The Naming

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1795547449.jpg

This weekend was spent in the highest nooks of Scotland with the gentle fisher folk of the East.

A delicate situation arose. I am not sure if I handled it at all well. I think I might be in hot water with the good lady's family and not the kind that I can usually wiggle out of with an easy smile and the handing over of some coloured beads like I usually do.

1501011641-picsay_20170725205730343_20170726195119384_20170727184755711_20170727185952426_20170728165546065_20170730203220169.jpg

Not this time.

You see I kind of mortally offended her father who is a brooding totem pole of a man. He is a large man and despite being well into his dotage still commands respect among the locals with his fierce beard and thick calloused fingers.

It is whispered by the loose tongued of the village that he made some kind of deal with the watery gods of the sea which explains why he still has jet black hair in his seventies. I say the vain old git uses Just For Men.

1501011641-picsay_20170725205730343_20170726195119384_20170727184755711_20170727185952426_20170728165546065_20170730203220169_20170730203505984.jpg

No matter, I am rambling. So today we visited some of the more touristy aspects of Dundee today and as we walked around some fishing museum he managed to snaggle me away from the rest of the family.

I knew this did not bode well.

He looked at me square in the eye.

So it's a boy that your are having.

1501011641-picsay_20170725205730343_20170726195119384_20170727184755711_20170727185952426_20170728165546065_20170730203220169_20170730203557793.jpg

No question this. Just a black bearded statement.

Yes, that's right Mr Boom-in-Law. We are awfully excited.

Aye.

He stared at me.

What the fuck was that supposed to mean?... Aye?

I stared straight back at him. I noticed he had some food in his beard. I tried not to stare at it. Was it egg or chicken, I idly wondered?

Aye.

I stated.

Aye, a boy.

He replied.

I was about to ask if he was having a stroke when he broke the silence and continued.

None of the boys have had a son. All girls. Your good lady, my daughter has taken your name.

He said this a little accusingly. I was a little put out. I mean, granted he was never that happy that I snaffled her away from her home town but that was a loooooong time ago.

And your point is, Mr Boom-in-Law?

A long and treacherous silence played out. We stared at each other. In the background, a beggar boy with no arms played the fiddle with his feet. Nothing unusual in Dundee. He gritted his teeth and solemnly uttered.

1501011641-picsay_20170725205730343_20170726195119384_20170727184755711_20170727185952426_20170728165546065_20170730203220169_20170730203823163.jpg

It would mean a lot to the family if you called your boy after me. It's a family tradition that name you understand?

Out of respect for my good lady I shan't say what that name is on the blockchain. It is not the finest of names though. In fact it's a bit of a crap name.

I snorted like a hippo eating an otter.

1501011641-picsay_20170725205730343_20170726195119384_20170727184755711_20170727185952426_20170728165546065_20170730203220169_20170730204057217.jpg

Weeelll, you see Mr Boom-in-Law, it's not quite that simple.

He arched a ferociously wild and untamed eyebrow at me. It looked like an angry cockerel on his forehead.

I blumbled quickly on.

You see the good lady is awfully determined, as you well know and she has an idea for a name. In fact we have already agreed on it.
much to my disgust my suggestion of Rodriguez had been swiftly vetoed

I am sure you could change her mind.

He said this with an air of finality. Like a rock landing on a mouse.

No, sorry. We have decided.

It was my father's name.

Ah right. Good on him. But erm it's a bit old fashioned so... No, sorry.

He harrumphed greatly and jutted his craggy bearded chin out disapprovingly.

At that point the good lady and my daughter found us.

Hey guys what are you up to?

Nothing lass, just talking rubbish eh Mr Boom-in-Law?

The old feller grunted and gave me a hard look before saying something about the toilet and wandering off.

My good lady leaned close and whispered that I had better not have annoyed him.

I smiled my best doltish smile.

Of course not lass!

But really, it's an awful name.

Sort:  

Should have gone with Rodriguez Boom. Just give the little fella 3 middle names.

Rodriguez is awesome. Hehe. He might end up having several middle names but the old man's will not be one!!

read this and thought - you're in trouble :D
why do we always want kids to be named after us? - your dad in law isn't the only one

It's such a strange thing. I can never imagine saying to my kids, oh and their names must be as mine!!!

guess the royals started it all

edit : meesterboom the 2nd :D
sounds good to me hehe

Hi @meesterboom I've published an article about you, check it out, if you can, thanks.

26 Best Steemit Bloggers Of The Day To Follow 31st July 2017

https://steemit.com/advice/@jzeek/26-best-steemit-bloggers-of-the-day-to-follow-31st-july-2017

Sorry for laughing at your predicament, but your writing style is hilarious and I love it. I think I find a cure for my mild bouts of depression. A daily dose of @meesterboom! Thank you!!!!

Hehe, I don't mind that kind of laughing at all :0D

Oh meesterboom, what a minefield, I wont mention my father in laws name, thankfully it was discussed and dismissed as quickly (thank goodness)...

Yes it seems to be a thing. It's not my fault he has three strapping sons and nary a boy born from any of them! It's quite the old stodgy Scottish name. I worry that he will continue to press his suit as it were! :O/

Oh oohw , delicate subject.
Thank you ! :-)

Justa tad delicate. I am in hiding now lol!

Ojee , the undercover daddy ! :-) )

I posted my comment to this post in the steemit chat...they might kick me off steemit if I type it here.

Haha, there is no way you could be kicked off steemit!!

You can of course call your boy however you like, it is hard with family, but you are going to be using that name on a day to day basis, therefore, you must be happy with it. Your father-in-law will eventually like it after all :)

I am sure he will come round. He has a bit of trouble with modern names. He still (I think deliberately) mis-pro ounces my daughters name! But you are right. It's not his to choose!

I strive to learn to snort like a hippo eating an otter, I feel like that skill will come in handy someday.

Good luck in no-annoyance land, lol! This post made my day!

It is a very good skill to have in the bag :O)

Cheers very much!

I picture your father-in-law with a peg leg, eyepatch and aging parrot stapled to his shoulder. Pipe in mouth, telling tall tales of the North Sea.

More power to ya. His name must be something like "Haggis"

It might rhyme with anley :OD

He is just tall and bearded sadly. It would be much better like you describe it!

O I love your stories - it paints pictures in my mind...it is like I am standing right there and then most of all it makes me laugh - well done, resteeming

If it makes you laugh then it makes me happy :O) Thank you!

Never shalt thou heap such a curse upon a wee one as the "in-law's" name. Sure to make that babe an outlaw.

That is very true. An outlaw would probably be the least of his worries!! :O)

Truth. They do grow into their names......

They really do, you have to be so careful!

From where do you get these types of weird ideas to write and entertain us. It must be in your genes like I have art inside my thoughts. Have a look at some of my great art.

It's funny you say that as I just was! They just whirl around my head constantly. I presume exactly the same with you!

I afraid someday we may become mad due to this much of creativity inside us. (:lol:)

It would be a splendid madness!!

Madit and Steemit. Only these two words we will remember.

Hehehe, yes indeed :O)

Ouch! I luckily haven't had that problem.... yet. Would he settle for a middle name? Or perhaps buy a dug to name after him? or would that be insulting? :)

I am thinking its not even good enough for a dug! Oh noes! There is no easy way out!

Oh that's bad! My sympathies!

Aye!! We have to find out the secret behind the old man's black beard! And monopolize it!

We would all become very rich very quickly!!

I admire the angle in which he sees things and how profitable of it, I love his marera to write and as in spite of everything takes with much humor, many thanks dear friend @meesterboom for these wonderful works.
Have a great start to the week

I hope that you have a great start over there in Argentina @jlufer!

Aye haha, thanks for sharing - had a good laugh! (sorry)

Totally fine :O)

Aye... carumba! Those types of encounters really annoy me. I'm really not the type to be urged to do that sort of thing, so I push back hard when it comes to that. Really though, it isn't their choice what to name your child. It's you and your wife's, but more of your wife's.

It's really more of yours but don't tell her that. Feminism ugh!

If he really wanted to dictate the name, he should've talked to his daughter. I mean, if he couldn't convince his own daughter, the fruit of his loins, the jewel of his crown, the...

THIRTY MINUTES LATER

to take his name and pass it to the second coming of BOOM, then what chance does he have to convince his in-law. For a second there, I thought he wanted you to take his surname!

Oh lol! Great use of the thirty minutes later!

Exactly. He knew he would get nowhere with her so he thought he would try to mine under the walls. I know who I am more inlcined to agree with and it aint him!

You are right of course.
It's all my decision through subterfuge, take that feminism!

It did colour the visit somewhat as he huffed and puffed and was grumpy for the rest of it.

Ugh. Figures. You can't please everybody. It's sad that he took it personally. He should've expected the worst before he began. A child's name isn't something anyone could take lightly. Heck, one person would even carry the burden of it for the rest of his life! PsiOps won't work in those types of occasions.

His PsiOps is weak!

But you are right. It was a little annoying. I dont suspect it is the end of it either

He has little than 2 or 3 months to make his case, though I doubt it would be enough. In any case, he could use that time to get comfortable with the fact that he would be the last of a lineage that stretches back to his father. A 2-person tradition.

2 Man lineage. I wont bring up the greatness of that in case he snarks his beard at me again lol

I'm always impressed everyday with your writing skills ! Keep it up my friend @meesterboom

Why thank you for your support! :O)

As always , a pleasure . Much to learn from you

Ach yer a star

Ah think Sonic would be a cool name.:) Or Boom Boom! :)b

Sonic, I could just go the whole hog and call him Mega Drive! ;O)

"Out of respect for my good lady I shan't say what that name is on the blockchain. It is not the finest of names though. In fact it's a bit of a crap name." That made me laugh out loud. Still laughting

Pleased that it made you laugh! :O)

You could use it as a second name? We honored a man that was very much like a father to my husband by using his name as my son's second, and it is also old-fashioned and not wonderful. A suggestion :)

Hehe, we briefly considered it but honestly its a horrifying name. I wouldn't put it on anyone. There are other reasons I shant go into on the blockchain

Names are important. You must do what you must do.

Exactamundo!

good story

It is, thank you!

like4like

No thanks :0)

101st Upvote from me. Glad to hear about your weekend :D

Cheers man!

You annoying the in law's, glad you stood up to him and stuck to your guns

I like your post. Following!

Nice Article !!! Thankyou :)

Congratulations @meesterboom! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!