I Don't Want To Jinx Myself, But...

in #life4 years ago

I've been thinking about something for a while now that I'm sort of hesitant to share. My wife would tell me to keep it quiet, because I might jinx everything.

Yes, I wield that much power, that I can cause negative things to happen just by mentioning how well something is going. Too bad I can't do the opposite and turn those negatives into positives.

So, at the risk of jeopardizing it all, here's the deal.

I haven't been sick once this year.

flu-1679104_1280.jpg

Is That All?!

Well, let's think about this. In a normal year, under normal circumstances, I generally get sick once. It normally happens in the late fall, so it could still happen.

However, last year, I was sick four times. And when I say sick, I'm talking about upper respiratory illnesses, probably colds. One of them I can attribute to work. The other three, I blame my son for bringing the illnesses home from school.

The last time I was sick was just before Christmas last year. I wasn't the only one. Everyone in our household at the time (which included me, my son, his wife and their two young children) got something, accept for my wife (yes, she lives here, too). So, based on what happened last year, the fact I'm back to normal as far as illnesses go is a good thing.

However, we just so happen to be in the middle of a global pandemic, and I travel into two of the harder hit counties for COVID-19 cases in Oregon on a regular basis, and could end up into and additional three of the worst at a moment's notice. I frequent bars and restaurants in this job, the places that have been affected the most and the longest since restrictions began.

So, it's not like I'm staying at home like I was for nearly two months. I'm out in the middle of it five days a week, sometimes part of a sixth.

You're Wearing A Mask, Right?

Well, yes. The governor here, as has many state and local officials, mandated a face covering of some kind, which means if I want to work, I have to wear one when I'm at a business. It's generally off my face the moment I'm outside, though, and I don't wear it in the van as I'm driving around.

The mask, though, is meant to reduce the risk of me spreading whatever I might have, presumably COVID-19. In order for me to avoid getting it, others need to be wearing theirs, or so it goes. For the most part, I can truly say, others have.

I've also been social distancing. I was already a pro at it before it was deemed fashionable (or necessary), and now I'm approaching legendary status. I am more than willing to stay away from you and anyone else.

I've also been washing or sanitizing my hands frequently throughout the day, a habit I started to pick up in the latter part of 2019 since I handle quite a bit of money. I think my second illness last year can be attributed to a failure to wash my hands after three or four times handling bills.

Here's the thing, though. I've not ran into a whole lot of people who are obviously sick with something. As in, coughing, sneezing, etc. Every now and then someone will cough, but that can be for a whole host of reasons. Each time, I've been well away from them, and I've even avoided shooting them a dirty look.

So, What's The Point?

Well, being around healthier people who aren't spreading whatever they have is doing wonders for me. It's sad it's taken an epidemic that continues to drag on and make the news 24/7 for people to realize that hand washing, avoiding close quarters and staying home when they're sick can make a difference.

That's not to say everyone has got the message as far as the above precautions are concerned. (Notice I didn't include face coverings).

That's not to say we need all of the restrictions we have, though some protections for the most vulnerable is only prudent.

All I'm saying is, so far, I'm not sick, be it COVID-19, some other strain of coronavirus, or the common cold. I like it like that.

Now, I did just come back from a vacation where I crossed the entire continental United States, through varying degrees of restrictions (or not). I even travelled into some of the current U.S. hotspots, principally the deep South. I've only been back a little over a week, so there's still time for some symptoms to manifest.

I could still jinx myself, because of the aforementioned powers I have. I'm not going to make a prediction on that either way, though. I'm not the crazy. That would surely cause the opposite to come true.

If that's the case, I could just predict I will get sick, right? No, because that would really be asking for it.

Why tempt fate?

Onward and upward.

Image source—Pixabay

Sort:  

My reality is I have been practicing social distancing from one group in particular, Doctors, nurses, and hospitals and hospital workers. Oh yeah and with the pharmacy. So far so good. e have actually went out to restaurants to eat a few times and I do go shopping some times, and I am not a mask wearer at all.

I attribute my luck though to the vitamin C gummy bears, two twice a day since the start of March. That and avoiding the plague carrying medical staff types.

Hey, @bashadow.

Yeah, I've been doing similarly for years now. My wife, however, works at least once a week at the local hospital as a housekeeper, so while she's not medical staff, she's in the thick of the cleanup afterward. So far, the number of corona cases in our area have been pretty small, but she's also managed to avoid any other infectious diseases.

We went to a couple of places in South Carolina to eat, but I haven't been out to eat here anywhere. I do have to go into restaurants for work, but I'm not usually there very long, or coming in contact with a lot of people. With the restrictions on numbers, I think most people are staying away.

I haven't been taking vitamins, but I do end up drinking orange juice or some form of citrus on a fairly regular basis.

I think I'll just continue to chalk it up to luck and hope it all holds through to the end.

Maybe you're the key to unlocking the cure to the world's ailments? The cure is in your blood!

Sort of like Alice in Resident Evil. Watch out, the Umbrella Corporation might be after you.

Hey, @galenkp.

Well, if they can get it out, I guess they're welcome to it. I'm notoriously hard to find a proper vein. It would be easier to wait until I slice my finger open in a cooking accident or something. :)

That's a lot of ailments though for one person's blood to cure. Especially stupidity and arrogance. If my blood could cure that, and greed, and power lust, I'd gladly give it up.

However, I think the only really power I have (not sure if it's in my blood), is to turn off street lights at night just passing by. It's truly uncanny. :)

You mention some of the most potent and prolific of humanities ailments Glen...I tend to agree though, unlikely they're curable. I mean, we can't even cure the flu seemingly.

I'm curious about your street light extinguishing abilities though...Is it willful of happenstance? You know a drive-by extinguishing? Sounds like a good super power...Well, not really. Street light man isn't much of a super-name.

I guess it's one of those unconscious types of super powers, since I didn't intentionally turn any of them off. I was told that it was because the headlights of my car tripped a sensor on the light pole the half or so dozen of times it happened. Then, I was just walking down the street a few times and the lights went out.

I haven't been out at night for a while now... :)

How about The Extinguisher! That's a little punchier.

Oh yes, The Extinguisher has a nice ring to it. Sounds ominous, but also has positive connotations... Extinguishing crime...and street lights.

Hey, @lucylin.

Hoax, simply overblown, ulterior motives, mind control, 1984 in 2020—whatever the case, I've not been physically sick at all from anything so far, and for whatever reasons that might be, I'm chalking it as a good thing. That's my story and I'm sticking to it. :)

Sounds like you might be able to compete with the Fins on social distancing now! 😆

Hey, @minismallholding.

re: compete weigh the Fins

I'm sorry to say I don't know what that means, but it sounds like a good thing, so I'll take it. :)

I do take pride in my social distancing, so if there's a competition for it, I should seriously consider entering it. :)

Doh! Forget to proof read! Corrected now.

The Fins already did our level of social distancing before Rona came, so for them the rules we have probably bring them closer than they're used to! 🤣

Ah! Got it.

Well, you see, I am of Danish descent, so not sure how they compare to Finnish folk, but if my grandpa and dad are any indication, it certainly leans in that direction. :) Of course, my mom's side of the family, who have no Scandinavian blood to be found, are pretty aloof, too. British and Scottish predominantly there, which I understand can be fairly good at social distancing if not downright standoffish. :)

I can attest to the British generally preferring to keep personal space bubble around them. I guess your social distancing is very much a part of your evolution. 😆

I would say so. I don't exactly come from a kissy huggy kind of family, but then I married my wife, who is originally from Mexico, and she's very much kissy and huggy. Her family isn't exactly like that, though. :)