Sort:  

You're reminding me of where I'm from and the many, many drunken singalongs and nights at the distinctly Irish pub that was my hangout. I did visit the Scottish one at times, but less frequent. Irish are crazier. I'd highly recommend you make that your weekend project blessed with some good ales and suitable edibles. Isn't today that heart day thing? I hope you did your duty there. 😂😏

My heart'ing duty was done despite me isolating I had prepared in advance!

I do like an Irish pub although not in Scotland as in Scotland they have just become holes for the shadier lowlife types although there will are a couple of not bad ones in the West end! I shall have a stout or two, not Guinness sadly. As I branched out years ago into weirder stronger ones and can never go back!

Ha! Good on you there, it's such a testy day.

Is an English Stout acceptable fare? Running through my mind as to selection here, kind of like Innis & Gunn, but no stout in that here. Usually buy the microbrewery rounds here. Seems IPA's are top of the menu these days. Coffee porter, bet you like that. If it doesn't have a punch to it, it's not worth it's salt, imo.

Probably the pubs are gentler in Canada. It's the taverns you want to avoid, sounds like what you're describing where you are.

I don't mind where it comes from. There are some splendid Scottish ones, tempest being does a chipotle stout. It's awesome. I have had some fine ones from all over though!

I think some that live here are more particular about where it comes from, lol. Chipotle stout...yum, that's one I've never had but would indulge in. I like trying them all. It's even better if they give sample tastings, been to a few pubs here that do that.

I always like a sample tasting! The her shop I go to often does little sample sessions. I have ended up spending a fortune after those!

LOL! That's always a thing with samples, spending more. Here, there are several small distilleries, some make limited editions, very small batches. Pricey, but wonderful to experience.