Living Life On Your Own Terms

in #life6 years ago

So many times I hear people complain about how they are tired of being trapped in a loveless relationship, how they are sick of their job, how they are bored with not having anything to do with their life, but I see these same people staying stuck in their routine, as if they have no choice in the matter.  


It is our own responsibility to make life what we desire it to be, if you're stuck somewhere you aren't happy, make the changes to manifest into your life what you *do* want. It may mean making a geographical change, sometimes you have to go it alone. I know I had to, when I moved away from family to a small town in South Carolina, I went alone, left all I knew behind. It was psychologically trying at times, and a challenge to learn how to adjust but after a few years, I grew to love the place. I overcame what "homesickness" I may have had and realized I made the best choice for myself by relocating. 

I spent a lot of time by myself reading, listening to music, joining online groups in order to gather more knowledge on subjects that interested me and finally became a part of a group of people who were spreading information and news to others about the "New World Order." I didn't know much back then, and I was still a voter. I believed that Obama would change the country for the better or at least in my opinion, he could do a damn better job than any of the previous presidents such as Bush and Clinton.  

Mind you, I had a funny feeling about Bush Sr. when I first saw him on television in class  back in the 80s as a child. This was before 9/11 and the War on Terror.  He looked like someone who was up to no good!  I think kids instinctively *know* when something isn't right with a person. 

Anyways, I began really taking things in when I heard some of my favorite musicians talking about the changes being made in the world  with tearing down the Berlin Wall in 1989.  Some of the music I listened to back then as a teen mentioned anarchy, Stalin, Kennedy and Margret Thatcher. I had never heard of these people outside of those lyrics. 

Apparently, what I and so many others were being taught in elementary school and high school wasn't the complete truth  and so much of it sounded generic. All of the text books read the same, about Columbus discovering America and how we should celebrate Columbus Day and Thanksgiving. 


Looking back now, I see how many of us were totally brainwashed into believing public school's lies and propaganda. Each morning we were like small robots pledging allegiance to a flag and swishing fluoride or whatever that nasty stuff was. 

I realize this still goes on today, and I think about how fortunate I was to form friendships online with so many who finally deprogrammed themselves from the massive thought control.  I decided I wanted to join these people in their online broadcasting and dove headlong into studying the corruption that's basically runs America and has since its inception. 


I had many associates tell me that I was crazy and wasting my time listening to these people. I had one fella who knew I was doing online radio and right before each show he would suddenly call me wanting to talk. I think I told him in so many words that my online airtime was more important to me than any childish relationship we had going. We broke up, but those people I started out with on the now defunct Free Think Radio are still friends to this day. 

One of these people motivated me to create my own wordpress and I did find the time to get started with that a few years ago. I took pride in finding good content to share with others and truly learned a lot more than I had ever imagined before.  Friends such as Justin Cooke, Howard Nemazier, Harry Link, Wanda Hodo,  Nelson Legacy, Lawrence McCurry and others have really been some of the most influential in my continuing to learn what I have throughout the years. I have been lucky to have spoken with these people and maintain a friendship online with them as I think without them I would have never had the courage to really speak out the way I have or remain consistent in sharing information. 


I have had a lot of times when people would attack me or troll my profile online and felt that I was being targeted or singled out for my viewpoints and opinions but I never let that really stop me from speaking the truth. 

Although, I don't attend protests, as I find that there are sometimes set up to arrest activists, I support those who do attend them.  I declined from attending American Spring that was held in Washington, D.C. in 2014 because I had a weird feeling about the event. I had a fella who didn't use his real name online try to blame me for the lack of turn out for the event. I'm not sure where he found logic in his blaming me as I didn't think I was that big of an influence on others attendance. 

Basically, what I'm trying to get at in this post is that it's important to find your own voice, to decide what is truth and what is lies for yourself. Never be afraid of speaking your truth, no matter how many people think they know what's right for you - live life on your own terms.  You don't have to fit in  or fall for collective group think. 

Fortunately, because I chose to share my own thoughts I have seen a couple of others locally who spread the truth about what's going on in America. I even saw one house with a Gadsden flag raised outside the front door nearby my home.  It means a lot to me to see so many finally standing up. 


Sort:  

I think it is really important for people to learn the truth and to separate from group thinking and question everything. I only ever had one teacher who taught history that said "all these years in school you have been lied to and made to think America (USA) and Americans are the best people in the world" He taught the complete opposite perspective of US history and even told us our textbooks were "bullshit". He then said "somewhere in the middle of these two extreme ways of teaching is the truth and it is up to you decide what you find true, question everything you learn because there is two sides to it all" He was honestly a one of a kind teacher, he also got in trouble a lot. I'm just happy there are people like you out there and him out there that are willing to teach questioning and finding a voice and finding the truth.

Rightly so, and to think years ago I was mainly naïve, and had an infantile understanding of the theory and philosophy behind anarchistic, agorist action, ideas and concepts. It took me a considerable number of years to get to where I am currently in my stage of understanding, and realistically speaking I see I still have much to learn.

Mind you, none of these ideas I address now were a part of my daily dialogue of conversations in my early childhood, immediate local community. I came across this information strictly because I sought it out for myself.

I think it is important to seek out information. I was just taught by my parents to do that.

You speak the truth 100%, sister. I believe being a good friend and human requires you to speak the truth.

The problem is, now-a-days everyone gets offended when you do. Criticism is no longer politically correct. Everyone just wants to be surrounded by 'yes wo/men'.

We are in a period of devolution and there should be no surprise why the health of our species is at a huge decline and suicide is on the increase.

Only the fake followers could be happy in this day and age and humanity is simply a huge disappointment. I am saddened by the current condition of society and further so by the fact that no change can be imagined in my lifetime.

As long as people like you and I exist, there can be hope. Never hold back your truth and neither will I.

Thank you kindly, @notconvinced.

You're right there are plenty of those who do not wish to be shaken from their sleep. I cannot speak for others, nor can I force my ideas on to them, however for those who are curious as I have been for decades now, I can provide an alternative to the mainstream narrative.

I plainly see that we are indeed in a period of devolution as you worded it. Take the documentary, "Idiocracy" for an example. It perfectly outlines what has been a growing phenomenon of illiteracy throughout the country. Another great example that sheds light on the subject is "The Deliberate Dumbing Down Of America" by Charlotte Iserbyt.

Knowing this is one of the reasons why I continuously stay studying critical thinking and topics such as the Trivium. I have been fortunate to not fall prey to the delirium happening in our country presently.

Thanks for your support here on Steemit. You are appreciated.

How you want to change the state by not voting ? Even if it is legitimisation of force use (lets assume that is the reason) if you vote for lesser of two evils you counter statist at least. Nice postFB_IMG_1517008043540.jpg

To be quite honest with you, I do not see voting as an answer. I do not support either parties, and from my recent understanding the LP has been overtaken by neocons.

Yes! It's so easy to get brainwashed by what society expects. My experience is more of a personal nature. I almost became an accountant because my teachers were pushing me that way and it seemed like the thing to do. Thank goodness I escaped that fate - although there's nothing wrong with being an accountant, it simply wasn't for me. :D Now I live a life that most people could not contemplate because I wasn't afraid to go against the grain. Good for you, sticking to your guns!