The Banana

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1981875535.jpg

Christmas Eve. A time for relaxing. Perhaps throwing an insane amount of wine down your neck at an early point in the day so that everything goes smoothly... Finishing up the last few little tasks in preparation for the big day.

Yes, possibly. But seemingly not if you are a parent.

Today the good lady stood on a podium in the living room with a loudhailer and a short whip and barked orders at random intervals, mostly to me.

Daddy, there are presents under the floorboards which I hid that you will have to find and wrap for the morning!

But what about the giant rats darling? Won't they have my arm off?

The whip cracked as it snapped out and took off half my ear.

It's a chance I am willing to take.

Basement+rats.gif

I returned from the floor space, a little dusty but all limbs intact. The little lady was stamping her feet and screaming something about carrots for Rudolf.

The good lady was red-faced and trying to be diplomatic as possible in the face of a berserker. I walked past with my suspiciously disguised bag of presents and ruffled her hair with a free hand. Never mind the giant rats, for a moment I thought the little lady was going to take my hand off.

When I returned back from wrapping the house, seethed with stress. Another tantrum was being had by the little lady, something about something being HER CHOICE. I attempted to calm things down by shouting about the noise.

151352269_20171224185731234.jpg

Both the ladies of the house glared at me, alright alright, I got it. I left and organised many many more things which required to be done. Somewhere unbidden the memories of Christmas as being quite enjoyable leapt into my mind.

Oh no, not now old man.

I told myself as I dragged an elk through the snow to the firepit.

The noise from the house died down. I decided I had best go back in and assess the ostracisation levels.

I walked tentatively into the lounge. All was quiet. The good lady had poured me a glass of wine. I looked at it suspiciously. Was this it? Poison old jaded Daddy bear and collect the winnings?

151352269_20171224190041091.jpg

The little lady saw me and carefully picked up my wine glass and bought it over as if balancing on a tightrope.

Daddy, would you like to hear a joke?

Eh, yes, go on lass.

Why did the banana go to the hospital?

I don't know, why did the banana go to hospital?

.
.
.

Because he wasn't peeling very well!!

I laughed, she laughed, we all laughed and suddenly Christmas Eve didn't seem so bad any more.

151352269_20171224190204853.jpg

Sort:  

Merry Christmas to you as well as @meesterboom.

I'm very revealed to hear that the massive rodents did not have their way with you,

And a very Merry one to you too m'dear.

I survived... this time! :O)

Have a happy holidays @meesterboom !

I sure will and I hope you do too!!

If you are sea-sick (like me), eating bananas is a good idea. They are tasting almost as good in both directions.

On the other hand, never eat oranges at sea!

... and Merry Christmas to you and the good lady and the small lady and the little Boom.

I find myself quite unable to eat a banana. The texture makes me feel ridiculously queasy. The good lady can't understand it. I jave tried many times!

Then again if you are feeling sea-sick you have nothing to lose.

I hope you and the family have a great Christmas Mr C!

That's too funny. My sister thought her husband was faking it because who can't stand bananas? Then she had kids who from the very beginning couldn't stand bananas. It turns out that banana queeziness is genetic. Who could have guessed?

Is it!?!? That explains a lot!! Hehe, I can't wait to tell the good lady!!

Merry Christmas 🎁🎄 @meesterboom,

Take some time this holiday,meditation, have some beer 🍺 boom,

2018 is gonna be brighter. See you there!

I remain a humble friend @maxdevalue

I will do all of those things! I hope you do too mate!

I have to suspect it is the same place the treasures are hidden every year. :-)
Merry Christmas to you and your family

Merry Christmas to you and yours @ace108!!! It is the same place lol

Thanks. Hoho... so I'm not surprise on the place.

Definitely not, bang on first time!

Lol. I like that joke. Glad your arms survived too, that would be annoying. Merry Christmas Boom.

Merry Christmas chick!! I am might glad my arms are safe. Would be lost without them!! :0)

Merry Christmas dudester!!!

As you know, I love to read every your contents, but I have to say that the joke that your little lady told you is simply fantastic and I laught so much! Merry Christmas to you and to all your family, dear @meesterboom ! 🎄🎄🎄

It was a good joke wasn't it, I was surprised!! Cheers lass, have a merry Christmas!!!!

Your story reminds me when my children were small, everything had to be done and run from one side to the other to fulfill all the obligations of father, now you make it look very funny.
The party is already here dear friend, the sweet wait is over, we can say Merry Christmas !!!!!!!!
May this Christmas bring peace, happiness and happiness for you and all yours.
Pass it well beloved friend, Health

It is over, hurrah!!! I hope you and your family have a splendid day my friend!!

I was told a pretty good Christmas joke this year that I hadn't heard before...

How does Good King Wenceslas like his pizza?







Deep and crisp and even!

Haha, I missed this, sorry. That's excellent!!!

OHOHOHO!! Getting caught up on what I missed, and this was certainly a Christmas Eve story for the ages! Better than Die Hard, that's for sure. It seems like the little lady has more of your genes than you thought, Boomizzle. I have to wonder where she heard the pun from though! Wonderful icebreaker to a teetering way. Way to tip everything back to an even keel, little lady!

Lolololo! Mr J, I thought you were in the mountains!!! I wonder where she hears stuff like this too!!

I will be soon, but until then I can't leave the Boomdawg hanging! The comments must flow!

I wonder where she hears stuff like this too!!

Try and find out so that we could milk it for the jokes! Because that worked so well for the oil industry.

I am hot on it. I am so hot on it that smoke is coming from my feet. I will find this source and lock then in a box. We will pull it out at Christmas time and hear the comedy

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas :0)

I sit in my living room with my husband and after reading your story I thought of the years when my children were small. It's years ago of course, but I (and I think you also) will never forget those days around Christmas. The stress (family visiting), but also the amazement of the little children about the many lights in the house and in the streets. The Christmas festivities at their schools, their warm and serious faces when they sing Christmas songs.
Enjoy everything @meesterboom.
Happy Christmas for you and your family.

Happy Christmas to you and your family lass! The joy on their faces is worth it. They get so much out of it. I think I was just being quite the grump earlier!

late Merry Christmas, Boomdawg! ;)

I hope you had a late but great one dude!! :O)

Strange and kind story as all your family, I think (do not treat this as an insult!), it's a weird compliment :) Keep Your spirit of "inadequacy"! Merry Christmas!

Hehe, I take it as it's meant :0D

Whatever stress you might get into with your family, in the end it's always going to be forgotten soon due to a banana or any other reason :) Merry Christmas!

Merry Christmas! You are of course correct!!!

Cheers to you and the crazy banana, Mr. Boom! Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Crazy bananas rule! Merry Christmas!!

Ha! I can relate to the seasonal rodents. Our Christmas decorations were laden with Yule logs from the little bastards. I'm quite sure I'll have a dash of E. Coli for Christmas. Good tidings to you and yours!

Much good tidings and happy times to you and yours too. Hope Santa brings you a musical instrument!!

Banana jokes are so a-peeling. Merry Christmas @meesterboom!

Ahahaha, yes indeed they are!!!

Merry Christmas to you and yours @meesterboom :)

Merry Christmas to you and family m'dear!!!

These jokes are apparently an integral part of UK Christmas tradition. At dinner I encountered a Christmas Cracker for the first time in my life, just last week in England. Interesting concept, including many cheesy jokes.

Not the banana joke by your little lady though, that one was hilarious :)

Haaaaahaaahahahaaaaaa, it's not bad but it is firmly in the region of cracker jokes.

They are weird those things eh!

-Doctor, something is wrong with me. Everyone takes me for a banana.
-Well, let me examine you. Peel off the skin!

Merry Christmas dear @meesterboom! Best wishes to you!

Haha, I like that one, it's dark!!

upvoted and resteemed

Happy holidays to you and your family, man!)

Cheers, the same back atcha!!! :0)

Why did the banana go to the hospital?

Because it's towel has been removed.
lolx.
Merry Christian to you @meesterboom

@seyiodus.

A critical thing yes! Lol

Merry Christmas to you too!

MERRY XMAS!

Mucho merry Xmas I!:0D

Happy Christmas, Boom man! I hope it is full of cheer and fuller of wine!

Merry Christmas dude, and it will be in five minutes ;0) lol!

Woot woot! Be safe and have fun!

I thought the banana went to the hospital because it was jaundiced.
Oh ya, Merry Christmas!

It could be that too!! You can officially be my daughter... Errm or something!

Ha, I’d rather be your prodigal son returning home to have a beer and to shake the dust from my shoes.

Great Story Merry Christmas :)))

If you comment and don't vote like a spammy comment upvote fisher again I will flag you 100%

Merry Christmas.

if you're a parent and your BROTHER is having christmas evening, it's not so bad, especially when both your brothers wives are super bougie crazy cooks and organizers. we just show up, have a ton of fun, eat, and only deal with stress when it's time to leave. Hope you have a nice christmas.

Ah, that would be nice. Tomorrow I have people up which means mega stress!! Aiyee!

lol. that was very amusing to read. the comment. i often comment without voting, but only because i run out of votes. i do NOT run out of comments though! Alx

Lol, you never run out of votes though!

I could tell he was a no reader comment fisher. He posted as soon as it was up!

Lol I could temporarily run out for sure. A one cent vote just makes you want to keep doing it. Is it possIble to be successful here without keeping a lot of money IN the site? Like if I always cash whatever SBD to help keep my kids having things they need+, while I’m spending everything else developing my own “glass block” chain?

Just keeping all my steempower and grow that naturally?

Would you say Steemit is at a place where the community is aware of the need for, finding and patronizing creators who can in fact help build pathways to rapid adoption/on boarding?

I swear I feel like we either see more visionary shit happen here, great debates, and the illumination of many different co operative routes into the future, or will Just lose out in “Survival of the Bittest”.

The social network, for better or worse, will seemingly outweigh the underlying speed, no fee, pos aspects of steem,

And if can’t produce something great...

Certainly nothing wrong with cashing out your SBD. I tend to keep my steempower so that my vote becomes worth more and more. You don't have to keep anything in but I'd you do you can reward people better :0)

so Hursh.. and i did upvoted

You hadn't when you had commented nor for a good five minutes after. If you want I can check steemdb later and I'd you are lying flag you. Sup to you

steemdb.com is no longer working for me. There has been no updates after Dec 19th.

steemd.com is working, and steemworld.org too.

Splendid call. It still works for me but it is easier to see the votes on steemd, I am just bieng picky. I hate those types of spammy comment voters!

You voted one hour ago. Pfft Your comment was made 2 hours ago.

Very good job :)

Reflections on Christmas Eve Sunday, December 24, 2017. With the break of dawn, bathed in rays of Sun, shines the morning, reborn hope, emerge feelings sublime found on those who Compartiran the Christmas dinner and the who departed to encounter God. Starts the frenzy of the preparedness of the family meeting, the advent of the Christ Child, the gifts, Los Estrenos, Christmas dinner, the carols, forgiveness and the unforgettable memories of those who are to the right hand of the Lord. Deep pain to not share with them. However, we look to our around, feel his spiritual presence, sprout tears, smiles, the hullabaloo is made present, arise hugs, the promises, predictions and yell with emotion: Merry Christmas to you and all your beloved beings. That God bless today, tomorrow and always with much love and affection. @extasispro (José Calixto)

sometimes it is hard to forget, although it can be a stressful time, Remember the JOY!!! Merry Christmas!

Great story

Great post :D Well done ;)
Happy X-mas to @meesterboom and everyone who reads this reply

Hi friend, I share post about 90s time: commercial,magazine,movies,tv ...if you like it, follow me please! https://steemit.com/@master90z

cherish your charming and proper Stuff that you at all times participate present.
I'm successive you ago set of days advocate and have confidence me I feel along with your stuff.
Your style conference propitious this one dreadful neighborhood shows your severely interest in it.
Pleople with bright outlook such as you are at all times capital for a industry and I'm successful that one I'm interested you present at steemit.
All the best and MARRY CHRISTMAS @meesterboom

Merry-Christmas-Wishes.gif