Artist Seeks Room In Denver, CO... (Rent Budget Is $500 Per Month)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_5521.JPG

Hello, I need to put it out there and see if my new MSP and steemit community can come through in miraculous ways... I need a room in Denver ASAP, or even a couch to stay on while I look for that... I have lived in Denver for the past few years, but was taking a mental health break in Houston TX, for 6 months... I have found no work in TX, but in Denver I have a temp job doing apartment maintenance... I have no kids or pets, but I don't mind other peoples kids or pets... I used to teach children in China, so I enjoy the childlike perspective...

I am on the ASD Spectrum... Was diagnosed in 2017, about a year ago... I have been going to therapy related to this all last year, paid for by CO Medicaid... I also have a med card, since I use cannabis to treat my autism... It's the only thing that helps my brain feel halfway normal... I love Denver, and can't wait to get back there and dive into Rocky Mountain Steemit, and other communities I discovered right as I left last summer...

IMG_5701.JPG

I love the arts district, near Broadway and Santa Fe... I do not want to live in Aurora, sorry... I take buses, and have lost faith in random people, to not hurt me at night... Arvada is far away from my therapist, etc... But I am also open to turning a shed into a cozy tiny house, or living in a remodel where I am building an extra room, etc...

If you have a room or a mother-in-law efficiency, please contact me ASAP... The last place I lived in was on Alameda, and had a strong halfway house flavor... After moving into it I learned it used to be a massage parlor! Once I literally had to step over my housemate to get into my home, as he was passed out cold in the doorway of the FRONT DOOR!!! I just hid in my room and did art... Like 170 cartoons last year...

FASCIST TIMES.jpg

If you know anyone who would want to have a genius-mascot stay with them for awhile and wash their dishes, play with their puppies, please connect us! I am planning on moving there next week anyway, but so far my best backup plan from craigslist, a guy with a weekly couch rate of $125, with a disclosure saying he is gay... I told him I like LGBT people, I just don't sleep with them... I think he got it...

Droyds.jpg

I have skipped most of the drama of why I am leaving TX... I just don't fit in here at all... Oh one more thing that would be cool is if someone with a truck magically materialized to help me drive me stuff from Houston to Denver... Could be a fun road trip! Spread the word...

Thanks for allowing me to put my needs out there... This is difficult for me... I only got the courage to ask for help, because I watched my community at MSP rise up and fundraise a whale load of crypto for a homeless girl I found, with 3 kids in a shelter... I guess I realized that I had better let folks know, before I am in similar circumstances myself...

RE STEEM (small).jpg

In summary: Artist seeks room in Denver... Rent budget is $500 per month... Please help me find that, or find a couch I can stay on until I find long-term housing... Thanks so much in advance!!!

Update from 2-11-2018: I have just now got a place to live in Denver!!! A friend of a friend, and it might not work out as she has 4 teenagers and I have autism... But we will give it a month and see how it goes... She is a doula and native medicine worker, even went to Standing Rock!! Thank you everyone, for all the support and the $1000 donation from the Minnow Support Group!!!! You already had my undying loyalty and a commitment to serve ASAP!!! No need to prove to me, how real and authentic you are!! I will endeavor to use this donation wisely, and then to pay it forward in new and innovative ways!! Carpe Diem!

Sort:  

Was just checking in to see what you were up too. Thought u already were on east slope. Darn. Wish I knew of someone you could at least couch surf. Hang in there!!

I did end up with a place in Englewood, living with a doula with 4 kids and 3 pets... I need to brainstorm on the Steemit Housing Network Initiative, and find some qualified volunteers to see what can be accomplished...

look for fed funded affordable housing units over there. You'd qualify and there's sure to be some!

As will be featured on the CHAOS Show tonight on MSP Waves Broadcast.

What a whale of a great time!!!! Thanks... Am going to write a something tomorrow, still conceiving the words to say...

imageedit_73_3605607751.gif

Just seeing this brother. I resteemed. If I was in Colorado you would have a place, but I am not. Best I can do is share your post. Much love to you on your journey! 💞

I do feel like I am in good hands, as far as trusting the universe... Someone from Minnow Suport Project literally donated $1000 to my situation on Friday night... In the middle of an interview regarding The Eatles, the host suddenly surprised me with the announcement... I am still in awe! Hopefully I can track down the interviews and post them today on my steemit... I dropped some brand new poetry I wrote just for the occasion!!

imageedit_88_8461064670.gif

Awesome!!!!

Obviously, you'll get what's coming to you.
😬😬😬😬
Thank you for making yourself vulnerable and asking for help.
Receieved loud and clear and shared.
P

Good luck man!
I am sure you are going to find somewhere cool to live!
Resteemed

@oocupywallets, I just resteemed your post, I don’t have a huge following but who no’s, like you said Universe works in mysterious ways. My son is on the autism spectrum and I would want someone to try to help him in anyway possible. If I lived where it is that you are searching I would help you out. Just an idea, is there any resonible prices in a hostel or check out airbnd? There is a couch search app as well 🤷🏻‍♀️

Hi I am following to u and your blog. Follow back and upvote my blogs posts support me I am new to steemit.

Faith in people is a thing that will always disappoint.
I have faith in Jesus, He never fails us.

For the record, I now consider myself an agnostic... I have spent the better part of 25 years just trying to implement the instructions of Christ, to love God and my neighbor and myself... I know that many folks love to nitpick the fine points of the Christian religion, and all that info IS in my head... But the only thing that ever felt real where Christ is concerned, was actively loving! I still do that sort of spiritual practice, as well as trying to be free of attachments in a Buddhist way, living in the now in a Zen way, and seeing 'God' in everything, in the Taoist way...

Maybe I appear confused, but I guess you could say I have gone so deep undercover that I no longer know if I am a this or a that... Labels are so last millennia! I am interested in appropriating the best of Jesus' ideas into a let's-do-this-together-all-at-once, create a tipping point that wakes up everyone! I guess that is my secret endgame! To see a world transformed by unconditional love... I just have to take the loooooong road, brother!! LOL...

img134.jpg

I cannot be of any help here, as I am on the east coast and know no one who lives in that area. But I do wish you well and GOOD LUCK in finding a place! Hopefully, someone on Steemit or MSP will know someone-who-knows-someone!

That is my hope!! As we become co-entangled, distance matters not so much anymore... These days I am feeling frequencies as much as hearing words! I am open, and things may happen! That is win-win, to me... If I had expectations, it is only that next week I shall transition closer to my life's purpose... Who can say what tomorrow brings???
(Ok, today Globocop can!)

Hey @occupywallets, my friends who had rooms are full at the moment. I put the word out to who I know was offering rooms. I think I might know someone else that I didn't ask yet, but will try on that. It's way up in Longmont, though. Let me see what I can find out...

Someone on the MSP radio show just donated $1000 to my cause!!!!!!!
I am so blown awayyyyyyyy...

Maybe you could get a small RV or a van and remodel into a temporary living space?
I also saw (whilst reading about @portiajay's move to Colorado), that they where looking for people in this place: http://.oppenheimerranch.org
I also found this on craigslist:
https://denver.craigslist.org/roo/d/420-friendly-room55000mo/6468754180.html
Best of luck friend!

The one drawback to RVs in Denver is they charge you same as renting an apartment, just for a place to park it in an RV Park... It is a total racket... Today I am thinking that Denver needs to have a Steemit Crashpad... Today I am thinking I should try to start that...

Hope you to find a nice room in a chilled-out and safe environment, with friendly people. I like the steemit-crashpad idea, there should be these type of abundance projects growing out from the steemit-blockchain-community (all over the world). Like free centers/co-work-art/hostals with steemit sponsored beds for steemians who are digital nomads etc.

That would be so incredible - we're thinking of doing a fair space like that in Valencia, Spain. We know exactly what Nomads and Remote Workers are looking for. We've been doing it now for over 7 years.

sounds cool we want to know more...

Man, that is so awesome! Nothing like where we've come from, that's for sure.

Well, I say it was a worthy donation and I'm so happy you will have some relief at least financially to help get settled. It is super competitive out here for housing. Actually, my buddy just got back to me and says his place in Longmont is all full too.

Clearly something is opening up for you! Walk in that faith!

Oh, at this point I am in complete trust of whatever process I am amidst...
I am HODLing on for dear life!

I am hoping you find something my dude! This is a great community of helpers so hopefully the right person catches wind

🎵 Woooot!!! 🎶
This post has been manually curated by @msp-waves - the amazing broadcast station for Steemians, courtesy of @globocop.

Listen to MSP-Waves Radio on MSPWaves.com

I hope you get sorted man. I'm afraid I can't do much here in Great Britain, but I've upgoated and resteemed this post for you. Please keep us updated.

I appreciate that... Really I just need to trust the Universe at this point... But we can all trust together, right?

Best of luck my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by occupywallets from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This morning I had an idea to start a Steemit Crashpad, for people visiting Denver!! If the universe allows, I will move in this direction!!! Wish me Lulz!!

I know how it feels to not have a stable place to stay. I hope it all goes well for you friend.

Dang! Can't resteem!! If you post this again I will gladly!!