The anticipation of a slow roast!

in #life6 years ago

I was up at 6am today.

I remembered I had to grill two huge pieces of pork.

It was too early for a beer (basically mandatory for a roast).

So I had to settle for a coffee :)


1.jpg


Two big pieces of pork (neck). It will turn into super soft meat grilled long enough at a temp of 90-110c.


2.jpg


Apply favourite rub!


3.jpg


I pre-soaked some cherry wood chips.


4.jpg


Preparing the grill. Fresh coals in. Tools ready.


5.jpg


After the coals were lid I placed the wet wood chips in to create smoke.


6.jpg


Then I put in the convector plate to separate the meat from the fire.


7.jpg


Meat in! It barely fit.


8.jpg


Small video of a halfway spritzing with apple vinegar and temp measurement. (With the the tour de Fance on in the background).



And after 9 hours! We reached the internal temp of 85-90c.


9.jpg


I wrapped them both in foil and they are resting in the oven while I type this up.

Whatever you do don't cut it to early. Let everything settle back in to place.

It's the hardest part of any slow roast!

It's the same feeling I think some of you are having now.

Where is the end result Mark? (You see waiting is hard).

Tomorrow I will rewarm them back to around 30-40c and shred them up with the bear claws!

I think we will have some happy guests tomorrow!


To finish this post I'd like to show this. It's the leftover coals after grilling for 9 hours! The green egg is so efficient!


10.jpg



I am part of witness @blockbrothers.

Please consider us for your witness vote if you think we deserve it here:




Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

We are the creators of Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:

Sort:  

The perfect roast, my friend and your famous green egg are back in business, where your meat got a very appetizing look and I'm sure that the guests will be happy, as the taste must also be excellent. Well done! Thanks Mark

Did I just see 9 hours? . Damn that's a long long time. Dontbyiu think it would have been easier and faster if you had shred the pork or cut it into pieces before grilling? My thoughts though.

What's the actual reason for grilling it at its massive state?

You said you put it in an oven after grilling...whys that?

You also had to wet the wood to create smoke. What does the smoke do to the meat? Does it add to the taste?

You keep it in one pieces because you want to keep all the moisture inside. It also needs to roast a long time to get soft. Shredding it beforehand would make it tough I think.

It's in the oven to rest. Never cut into beef/pork straight away after grilling. All the juices will just flow out. It needs to settle. The longer the roast the more time it needs to rest.

Smoke adds flavour to the meat indeed.

Dear friend, that two pieces of meat look very good, and the technique you use is the maximum, I imagine that smoky flavor that should give the stilts, that your palate should be delicious, I congratulate you for your great barbecue, that green egg works very well, because it is not easy to cook it for nine hours without turning off the embers, congratulations friend, happy day and good profits when you destroy it with your bear claws. hahahaha Greetings friend.

Haha, thank you. Can't wait to use the bear claws :)

Wow , I already smell the sweet savour, I never knew you were this good😎

lol! well the proof is today. They might be tough as hell!

Wow, you'd scale through 😁

Whatever you do don't cut it to early. Let everything settle back in to place.

That’s true! You don’t want to cut the cooked meat to early. I think you obviously know what you are doing. I, as well prefer coffee in the morning. Some can say “it’s never too early for a beer”, for me it’s too early as well. I wish you could make a video when you attack the meat with your claws 😆.

I'll try to find a victim to video me today.

Claws!!! Damn this waiting!! :0D

Wow what a delicious and yummy food you made it and really it made me more hungry, now i understood the use of your Claws that yesterday didn't understand. I think your all preparations of Biancas Birthday party is ready now, waiting for some wonderful birthday photographs and advance Happy birthday to Bianca.

I'm not a pork fan (a Brazilian Picanha I accept :) ), but the way you present it here in your post, it got really delicious. Happy weekend for you @exyle!

Looks very nice and yummy! Your weekend has already started so enjoy it :D

Thanks! You have a good weekend as well.

I like the picture with the black glove.
Green Eggs, Green Screen, black glove, bear claws. Props to you. It's freaking hot today!

That waiting time was indeed worth it and all :)

Wow...what a long and nice cooking process, your meat looks well done and I bet it will taste delicious. How I wish I was on your guest list for tomorrow. Enjoy the meat and a very happy birthday to Bianca :)

You would have been welcome, man! and thank you.

That is some really good cooking, this summer I just bought a grill like yours. Hope I can replicate and do some pork just like you did. Can't wait to see the end result...

I was up an hour before your today @exyle as I was travelling to Devon. What a trek it turned out to be, taking 7 hours!!!

Hope you enjoyed the meal. It looks delicious. 😊

Wow! And here I thought I was early. But 5am is a bit too much :)

Damn, we can put a man on the moon (or so they say) but we can't have smell o' compuvision.......... AaaaarGGGggghh!!! Looks good brother....

Thanks and if only we had smellocompuvision!

Two very magnificent roasts done to perfection! I can't wait to see the photos of the guests enjoying them. I think Bianca will be very happy with the effort you have put into her party! Enjoy it! And once again very Happy Birthday to Bianca.

Thanks you!

You're working from early I guess it's been a tiring day, but it's for Bianca's birthday and that's totally worth the effort! On the other hand the pork you cooked looks delicious, I hope you enjoyed it and happy weekend :)

I could just imagine a BITE and how tender this Pork will be ........Mark @exyle great job BEAR Claw Boy !!

I will know more today :)

Hey @exyle ...

This is a test to see how much you read your comments. Maybe I'm buried, maybe you have lots of commenters all of the time.

A couple of things I wanted to say:

  1. I'm glad you're still bringing delicious content to steem. When I first read your posts... you definitely know how to wet an appetite.

  2. Someone like myself went under hard struggles and has been absent for a while (my father is dying)... but more than that... I was hoping you'd remember me and see me come back full force and check my blog.

In the end.. even if you don't ever see this comment, I want to say... out of 10 things I could talk about steem -- 1 out of the 10 would be... follow @exyle and the delicious photography he showcases about his meals. It's nice to watch, learn, and be part of his life at his dinner table in a digital way.

Say hi to @clio to me.

I remain @intelliguy trying to run @intelliwitness

Very delicious looking pics :)

Hi @exyle, how are you brother?

Hi exyle. How many guests? Hopefully you can pig out a bit on that lot. I suggest serving half with salad and rolls and keeping one back lol.

Yum!!!!!

Can’t wait to see the shredded pork.

Wow! you have a great way to roast your meat i never try this way thanks for sharing and yes your guests will be very happy. Have a wonderful weekend 😊

Such a marathon for cooking. Must be really worth it. You have great cooking skills.

IT LOOKS DELICIOUS..! GREETINGS

OK CHEF!
Officially hooked to your cooking techniques. It's very cruel to leave us hanging like that, now all we can think about is Where is the End Result Mark :/
Damn. I wasn't even to have meat but now I'm craving! aargh

My mouth is watering right. Now sir @exyle... Yummy grilled pork...

wow delicious food
i want to eat this grill

wonderful food
thanks for share the recipe

OMG! That seem delicious, now I'm hungry. lol. I loved your post.

The day started on a great note for sure coffee to boost up things along with delicious food :D

Very nice! You could have had a bloody mary. Those are quite good that early in the morning! It looks like they turned out really well. I actually read your post showing the end result before I got to this one. That is impressive the amount of coals that you still have left over after a nine hour cook. It held a consistent temp the whole time? Even towards the end?