Crazy Times in the Bug Bunker

in #lifelast year (edited)

Its been over 4 years since my sprouting family fled the city in search of a better life. Looking back now I never thought it’d take this long to get settled. Of course I expected the world to go a bit wonky with plenty of disaster scenarios planned for, but I never saw the pandemic coming and boy – what a doozy these last few years have been!


bugbunker.jpg
Source

Initially we hid out in the Woodhill Mountain where I penned The Bug Has Landed and it was a truly beautiful spot where we were happy for a while. The bushfires came through in late 2019 and we evacuated twice, but that was nothing compared to the pandemic that rolled on in just a couple of months into 2020. Initially I thought it was a great spot to isolate, amongst the birds and wildlife – that first lockdown was a bit scary but relatively pleasant. If society had collapsed then and there then I think we would have been OK. But it didn’t and sure enough our landlords were selling the place from under us and plenty of other city folk were now trying to get outta dodge so we jumped off Woodhill Mountain before we were pushed as I didn’t like the prospect of being left homeless in the middle of a raging pandemic….so we landed back in suburbia in the little town just down the road for a while.

mountain.jpg

Then the second big lockdown hit and we were screwed - unable to participate in society for about 5 months. I hit a personal low when I ranted about Living Under Apartheid in Australia and when our 2nd landlord decided to sell the house from under us (after promising he wouldn’t) I was ready to leave the country entirely and I thought the universe was giving me a shove.

entry.png

Sanity prevailed and once again our little Bug family fled to a nearby rural area and we were Bugged Out Again in early 2022 just as it seemed we might be past peak crazy times, but I wasn’t taking any more chances. Our plan was always to build a permanent home in the area and 2022 was the year that construction finally (kinda) kicked off. With covid, supply chain issues and then La Nina (where it rained for several months) it was pretty slow going at first, but we are finally reaching the light at the end of the tunnel - over 5 months overdue. This week we got the key to our new house and with a few important things still to get sorted (like floors) we are now only days away from our final move-in to what is probably going to be the hill-to-die-on...for me at least.


So I might be a little bit hard to get hold of this week, but I’ve grown accustomed to juggling a few balls in the air at once so while I’m going to be busy I think I can handle the home stretch (pun intended). I might be a little bit slow to respond on Discord, but I’m not really going anywhere far. Not only am I looking forward to my new life in our forever home, but with some time and mental energy freed up I should be back into the HIVE scene proper and able to get involved in some fun projects. It could be a really good time to get back into things as this bear market in crypto looks like it’s running out of legs...

Here's cheers to good times ahead!

Sort:  

Still waiting for the housewarming invite mate.......

I do need to get in there first.

Bears on life support. Hope you enjoy the new place. :)

Drop Bears? Haven't poked my nose in there for a while. Probably overdue for a check in. Thanks @holoz0r

I meant the bear market, not an individual :D

What an adventure. Country Australia is truly beautiful and I can't wait to get back there after living abroad this year.

Indeed. I don't think I could ever go back to city life.

You juggle balls? ;)

Cheers brother, glad you can finally see the light. Now to get that victory garden in, oh and secure the property line, and don't forget the defensive driveway...

ok ok I'll stop, for real my man, congrats and good luck with it. I suspect you won't post many pictures but I'm sure it is just lovely and your fam will be better for it.

Thanks mate. A victory garden is definitely on the cards. Not sure about the other stuff since we're back in suburbia. I don't even know what a defensive driveway is...

👊 i applaud u, I have that same wanting of 'bugging out', but permanently.. live in a way that doesn't rely on the grid of any of it. Right now I am waiting for kids to finish school and my mom is now living with us and can no longer be on her own..

Congrats on getting your house done and we'll hold down hive for u for as long as u take to get settled.. 😎

Covid lockdown made me decide to now just buy the 2nd house and stop looking at my savings each week. Just enjoy while you can. Good to see you "survived" as well!
We have family in Australia as well and from model citizens they turned into government hating people.

Instead of bugging out, this time you’re bugged in… into your new home! Yay for a new house that is all your own. Congrats!

Sounds like one hell of an experience the last few years. It seems to have all been a test of your stick-to-ittiveness. Good on you and your fam for making a place of your own and getting away from the rat race.

Yeah, @buggedout, I hear ya. When it's time to get out of Dodge...
Dodge Stagecoach.jpgDodge Quarter.jpg
Cool Structure.

What an adventurous life and I really love the photos, especially the bug bunker which seems to be created with lots of love and care! I have never gone outside my country but if I get fortunate enough, I will surely visit Australia and if possible, this cute bunker for once at least. Great writing!

When a person sees the natural scenery, he forgets the tension of his world and enjoys a lot and you have made a very good place for your home. It will be fine. Even here in Pakistan, when corona come, there were more people in these places, people had left their homes and shifted to other places. I myself love to live in such places and one day I will definitely shift to such places. Many many congratulations to your new home.

this is looking awesome that place is amazing to live there, hope you enjoyed it l. I warmly congrats for your new house pretty good architecture design looks cool. 😎
have a great journey of life😇

Congratulations on the new home👍

Glad to hear your house is at least started! And floors are important! Never trust landlords to do what's right for them it's all about the money!
!lol

When is a door not a door?
When it's a jar

Credit: reddit
@buggedout, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @thebighigg

(2/8)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

Going to the mountains is a different kind of adventure and you have made your home in the mountains, congratulations to you on your new home and I sincerely hope you enjoy it a lot to live here. I am already imagining how wonderful your day will be when you wake up in the morning and see this scene of natural beauty.

What a weird and unsettling few years for many people, glad to hear that you finally have your forever home soon

Wow this place is beautiful and so green , I'm sure you are enjoying your stay over there.

I hope you enjoy the new place that you live in.
Your username is buggedout
Is the story the reason why you named yourself buggedout?

You are lucky that you going to have your forever home. I'm waiting for my own too and working on that by saving money. You are living in a wonderful place, these pictures are telling all about it. I love to live in a place where there I can connect with nature like I wish to have trees, plants, bees, butterflies surrounded me.

I can understand that you are going through a busiest time but when you’ll be done, you can relax. I wish you may live happily at your forever sweet home! Its a dream of many people, count me one of them. 😊🐝

Enjoy your new home !!! Wishing the best

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.

The lockdown period was hectic and if you could find a place where you can live close to nature. that would be awesome.

that's pretty emotional. thanks for sharing this. being isolated might feel like safety, but having some kind of social circle outside our family where we can trade positivity adds relief to what does otherwise seem like 'us vs them'. I hope you become as healthy as you can be. kind regards

Indeed! It is cheers to the good times ahead. You've no doubt put in a lot of work in the scheme of things . It's time to work smart now with Hive !

It's obvious to me, you're a Survivor...