Down Memory Lane #2: Remembering The Old Times - Music

in #life7 years ago (edited)

11111.jpg

Do you ever listen to the golden oldies of the late 50’s to70’s? I do, while driving, cleaning, or just when I want to reminisce about my teen days. During these times, I have fun singing along and remembering the old happy memories associated with them.

Do you still remember those old single 45 records we played on a record player? What songs do you remember? Some of my favorites were Alley-Oop, Dead man’s Curve, Do You Want To Know a Secret, Easier Said Than Done, He’s a Rebel, It’s My Party, Leader of the Pack, Splish Splash, Sukiyaki, Surfer Girl, Shoop Shoop Song, & Unchained Melody. I probably could list dozens of pages but I won't torture you! :D

P7100118.jpg

I still have my old 45 single records and my album collection. They just keep getting older, collecting dust and taking up room but they still remain very special to me. Maybe one day I can take pictures, frame a few records and then let the rest go.

100129.jpg

Do you recognize any of these songs or albums?

100128.jpg

So if you never have listened to some of these oldie songs, you should give it a try. These songs were fun, less stressful and carefree. It was the depiction of those old days when everything seemed less structured and happy. Thank-you for sharing my memories of the “Golden Oldies”!

My next Down Memory Lane post will be a continuation of the oldies music genre with emphasis on the British Music Invasion in the early 1960’s and the American singers & groups of the late 50’s and 60’s. Hope you return to share more memories with me.

Again, this is a shout out to all the old timers and the young people who have an old soul at heart.

Thank-you for reading my post. It is much appreciated! If you would like to follow me, please check HERE. Also please support the #oldtimers tag :D

All pictures were taken by me.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cabbagepatch from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great article! I was not born in that time, but I do still love oldies music! A lot of the songs were so much fun and had a very catch beat to it! My favorite singer of the time was Lesley Gore, but like you, I could probably list off dozens more! Can't wait for your next article!

That's the beauty of the golden oldies. It appeals to all ages and these songs are very timeless. I should give you all of my records! lol!!! Thank-you for commenting and voting. I love Lesley Gore too!

Ohh yes I remember all the ines you mentioned and had my own collection
Had being the key word lost them all in a move years ago

I remember when young and hearing my parents listening to the golden oldies thinking that will never be me

Seems it's been many years now I have been listening to the golden oldies lol

Resteemed

Thank-you @tattoodjay for reading my post. I'm sorry you lost all of your record collection. But at least you have the good memories of days past. I laugh when you said that your parents use to listen to the golden oldies and you thinking you never would. You can't help but love those old songs! You have been converted by nostalgia. Thank-you so much for the resteem. It is very much appreciated. Please have a great week and enjoy life! ...... Cabbagepatch :D

Well its a mix of nostalgia and a mix of the music I grew up with is now classified as a golden Oldie LOL

Oh what a treasure you have!! Many of those songs were among my favorites, too :D I still have a few of the 45 adapters somewhere. Oh how I wish I would have held onto my record collection. You need a juke box and fill it with all those oldies :D Then you could have a sock hop LOL.

Thanks SO much for the trip down memory lane. I absolutely love it and am looking forward to the next edition!

If I find an old juke box, will you come to my sock hop? Weren't they fun days? I remember we would have school dances with big glitter letters spelling out the theme of the dance. Boys would be on one side and girls would be on the other. And I remember we wore dresses with petticoats underneath. Wouldn't it be fun if we could go back and spend time in those days? We would have a blast!!!!! Thank-you @tamaralovelace for your support, friendship and shared memories. Have a great week ahead!...... Cabbagepatch :D

Just the other day we were listening to these golden oldies on the tubes. We still have our record player and plenty of singles and albums too.
The weird thing is that now the kids are buying record players and records again instead of downloads.
There is something about holding vinyl in your hand that digital just cannot match.

You are so right @molometer. I think that when something is so good, it will last forever. I actually bought another record player just to hear the old songs and to watch the record turn around and around. It was fun and totally enjoyable. Now all I need is a dance party! Thank-you so much for your support. It is really appreciated! :)

Partay! lol get it on. The thing about records in many cases were the covers especially the albums. Some are works of art.

This brought me right back to memories of my childhood. My mom and dad had a huge console record player and we would play lots of oldies from the 50's and 60's. She also had a radio constantly playing in the background during summer vacation. Elvis, Jerry Lee Lewis, Clarence "Frogman" Henry, Dean Martin, the Beatles, all great music. Thank you @cabbagepatch!

Eric, you always bring a smile to my face. I am touched that you checked out my post. I am not very consistent with keeping up with my journeys because I think I spend more time commenting on the people I really appreciate. But I am honored that you commented because I know how busy you are. It is so ironic because when you said that your mom and dad had a huge console record player, we did too! In fact, I remember how we could stack a few album size records and the console player would drop each album when the previous one was done. I loved Christmas music so I would pile the Christmas albums on the spindle/holder and then Christmas music would play for a long time. I drove my family nuts! Thank-you for sharing some of your family memories. It always warms my heart. Thank-you so much for everything! :D

I also like old songs like this.
There were songs that you did not know in the songs that you introduced.
Listening to those songs was a wonderful experience.
Thank you for sharing.

Kinakomochi, you are probably too young but did you ever hear the song, "Sukiyaki" by Kyu Sakamoto? That was one of my most favorite songs when I was young. I still have his original 45 record. I love the golden oldies! Thank-you so much for supporting me and reading my post. I am so thankful!

Of course!
I also like Kyu Sakamoto.
He has a wonderful song besides "Sukiyaki".

I'm an oldies music fan that was "Born Too Late". My motto for music is-"Born in 62 but loving music from 61". I remember the K-Tel record commercials that would play clips from some of those songs. There was nothing in the 70's for me that sounded like those 50's and early 60's songs!.