !

Welcome to steem, use @partiko

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! You have taken the first step in achieving many goals here at the crossroads of cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and social media. Consistent engagement is needed to progress and grow your following and influence. I am currently working on a weekly post to curate new users and providing them an introduction to the ecosystem. I have selected your post as one I will feature in an upcoming post! In addition, I have published a post that provides great references to assist you in your journey. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or feedback!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.
You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Dear @wwwiebe,

Welcome to the community! You made an awesome start here, I like your intro and so you have my support. Please keep sharing great contents that you feel passionate about.


As part of our on-boarding & welcoming initiative, we have curated your intro post. In addition, we will also feature your post to one of our daily curation post to introduce you to the Photocircle community.

Cheers!
@photocircle


PC comment footer 02.png

Learn about this new photo curation project by clicking >here<


Alternatively, you may also check on the latest article about our on-boarding initiative by clicking >here <

That's awesome, @photocircle, thank you very much! I have a number of photo's that I'm really looking forward to share to get feedback. Cheers!

Sounds great :) Make sure to use #photocircle tag. See you around.

Hello Victor, welcome to Steem! :-)

Hi @gtg, nice to meet you too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Greetings @wwwiebe

Welcome to Steemit

Greetings from Venezuela

Hi @tramelibre, thank you! Nice to meet you too!

Hello @wwwiebe

Welcome to Steemit & Wish you luck - success with Steemit!

Currently, We're supporting for the Planktons by our small upvote. If you follow @haccolong you will get free upvote of @hoaithu's Curation trail & minimum 1 follow from me. You may like it, Check statement here.

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Please ignore this reply if you do not need the above.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome, I'm also new here.

Congratulations @wwwiebe!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 1 with 46 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

Hi @arcange, thanks for the nice words and pointer! Looking forward to chatting with everyone.

You're welcome @wwwiebe

BTW, feel free to vote for me as a witness if you like my work at promoting newcomers

welcome to steemit community!

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #337!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :) Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

We strive for transparency!

Hi @ocd, thanks for the note! There's certainly a lot of information to be had, and some great curation of information! I've already followed and will start browsing through to find some great new people. Thanks again!

I look forward to your game designs

Thanks @iizy! They're exciting things to work on, for sure.

Awesome to have you aboard! I'm hoping you do a breakdown post of your raspberry pi cameras! Following!

Thanks @joshman! I'll be sure to get info on at least one of them soon!

you are wrlcome

Posted using Partiko Android

you are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

Heya @wwwiebe Welcome here dear... Glad to see you here.... Hope just like your #introduceyourself post your every post gets on top and you achieve your goal using steemit... Do view my profile and follow me to get one of the amazing valueable blogs on steemit!!!! Thanks=)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @drakoscliff, and thank you! Nice to meet you too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

you are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android

welcome to Steem dear @wwwiebe !

I really liked your intro post :))

Sounds like you'll love this place !

Let's go for a post about your Raspberry Miner ! Would be super interested !

See you soon !

@anttn

you are welcome!

Posted using Partiko Android