Sicked

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--683703366.jpg

Have you ever had one of those days where something seems slightly wrong but you can't put your finger on it?

Today seemed like any other. Throughout the night the little boom made me and the good lady play the sleepless tag team game, parenthood.

15s28t.jpg

Eventually the dawn came and any hopes of getting more than a few hours sleep were dashed by the ridiculous notion of having to work for a living.

I had a shower and got dressed. I played with the little boom whilst the good lady made herself ready too.

As I lifted him into the sky and talked high pitched gibberish to him he puked in a gentle cascade down my front. A few months ago this would have seemed like high drama but now it is utterly normal to be sicked upon numerous times a day. In fact, on a day where I am not sicked upon I question if I am even awake.

15s28t_20180227131033213.jpg

When the good lady came down I passed him over and got changed into another shirt. Myself and the good lady had a bite of breakfast together. At one point she asked me to hold him momentarily whilst she fetched something.

Give me the little blighter!

I exclaimed like a hyperactive pirate.

I supported him whilst he stood on my knees which is his favourite thing these days. He laughed and giggled before vomiting peacefully on my shirt and trousers. He then laughed loudly in that proud I can't stop puking on Daddy baby way.

The good lady came in and saw me covered in cottage cheese sick and we shared a good laugh tinged with sleep deprived hysteria.

15s28t_20180227141250511.jpg

I got changed again, this time into a shirt and jersey.

It was nearing time for me to leave for work. I was careful when I was holding the little tyke because I was running out of clothes to change into. I gave him a hug then left to plough at the coalface for the man.

In my new basement office there are no windows and about mid-morning I turned to a colleague.

This place is smelling a bit foosty. Perhaps some damp is getting in?

Aye, stinks like feet.

He replied cagily.

15s28t_20180227144829597.jpg

I was glad that I had several meetings that day which got me out of my foosty shoebox of an office.

In one of them I struggled to concentrate on the goings on because I was knackered and seemed to be subtly haunted by the smell of baby sick.

I put it down to parenting PTSD and tried to focus. It lingered however. I quickly checked my clothing for sneaky puke attacks that I might not have noticed. Nope, all clear.

All throughout the day though, the smell was there. Just on the periphery. I became increasingly paranoid that it was me and that somehow I had been sicked on. I had to know, did I stink of sick?

15s28t_20180227145131214.jpg

Late in the afternoon I was talking to a girl who sits nearby.

Can you smell baby sick?

I asked, somewhat desperately.

She laughed. Obviously about to reassure me that no, of course I didn't and I was just being daft.

Yeah, it's all down your back behind your left shoulder.

What?!?

You mean you didn't know? We all thought you knew?

She giggled. In the same way as my daughter does when she then says silly daddy.

We all thought you knew?!?

Aaaaaaarrgh!!!!!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Lovely story-telling...what an ending. ^__^

So sorry....what a day...haunted by _________.

Here's toasting to a better day tomorrow.

Cheers.

NB Appreciated the illustrations.......too cute.

Hehe, yes indeed. What a day haunted by that smell!

Cheers lass! I do love an illustration or two! :O)

Haha this is what parents do for their babies <3
Don't know why some kids forget all this after reaching puberty :(
I always love kids <3

They spoke be made to remember for all time hehe ;0)

Man I want Steemit to add reactions to posts or comments, that would be fun :D

It would, I am sure it will come!

Cherish that puke smell, Boomholio. I'm sure you and the good lady would miss the constant changing and the sleepless nights when the little Boom grows up to be The Mountain. In a couple of decades though, you would be able to get him back when it's your turn to be changed and to be tended to. Sweet vengeance!

I can't cherish it. In fact I remember the gladness when the little lady stopped. It was like a milestone post!! :0D

Right?! It's the only thing I'm not looking forward to once the grandbabies start arriving. But wait...! That's what their parents are for! bwahahahaaaa

Haaaaahaaahahahaaaaaa!! Completely right. Hand them back!!! :0D

Dang man you looking DRAINED!

Hopefully Steem goes to the moon SOON so you can retire!

Untitled_drawing-165.jpg

SteemFinity!!! Yes indeed! I didtry my best to lok drained but damn yeah, this little sleep malarkey is taking its toll this week!!

Yea to SteemFinity is even better than to the moon!

Good luck! Hopefully he stops puking someday. lol

One day the puke will stop!!! Hopefully!

lol I like how you added hopefully at the end.

But it might start again on teenage, especially during the weekends:)

Haha, yes, that is something to be on the lookout for!

Thank you very much for reminding me of my father's day and the bombs in the suit jacket, how many times it has happened to me and the worst thing is that you walk around all day with the little pump and nobody says anything to you, a common story in which we passed the parents.
I appreciate that you have shared this experience dear friend
I wish you a good night

That is a great way to put it. The bombs! That is totally what it is like. I will have to take more care in future so as not to look like a statue in a town Square!

They should come with a "Do Not Hug Before Going Out" warning. Or "Do Not Approach Without DIN EN 14605 Protective Clothing".

I agree, hazmat suits required!

“give me the little blighter!!”

I love being a pirate!!

OH ow I don't miss those days. The worst ever is when you are driving and your beautiful child decides that is the time to throw up. All over themselves and the car seat. The worst part is that its not just "on" the car seat. It is all in and through the car seat creating a cleaning task that not even Mr. Clean himself is ready for. Ever so fun is the day of a pukey kid.

I have cleaned the car after those glories. It's one of the worst things i can think of to have to do!

Yup. Been through that too. You never quite get that new car smell after that happens.

That's alright. I don't think my old banger ever had it :0D

Can you smell baby sick?
Yes i can smell :p
@meesterboom likes to talk to young lady? :p

I always like to talk to a young lady!

Oh my....you should just quit your job...goodness...if they knew why wouldn't they tell you?

You would think!! Not one, not a single one said. It's massive!

Didn't you know babies are nauseated by the smell of a clean shirt? ;P

Well, that makes a lot more sense!!! :0)

Always amazing how nature floods the brains of parents with the right chemicals to actually deal with raising a child.

I'm childless, yet have experienced glimpses of this when holding a little one. I've been puked on too, but it was strangely not a thing. Now if an adult puked on me, I'd end up in the shower like the guy in The Crying Game.

Also tried to change a nappy. Nope. Gonna need way more oxytocin and whatever hormones nature delegates to the parents.

Oddly enough I am alright with nappies. Except when I am peed on but I suspect that deep down few of us are happy with being peed on lol :0)

The sacrifice of being a parent is a process that every parent goes through when our child is not well. Constantly monitoring temperature as well as cooling the body especially for high fever. I guess God is the best rewarder for all we are doing as it was said that children are gifts from God.

It is all worth it in the end that is true!

Well @meesterboom, little boom gave you a good topic to write and share with us. I believe that there is no father who has escaped from an episode like this in his life; at least one baby vomit must have in his life ... Now you have to check how your colleagues say you at the office; Super Puke? Super deodorant? Lol. Whatever ...but, it doesn't matter... Greetings @meesterboom.

I will be making sure whatever they have christened me that I dont repeat it so I can render them mute!

I believe that you are one of the main bosses at the office, so, anything, fire someone.

Hahaha, main boss indeed! :O)

Bahaha! The joys of parenting indeed! We thgt you know they shiggered behind your back! Look at the sleep deprived parent with puke on his back! Loved your stories, they always make me laugh

That exactly what they were doing I bet. I can see them giggling and clustering around now daring each other to go and have a look!

Hahahaha that can be done, that is the price that we must pay the parents for having these beautiful creatures.

It is a fine price! :O)

You make me so not nostalgic! My youngest is ten years.

Aw, you are well past hose times but near enough to remember it well!!

Hahahaha - babies o goodness - how come they just get away with everything - They puke and it is fine, they are chubby and it is cute and you just want to pinch those little Michelin bodies and legs. Spoiled I tell you.... spoiled :)

Hehe, thats true! :O)

OMG Boom, does that bring back memories! My son was like that...constantly vomiting...got to be we couldnt take him anywhere. Turns out he was allergic to dairy. Mother's milk, cows milk.. everything. Well 17 years later, he seems no worse for the wear and eats more than I do! Best of luck, bud.

Hehe, yeah its hellish. Dollop dollop dollop everywhere! With our first it was a phase that pretty much stopped with the advent of weaning. I hope for the same!

Cheers mate!

Make steemit as profession :p
Then no need to go to office :p
be your own boss :p

Sorry for late commenting :( my bandwidth was low.

Bandwidth you say! Then let that be a problem no longer! ;O)

oh ! :( yeah, I was facing that issue,
For how long I can use this delegated SP?
Do I need to pay any charges for this?

Yes, PAY ME ALL YOUR EARNINGS FORE ONE MONTH! (joking)

Nah, it's fine. When you have about 20 or 30 SP I will take it back. You should be ok by then

haha, Thank you so much :) I Don't have words To thank you for this kindness :)

One month earning!
Don't give me a heart attack, please :(

I'm not even earning the amount you have delegated to me :p

Hehe, I know but in a month you will have more sp and then bandwidth shouldn't be an issue so much :0)

Yeah, i can hope for that :)
Keep supporting :)

@uncleboomyI'm angry with you :( You haven't seen my yesterday's post :(
I Especially wrote that for you :(

Oh @meesterboom, what a situation! I am glad you only discovered it at the end of the day. No additional clothing in a drawer at work, I assume?
By the way, I like the cards Mark got today very much. I understood that you had a hand in it. Very nice!!

Aha!! The steemit cards!! Yeah, when I got chosen and had to choose an outstanding steemian I thought hey, I know just the one!

You have a good idea there. I am going to take a change into work. I never even thought of that!

I agree with our choice of an outstanding steemian, but of course, I am biased!
As for the change into work, I always had some extra clothes at work, for me, it was extra tights, and an extra blouse or t-shirt, after all, you never know what happens.

Hahah, I kinda expected you to be a little biased ;O)

So very true. I think I will try a jersey! That should cover the worst!

Doh! it's almost like the 'kick me' sign on the back, but in scratch and sniff lol eeeeewwww...

Yeek, scratch and boak!!!!! :OD

Oh, I thought you've got a cold or something like that.
So it was actually little boomz work, ha! He gotcha again!

He did! When I gave him a hug he must have had a quick barf that I didnt feel! Prpbably because it was kinda solid!

I have a feeling that there is a weak smell of cheezy feat here...
I wonder what can it be? :DD

Haha, when will it leave!!

Sick story Boom... Kinda of makes me happy not to have kids yet 😅 Thanks for bringing some perspective into my life!

One day the curse blessing will strike! ;0)

Haha funny story, but can as a dad of 7 can totally relate!! Thanks for sharing @journeyfreedom

Goodness me!!! Seven!! Seven!!

You sir, are a trooper!

Completely agree with the hazmat idea!

Although I do wonder what being parented by a friendly but plasticy Dad would be like... surely it's happened somewhere in the world.

Finally a story I can use to support the 'my condolences' when someone excitedly proclaims they are up the duff. Thanks for keeping it real BoomDaddy!

Thinking about this more... kids are always vomiting right? Babies, toddlers eating dirt, childs combining ice cream and trampolines, pre-teens in all you can eat competitions and then teenage drinking. I don't envy you at all.

Haha, I don't mind the rest. Once the sick stops. I am sure that when one of them Congress in reeking of weed or booz and thinks they can get one over on stupid old dad they are in for a shock

Up the duff, I've of my favourite terms for being... Well, up the duff!!!

Plastic daddy, sounds like some kind of bizarre sitcom!! Hehe

One day you'll laugh fondly while going through your posts of this period. In the meantime, it sucks - that's such a terrible smell. Good things clothes can be washed properly. Years ago, I had to throw out a carpet when my son came down with a stomach bug...

The smell is really not nice. It's kinda sickly sweet. Yeah, I ah truly tiring of smelling it!

Ah yes... I had 3 babies in a row. Neck deep in diapers and baby puke for nearly 5 years straight...and then they became toddlers. I didn't have a clean shirt for over a decade. Good luck with that. LOL

sob

I used to be so stylish they called me Milano!!!

Well alright, that's a lie but the sick, man it's wearing me down!! I have started the five year timer!!!

Hahahaha now that's funny! I remember that smell well - it 'clings' doesn't it.

It does cling, the ming cling!

"We all thought you knew" and it didn't occur to anyone that maybe if you knew you would have changed first? RoFL!

Well at least he's puking gently now instead of that high torrent dousing he gave you last time XD

goatsig

I thought the same with the gentle plopping pukes. None of this Spewnami nonsense! At least not for a while.

I was flabbergasted at that response! Madness!

It is hard to care for a baby boy who is puking almost 24 hours. I respect you, meesterboom as a parent. Upvoted!

Haha, its easy, its just hard to wear puke for so long ;O)

Hahahah you remind me of my daddy uncle boomy..a good and jolly family man indeed. Keep up the good work and greetings to the good lady and kids

A fun and interesting one from you my dear Meesterboomy.. the kids must be proud of having a great daddy. I wonder if you will teach him how to play football or even a gentleman game when he grows up? hahahah , anyway....a gentleman never tells. I wish you all a blessed evening.

I am sooo glad those days are long behind me! Now it is my sons' turn to take up the baby puke clothes! The lack of sleep though...that's another post.

hahaha

lil boom got you :D
aw chico!
he'll get you back for all your funny tales bout him later
at least it smells like cheese :D

Been there, done that. I don’t miss those days.

Although, I miss the baby giggles.

They are cute but I wont miss the sick days either!

This is a natural incident that causes many harm to it. People do not always see thempexels-photo-556663.jpeg

superb post

Me and you are gonna get along real good

I mean.. at least they've expanded their vocabulary past 'good', 'nice' and 'awesome'

Also, I think your storytelling abilities may very well result in the abrupt end to my side of the family tree...

Hehe, I will be sure to put up a nice parenting tale to ensure that your line continues!!!

hahaha, Boom in flirty mood ;) yaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy!