7 months ago STEEM was 10 cents and it was going to hell :)

in #life7 years ago

7 months ago STEEM was 10 cents.

It was around the time of the experiment (where two whales decided to countervote other whale votes) resulting in more power to the minnows.

The sentiment was very low and Steemit was going to hell. I remember it very well.

I wrote this in a blog post I made around that time:

Call me crazy if you want but I just powered up 10000+ STEEM. I thought about it for a while but with Steempower being so much more valuable right now it's absolutely worth it source.

I dropped another 1000 dollar into STEEM.

That STEEM is worth $10000 today. And who knows, maybe even more in the future.


Snapseed.jpg


Today we face a problem that the Steemit.com website is not 100% functioning.

We don't know the reason. But some upvotes don't go through and posts disappear.

Something isn't right that is clear.

I just want to make clear that this has nothing to do with the STEEM blockchain which is functioning fine. It has to do with the frontend which is Steemit.com.

Busy.org proves that the blockchain works fine because it's smooth and responsive and all the data is there!

A non-functioning blockchain is the only reason for concern for me and that is not the case. So I am not worried.

This will be fixed and then it's just another episode in the history of this platform.

For me, as a Steemian this platform requires a certain flexibility. The technology is new and it's beta after all.

Another fun quote from that posts 7 months ago is this:

I have been manually curating and upvoting comments a lot more than in the past. My voting power has increased 8 times since the experiment began! From a 1-cent vote to an 8-cent vote. It’s incredible. 8x TIMES!

I had around 45K steempower at the time! (you could vote 40x times a day @ 100%). And I was over the moon with 8 cents!

How times have changed.


I'm more bullish on Steem and the Steem blockchain today than back then because it's becoming more and more clear to me where this Blockchain is going.

It's going far beyond steemit.com.

Years from now, steemit.com, will just be another frontend to enter the Steem blockchain amongst many. Or maybe it will not even be used anymore because someone created a much better website. Who knows?

With SMT's the value of the Blockchain will reach new heights. I think it will add tremendous value to the chain.

Every day I think about the future the Steem blockchain. And it's a lot of fun for me.

I have tremendous respect for the people that come up with all these new ideas and build them.

7 months ago STEEM was 10 cents. Today it's $1.00. Where will it be in 7 months :)

Good night Steemit.



Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

I think smt is a big diversion. Communities would have been my better. I can't even use steem anymore it's so cluttered with nonsense. They should have gotten system right before foolish. With smt. The lure of ethereum captured everyone with a blockchain I guess.

this!!! SMT's are a bad joke imho...I hate to say it, but communities sounds like a WAY better direction.

I'm cautiously optimistic with the SMTs because of the potential issues that might arise if the SEC decides these tokens are securities.

As for the value of the Steem token itself, I'm betting it goes up over the next 1-2 years as Youtube's rampant demonetization sends hoards of Youtubers to services like Dtube on Steemit.

Technology really moves fast, just imagine voting 40 times @ 100% voting power... Cooool, well I just want the steemit.com to function 100%....

Just to clarify a 100% vote back then was 4x less powerful. (So an 8 cents vote back then is a 32 cents vote today)

Oh.... I understand now.... Thanks for the clarification 👌

i upvote and Reply for you and thank for the Upvote and Reply you too for me , followed right back @hadebrahim

fantastic post and awesome words my friend, no doubt steemit has a lot brighter future because the developments are keep coming in and more and more reputable peoples begun to join steemit, i am sure we will see at least 2$ steem very soon, i also believe that history repeats itself and the way steem moved from 07 cent to 1$ i am sure the steem coin continues it's bullish rally and buying and hodl the coin right now is no doubt a wise decision, you also talk about the frontend not working, i like to say that there is always a room of improvement in every technology and i hope the way steemit team working they will soon resolve these flaws, have a fantastic week ahead my friend and thanks for sharing.

Thanks for the fine post. It's great for newbies / minnows such as myself to hear some history and get some perspective on this whole Steemit venture.

I too have been experiencing some issues, primarily when I click "post." Some times, the posts simply fails to upload. Interestingly, if I duplicate that same tab, I get a fresh "Post" tab, and if I click that one, it instantly uploads.

As ever, there are bumps and obstacles to overcome. But even though I've just started out here, it looks like it will be a quite an adventure.

Full Steem Ahead.

@exyle i think you could give me answer for this that how a single website but having two domains ? data all the same ? is it really possible ? i mean steemit and busy.org having same data but diff domains ? how ?

Sure np. You need to separate the Steem blockchain from the frontend. A frontend is just a way to display the information that is stored in the blockchain. Steemit.com is a frontend. Busy.org is another frontend to access the same blockchain. Hence they display the same content.

Great post! Question for you... I've always used Steemit.com, should I switch to busy.org, or do you use both? Thx!

I use a bit of everything at the moment, whatever is running.
Esteem app
Steemit.com
Busy.org

They all havr their charges, but hey whatever one is working right!

Thanks... I need to check out busy.org

You should. Its not rocketscience, just some little differences, but atleast it keeps the balls rollin'!

All I have to use is my iPad...very old one. So I can't be adding apps and stuff. So for me, I am mostly limited to the steemit platform.

busy.org also works on a normal webbrowser.
i have them opened next to each other even, for when one is slower than the other one

I use both.

@exyle If I do the math correctly STEEMIT was .10, 7 months ago, it's $1.00 now so in 7 months it should be $10.00 ?? If I am wrong in my calculations Blame it on @jerrybanfield. It will be his fault if we don't get to $10.00

My dad blames jerrybainfield for all of steemit's problems.......
So. ?

@abookworm You could be right about that Banfield fellow.........

lol! That would be nice. But I don't think that's how it works :). I'll be happy with $2.00 in 7 months.

i upvote and Reply for you and thank for the Upvote and Reply you too for me , followed right back @hadebrahim

As bullish as ever for the Steem Blockchain!

It's a bit of a downer that the flagship site is having trouble, but as you say, this should all be over soon and we will get to hear about all the good stuff that's in the pipeline at Steemfest - 2 weeks to go!

Cheers, and goodnight :)

I've been taking advantage of this dip by buying STEEM here and there as it dips below 18000 sats.

Nice work man!

I hope that steemit gets it's act together soon or another front end which is much more polished takes the limelight because the user experience on steemit is poor right not and it's starting to feel less enjoyable by the day.

Steemit is the future and will surely become one of the top 3 crypto coins. System flaws will always be there i really hope steemit put enough and skill developers so that issues are resolved quickly.

I am also putting heart to this platform, thanks to positive people like you, we will be more each day that we join the crypto-coins and steemit arrived to stay. Greetings from Venezuela. excuse the English I use the translator

I remember those times too 7 months ago. There was much FUD on the steemit platform and many were cashing out while others bought more steem. Faith has paid off it seems. Steemit has definitely gone though some tough times and yet survived. So much has happened and so much is happening. The future looks bright when you consider that Steemit is actually still only at the beginning. People forget that Facebook took 7 years before it was in profit.

What a big difference in those 7 months on Steemit. I wish I knew about it then and bought Steem then. I try to buy as much as I can right now because I think it's still low and good time to buy it.
At first, I thought it was my slow network, but then I figure out it was Steemit, and it can get frustrated a bit, but I know Steemit is working on it, since it iis always improving and so many people try to make this community better and I am very grateful for all these amazing Steemers who put all their time and work into it, to make it easier and better for everyone. Love it. Thanks for sharing your 7 months experience on Steemit.

7 months ago STEEM was 10 cents.

Really? Yow! I joined six and a half months ago. Guess I wasn't paying close attention, but I could have sworn it was more like 60 or 70 cents then.

Oh well, a few years from now when Steem's price is on the front page of every newspaper that still exists, we can all remember the good old days.

I found this picture in the post from around that time.

think around 10-12 cents.

So interesting to find out more about the history of this platform. And I am glad that I found out about busy.org before things got wonky. Good for you that you acted at the right time. Congrats.

I am equally sure about the success of this platform, Exyle. It reinforces the hope listening such stuff from people like you who have actually faced it all. Thanks man.

Do you think it would be smart for me to drop 10k on Steem? I can see it going to 20$ in 366 days 43min and 22 sec from now any thoughts?

I would advise to buy in gradually, so you have a nice buy in average if you want to invest. That's how I always did it. I think 10K in one go is a lot of money (for me it is atleast).

Cheers to your health.

I am new in this steemit world my friend.And I found interesting that steem rate is growing day by day and those who have invested earlier had earned a good profit.I am glad to know that you have also earned a great amount.Thanks for sharing with us.nice post

Thank you for this re-assurance that steem is fine because this steemit.com problem was making me think that steem is coming down.

Wow you made a good decision today you have something and in 7 months imagine if Steem grow more will be a person with goodluck and inteligence

Yes the steemit is not 100% functioning ,i my self i don't know why but there have been alternative where you can login to do your normal stuff on steemit like busy.org and the latest one is the one posted by @surpassinggoogle called steemitstage.com this two can help you login your account and i bet you your passward is safe

Can't wait to see what happens in 7 months :)

I am sure wishing the fix would work, I have had issues just even doing my blog or responding to others and the upvote is just flat crazy and takes 5 times trying to just upvote someone!

That was definitely one of the smartest moves ever!

I think the bad running of steemit.com site is due to the changes that will be implemented in the new few months. I heard that there will be changes in the UI of the site. If its true, then we might have an idea what will in the next 7 months.

haha cheers! :)🍻

i am thinking as well to invest NOW in steem when is still 1 dollar. I give it a couple of more weeks to see how I feel about it though.
This is how the smart people do, right? Nobody got rich from working in "the real world", in the system 8 hours a day. There is always another way.

Cheers to you! :)

@exyle,
According to my viewpoint SMT is the future! And as you said 7 months ago it was at $0.1 and now $1, if I am not mistaken, with SMT STEEM can be at $10 in next 7 months! Who knows, but STEEM Block Chain has diversification rather than other chains! So, this is the future!
Have a great day ahead!

Cheers~

Thanks for your perspective. Hard to believe Steem price was so low only seven months ago! I joined in June, so I bought in when it was quite a bit higher than it is now.

I am on you with that man, In the past couple of days been buying 400-500 steem a day. Steem is even more valuable now more than ever as you say and if funds are available, I will keep buying with these low prices.

Interesting post! For me it highlights the value of patience and seeing the long term when it comes to investments in crypto. I'm new to Steemit, and the site seems like it still has a ways to go before it's perfect, but it is a great idea and this put into perspective how much growth the platform has already seen in such a short time. Thanks!

  • what's the best way to connect to you? I'd love to interview you for a podcast

https://steemit.chat/ I'm on there from time to time.

wrote a message there

I like how you are able to break down the material into crypto-noob bitesizes.
If you look at these developments, steem is going towards of happy days.
I have faith in the blockchain, but dont have faith in a lot of people patience ;)

Thank you.

I only can say that it's future is very bright.

yes chin up! I believe in Steemit, and I'm sure the site will be up and running full speed soon!

yes,many change in steemit for the technology...and technology is growing up day by day...Keep calm and keep blogging..

If you look at why steem is a very low price it is because they want to make the blockchain that they are mining currently out of reach of all other cryptocurrency miners. Seeing how other currencies have much higher value is no detriment to steem as they want to keep other players out before they release their tokens onto the marketplace. By keeping a low profile they are able to mine their blockchain exclusively as it costs too much for other people to mine and the value just isn't there for them. Steem is a couple years out but will hopefully be worth the wait.

I'm sure that Steem will be X20 more next year) Let's wait and see😉😉😉

You are right, I am super excited knowing and being part of steemit now

That a lot of improvement since 7 months ago. It means that steem would go 10 usd after another 7 months. That was

More increase. @exyle. I wasnt there then. Nice to hear this from people like you. Encouraging

@praise-eu

In just 7 months we have a 500% increase, it's great start gleaning steem friends

Ok ... 10 months ago Steem was at 0.10 and today 1.00, it is a growth. But back to our time the benchmark is another and the acceptable price of Steem was today to be at least $ 5.00. No, I'm not satisfied with this price of $ 1.00, I feel like we're "falling behind" in the market.

Great post!
I remember when I first joined last November it was 12 cents!
Steem On :)

Interesting showing Steem's growth. Wow, I had already forgotten that we could vote 40 times a day.

As excited as I am for SMTs (and believe me, I am and am involved in a couple of projects poised to jump on that opportunity), they really need to fix their front-end first. I don't have an issue with switching to Busy, but what about the multitude of users that have no clue Busy exists?

It wouldn't take much time or effort to take a week off from SMTs to focus on the UI and fixing the front-end to at least make it usable.

There are 2 pages
Pages