The Algorithm

in #life3 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1275479087-picsay.jpg

It was Friday. I love Friday's. Friday is the start of the weekend and I can't repress my teenage joy at the thought of beer soaked evenings in the cold winter of a Scottish Spring.

There was only one pesky problem.

Work.

I wasn't even half way through the day and it was stretching out before me. A sea of calls with various parsnip eaters and other such diddies.

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

One such diddy was holding court in the call I was currently on.

We were discussing YouTube and the censoring of stupid conspiracy theories.

It was a Friday after all.

The thing is though. They use an algorithm to hide this kind of stuff and make it less popular.

Spouted Diddy-Ride-Manchego, one of my colleagues who was forever sending the team links to covered up, never seen before UFO videos. The particular daft video he was bleating about was one in which a UFO was being chased around the sky with a laser pointer.

Are you sure its "the algorithm" and not just that the videos don't get many views because they are fucking nonsense?

I said, lazily scratching my left Jeffrey whilst I dreamed of being out in the sun, running free through a field of barley with a beer in each hand and the wind in my hair.

It's nothing to do with the perceived quality of the content and has everything to do with the powers-that-be wanting to stop this kind of information leaking to the public. It is deplatforming plain and simple.

Diddy-Ride-Manchego moved closer to his camera as if we were doing a tango and it was time to cup one of my bum cheeks and do a twirl.

Deplatforming?? I think you mean shadow-banning?

Having lived on Hive for more years than I cared to count, I was sadly familiar with internet terms that real people should never have to bother their arse with.

I think I know what I am saying. They are blocking the content from showing up in searches and not making it easy to find. That is why this video with the laser pointer and the UFO isn't getting the views it should be.

Diddy-Ride-Manchego tried to look pleased and grimly serious at the same time, like a dog licking its balls and discovering half a Snickers tucked under its left nut and trying not to let the other dogs to see.

It's nothing to do with shadow banning, deplatforming or even "The Algorithm." Its just that these videos are bollocks and fake and the only people that believe them are dafties.

Said I, shaking my head at the folly of breast-riding UFO nuts everywhere.

I'm not a daftie?

Sputtered Diddy-Ride-Manchego indignantly.

I frowned and chewed the end of my pen before speaking.

Well... The only people I see bleating about an algorithm tend to be dafties. I'm just saying.

I popped up the meeting menu and selected Diddy-Ride-Manchego and kicked him out of the call.

Oh, he seems to have dropped off?

I looked at the other office-munters on screen and shrugged my shoulders.

It must have been The Algorithm.

Sort:  

"The problem with society today is how people lap up everything they're fed from the elites and don't ask questions. Sheeple. Can't think for themselves. Watch my video. Decide for yourself."

Question the questionable content.

"What the fuck you mean I'm wrong and it looks fake?! You must be one of those elite operatives going around pretending NOT to be a lizard!"

That's the bit I love the best. When you say, but hey, I can see the strings holding that paper mache flying saucer up in the sky and they turn on you, WTFUNKZ MAN< YOU MUST BE THE PUPPET OF THE ILLUMINATI!!

AND THEN WHEN YOU SAY, "YES. I AM," THEY INSTANTLY STOP THINKING YOU'RE ONE OF THOSE AND CALL YOU A LIAR! MAKE UP YOUR GODDAMN MIND!

It's funny, it's almost like believing anything other than shonky research, I mean YouTube videos is just an alien concept!!

I saw video of a clear plastic bag catching wind, drifting up high in air, floating along gracefully. It was presented as a UFO and the entire echo chamber comment section was puzzled yet convinced it was a UFO. They feed off each other; positive reinforcement. I got ridiculed hard for pointing out it's just a plastic bag. You wouldn't want to be that guy. They make an example out of you. It's really no different than a cult.

Content like that doesn't earn due to the misleading nature of the presentation. Had they just said, "This bag looks like a UFO," I'm sure they would have made a few thousand at least since it had a lot of views.

There's a market for fiction and some people are good at creating content, adding special effects, making it seem real. But they go for the clickbait approach, screw themselves up the ass hard, and waste their talent trying to get internet famous, which means nothing in this day and age.

You are totally right in that and it is sometimes something that you notice over and over again. Instead of being honest but trying to put a spin on it in a way that can grab peoples attention even if it is amusingly or wryly they go to loads of effort to mispresent or outright lie.

If I saw a video like that and it was titles, The Plastic Bag Alien Consfearacy I would be watching it avidly and having a chuckle!

Yeah. It's easy to prove the existence of bullshit. Especially when the bullshit artists are using a template.

All that being said, I've seen some strange things before. And they weren't on a screen.

Well here in the land of the free, we are getting to be too afraid to say anything, for being banned and canceled. Like walking a bloody tightrope. Forget ever trying to crack a joke.

Its still quite relaxed here. I said that to someone once and they pointed out a bunch of tabloid newspaper articles but really it is quite free. You never know though. Things have a habit of changing and not for the best.

I hate it the most when comedy is seen as bad and you cant say things for fear of causing offense. Its quite obvious when someone is dressing something up a s a joke as an excuse to say it or when someone is actually being funny.

Are you still getting crates of beer delivered for those 'beer soaked evenings'? It's Friday night.. and I'm drinking tea... fucking ridiculous! The fridge is devoid of beer.

No beer, on a Friday? Has something gone terribly wrong?

I have just got the kids down after a mad Friday at work and have popped my first! Ahhhhhhhhh. Cheers!

hello dear friend @meesterboom good afternoon
What nonsense is that that algorithms prohibit visualizations, it is as you say, you do not have to use terminology that you do not know what it is to justify the unjustifiable, the good thing about all this conversation is that you have learned an excuses with which you can Your hang up on the boss's call when he communicates with you.
Happy weekend dear friend. Enjoy an exquisite beer. Salut

Hola amigo!

From now on when anything goes wrong in my life I am going to blame it on... The Algorithm!! :OD

Cheers mate!

It's always the Algorithm.

It's Friday night and all I have is rum and tequila. No beer here. Somebody drank it all on St. Patrick's Day and never replaced it. But, wait! You just dropped off some wine!

Thank you!

Rum AND tequila!! That is an awesome combo!

I have had some mighty fine times where the night has been all about the rum and Tequila! :OD

Cheers!

I'm here to tell you that rum and tequila will still be with me in the morning! And probably afternoon.

A life well lived is the best life! ;O)

I'm here to tell you that rum and tequila will still be with me in the morning! And probably afternoon.

I've seen things being shadowbanned so he's onto something there XD Just maybe not with laser pointers chasing UFOs around (guess those poor extraterrestial visitors were scared of being sniped? XD)

Watch out for THE ALGORITHM!

That sounds like one of those movies that would heavily utilise MovieOS XD

I have seen the shadowbanning too! It is most definitely a thing but my inner OCS gets really narked when people mix up terms!

Lol, that does sound like that kind of Movie!! :OD

!BEER

LoL! Well all you can do is what you did, seems like Diddy knew what he was talking about too hard to realise you were correcting term usage? XD

Blame The Algorithm for teaching them wrong ;D

I blame the algorithm for everything!

It's often the way with folk that they only hear contradiction in what they believe but not necessarily in what they have said. Diddies!!


Hey @ryivhnn, here is a little bit of BEER from @meesterboom for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The Algorithm would be a badass assassin code-name in this day and age.

Haha, it would! The Algorithm solves all!!

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.

Fucking hell, you're early! :0D

LOL, he is.., must be a curation thing...

Hehe, maybe a change to the settings. Usually pops in hours after a post

Love your story, eventhough half of it i dont understand, cant put it all together. Even better the comments between you and the otger guy with no names left. You should make some video one day together, or even have a chanel. No click bait, no s..t talk, just serious talk about how honest our politicians and media are.

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 98000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 100000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP