You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Botanical

in #life2 years ago

it has been a challenging week for me.

😂Totally love the enthusiasm. You're a chilli freak, a total hot pepper gone wild roaming the moors. There's no going wrong with hot peppers, I think I have close to twenty different kinds. You make some cool stuff, total YUM. I think I want your chipotle recipe. I'll trade for one of mine with scotch bonnet, to be fair. I use peppers for so many things, beside eating. Medicinal and also as a natural pesticide.

I'd say you're right about the constant damp being an issue for goji berries. They don't like it when the humidity gets high here in the summer. I get yellowing leaves and leaf drop, even if not yellow. They prefer a mountain kind of environment I think. I've managed to keep mine alive for five years, leaving them outside all year. The cold doesn't seem to be an issue and I don't water them during winter.

The bay tree, I would have been so sad. Such a lovely tree. I should have tried that here in a pot, a small one. A palm tree in Scotland? Okay, that's wild. I guess you bring it in during winter, or would. You've got quite a bit on the go there and flitting from mad thing to mad thing sounds like a fine way to go, LOL. Learning is the spice of life, or at least one of them.

I'll throw this one out there, Okahijiki. There's an Italian variety, plus a couple others. Weirdest seed I ever sprouted and one of the most difficult. I froze the seeds, then put them in what I grow sprouts in. When germinated, they are in a spiral, very serpentine like, all coiled in that form. Fascinating. Easy to grow once you get it germinated.

LOL, you're right @ corpseflower would be a very cool username.

Sort:  

I shall have to write my chipotle one down. I pretty much wing it now. I essentially copied lucitos chipotle paste ingredients, if you have that brand and faffed about with the proportions till I got what tasted right. Better obvs, as stuff you do yourself always is!

They look cool as anything, the Italian salty thing. Might give that a bash!

The funny thing about the palm tree is that is in the ground. It's a Canary Palm, Canary palmanensis or something and they are really cold hardy. I got the idea from one of my neighbours who looks as if he lives in Florida judging by the tropical looks of his garden.

Not that I really to come across as a garden coveter, lol!

Loading...