The Key to Making Progress (NOT WHAT YOU EXPECT)

in #life6 years ago

photo-1506126613408-eca07ce68773.jpg

Today I want to talk about something that alot of us have issues with. Often times we say we are going to do something and then days, weeks, years go by and we never do it and everything seems to be good until that one faithful day when we see someone else DOING what we should have been doing, or in a position that we "should" have been in.

It's at that faithful moment we say "FU*K, man that should have been me"

For a long time now I had been in an on and off relationship with the gym. It just seemed like life was too busy and so i did not make the time. I told myself that I would start tomorrow, and like the old age goes "Tomorrow never comes" . This week, however, I decided to do something different.

I DECIDED TO START! ...............

And I've been posting a picture every single day after my workout with a caption and the hashtag #duespaid. Now, many people are messaging me, some are crying and complaining, some are asking me for motivation and I always say the same thing which is this.
photo-1506197061617-7f5c0b093236.jpg

JUST SHOW UP AND GET STARTED

As simple as it sounds, this is the key my friends. I used to get discouraged because when I started over i could feel that I was not operating at my previous peak. I felt weak, slow, and basically like shit but that is all part of the process.

Look...

MOMENTUM IS THE GAME.

Every single day you show up and do something regardless of how you feel, you build momentum and you begin to trust yourself more which leads to confidence and that propels you into an upward spiral of good emotions that ripples throughout your entire life.

Ever since i got back in the gym I have been performing better at work, I've been a better boyfriend, I've had better relationships with my family and the people around me. It's tough to be that way when deep down you want to but you know you're a liar---to yourself.

Trust me. Whatever it is that you've been sleeping on now is the time to show up and start working. It doesn't matter what level you're at, just fall in love with the process.