30 Days Of Discipline - Day 2

in #life6 years ago

meditation.jpg

Yesterday was day two of 30 Days Of Discipline and it was a little easier than day one. Though I have still not found time for Wim Hoff's method, I shall try and fit that in today.

The Rules

Before we go further it is probably best to explain what the rules of the 30 Days are.

  • 30 Days Discipline must be practised at least 6 days a week (Sundays off).

  • Each day you must complete 100 pushups, 100 situps (choose variation), and 100 squats.

  • The exercises can be completed in however many sets of however many reps you want, e.g. 10 sets of 10 reps each. However whatever rep number you start on, you must add one per day to those reps.

  • Daily meditation, for as long as you like however you have to add one minute per day to the routine. Take this up to a practical level and then stop, so meditating for more than 30 minutes may not suit daily routine.

  • Cold showers/baths, the water can be tepid/lukewarm, however there must be one instance of cold, cold, cold!

  • No snacking.

  • No carbs before 6 p.m. protein only.

  • Carry a notepad around and write down ideas that come to mind.

  • Keep a rigorous todo list.

Day Two

Things that I found hard today were the various exercises. This has surprised me somewhat because I am very physically fit. However I've been doing a lot of short burst high intensity fitness for about the last eight months or so. Therefore this probably explains why I've been finding the exercises tough.

Reps

I started on twenty reps of everything, so 20 pushups, 20 situps and 20 squats. Yesterday I did 21, meaning that my last set was only 16 reps.

Today it's 22. When I first did 30 Days four years ago, I started out on 10 reps. As I could just about do 10 pushups.

By the end of the 30 days I could do 40 pushups in a row. So this time around I'm aiming for being able to do 50 pushups in a row.

No Daytime Carbs

Phew! This is a toughie. Carbs are usually between 40-55% of a healthy diet, especially if like me you go to the gym and lift weights as they help you build muscle.

There is a lot of BS written about carbohydrates, but one thing is for sure, they make you feel sleepy. Hence one of the 30 Day rules is to avoid them before 6 p.m.. Once that has passed, knock yourself out! Literally!

Cold Shower

This is another great excuse for me to go to the gym because I don't have a shower at home. Back in '14 when I first did the 30 Days, I was having tepid baths, then dumping a cold bucket of water on my head to rinse off. Ironically enough the ice bucket challenge was in full swing at the time.

A shower is better, because you can start it off tepid and just notch it down little by little during your wash. Then by the end you whack it on full cold and just let it freeze you for 10-20 seconds.

Yesterday I managed about 30 seconds just standing there under the full cold, it felt nice. However just like when I first did it, the weather in England is on the turn. So I'm not looking forward to the last few days when it'll probably be pretty damn cold outside.

Notepad Todo List & Wim Hoff

I unfortunately haven't done any of these things and so am starting tomorrow on them. I'm not beating myself up about it, I just know that at the end of the 30 Days I will carry these on for at least a few days extra.

Really though, keeping an ideas pad and a todo list are good life habits and so I'm just looking to reintroduce them into my daily routine.

Good Habits Die Hard

The whole point of this is to fix habits into your lifestyle. After around 21 days (23 was my sweet spot) anything you've been doing will just become automatic.

Plus it is a way of telling your subconscious mind that you don't mind doing difficult things. Which in turn makes it easy to form new habits.

Bonus. No Smoking!

If you follow me then you might remember that I've given up smoking. Or rather I've become a nonsmoker.

However, I have let slip somewhat in the last 6 weeks or so. Not back to smoking every day, but definitely on most weekends, on holiday and during the recent Notting Hill Carnival.

Therefore this is the perfect time to reclaim my nonsmoking status! I have definitely found it easier this time, I had a smoke a few days ago and I've had a couple of mild cravings since.

I am now at the 72 hour mark, or at least will be by around middnight tonight. Ergo all nicotine will have been banished from my system. Woohoo!

WHAT CHALLENGES HAVE YOU SET FOR YOURSELF LATELY? DO YOU SEE YOURSELF DOING SOMETHING LIKE 30 DAYS OF DISCIPLINE? OR PERHAPS YOU HAVE LONG AGO FOUND THE SECRET TO LIVING A DISCIPLINED LIFESTYLE?

AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Title image: Thao Le Hoang on Unsplash

Cryptogee

Sort:  

Well, this style would never work for me. Just protein is a killer and 100 of anything even 5 at a time is way too much. Love to see how you do though. As for me, I will start my own 30 day program with you. For food I will have no junk food at all and less fat. I tend to eat chips and icecream now and then otherwise my food is organic and healthy. I also have a weakness for butter so will remove that. I will do a morning QiGong followed with an afternoon of 30min of exercise for 6 days. Otherwise I am on my feet all day canning and doing garden work. Much good luck to you, and me lol

Loading...

I don't really have an exercise routine or diet right now, although I admit it's necessary for our health and well-being. Here in Venezuela it's complicated to eat a diet, but it's expensive, but with effort if you can. "I start on Monday" hahahaha, that's how I always say and I don't do it....Good luck with your discipline, I'm sure you'll make it.

You don't need a diet, going on a diet implies that you will come off it at some point. It is about a gradual lifestyle change mixed with exercise. Though I hear you when you talk about economics, I feel for you guys with the corrupt government you have at the moment. :-(

Cg

That's right, I hope we get out of this difficult situation soon.

That's right, I hope we
Get out of this difficult
Situation soon.

                 - luces


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I wanna bring more structure in my life again when my little one starts Kindergarten in a few days. A workout routine, study routine, more walks with my dog, take time for myself, more art in my life... sounds like a lot but is actually not and should be for sure doable if there is not a little cute but clingy toddler around. So maybe to make a 30 day schedule is actually a good idea. Thank you for being an inspiration! 😀

Yeah man you can do it! My little one was 3 years old when I first did this. The secret is to just start with small manageable rep sets just beyond your comfort zone. Then utilise incremental change to increase them till you're at your maximum.

For me, waking up early is the key, in fact that is one of the disciplines which I forgot :-)

Good luck, you can do it!

Cg

I am actually looking forward for this start.
Waking up early would be the hardest for me. 😂

Do it incrementally, set your alarm for 15 minutes earlier each day until you hit 5 a.m. As well as going to bed earlier by the same amount.

With sleep everyone is different, however I used to sleep for 8 hours and still feel tired when I woke. Now I sleep for 6 hours and feel really fresh less than 10 minutes after being awake.

Cg

Not sure where this is supposed to get you. Seems like a pretty arbitrary mix of whatever looked good. But on the other hand, why not...

It is about extending the envelope of your comfort zone, by pushing yourself to do things that are hard you show your subconscious mind that they are not actually that hard at all.

It also helps with positive habit forming.

Cg