Sort:  

Birth names are a ridiculous tradition. People should choose names based on how life defines them .

I think birth names come from slavery....maybe just my opinion...but I think all of humanity have at some point been slaves....except maybe 13 family's who have sex with each other???

I like to consider myself unique for having two middle names (David Josiah). But the journey you went on to decide on your name (A Rocker / Sekker) is one of the most interesting stories about a name change I have heard.

Yes Cascious Clay to Muhammad Ali is also a great story, but does not have the same depth if I were to be completely honest.

I've listened to some of your more recent music and tried to tell my Dad that I had been in contact with a really cool Canadian DJ. (Being old school he assumed you simply picked out what songs to play on the radio).

DJ'ing is a skill that especially effects what's going on behind the lyrics. A DJ like DJ Mustard brings his trademark "plinking keyboards, slower BPM, repetitious handclaps" to DJ Khaled with his infamous "Anothuhh One."

But club DJ's have skills that are unique to them. I listen to your music to get in a creative writing spirit and since this was more about your name and less about your music I'd like to share a link for those to enjoy your unique sound. Rok-Sivante Music

Even though hip hop moguls like Russell Simmons, Puff Daddy and Pharrell Williams are extremely wealthy, I find it funny that so many people have no idea who Russel Simmons is.

But thanks for sharing your name changing journey from :

Graham Jeremy Ewanchuk To Rok Sivante

It was nice to not only see your progression in names, but also how your life changed along with it and led you to some incredible stories & experiences.

In a way, that's partly why I identified with / related more to Simmons - working more behind the scenes. He & Rubin were visionaries in fuelling the popularization of an entire culture.

I respect Diddy's hustle and drive for impact - though would never want to be a star like that myself. Though even Simmons is on the complete opposite end of the spectrum as a Dealmaker, where I'm a Mechanic...

Gotta keep reading through wealth dynamics. Rick Rubin is so famous in the hip hop world, but again even less well known than Simmons. I love reading up on rap/hip-hop history. I've been to my share of mainstream artists, but had the pleasure of meeting a few underground and not as commercial gritty artists.

DMX Giving Me A Subtle Middle Finger

IMG_221679fb7.jpg

Tech N9ne - One Of The Most Successful and Talented Independent Rap Artists Ever

IMG_2224d5cdc.jpg

Who would ever guess Rick Rubin to look like this?
Alberto-E.-Rodriguez135ae.jpg

Lol! Dude, that shot of you with DMX giving you the finger is GOLD!! 😅

His baby mama drama led him to be imprisoned in new york near me and this was the day he got out at a sneaker store in the mall. He owed about $500K in child support, but I can't help but love DMX and his bark and gritty badassery, his personal conduct is a different story, but one that is often repeated in the rap game.

@rok-sivante
Hello, Rok. This is becoming very interesting.

Firstly, congratulations on your decision to change the name. It was a pivotal point in your life as it should be.

Now for the interesting stuff from my personal point of view:

  1. When I first saw your name I thought that you are from Slovenia. Why? Because you have a Slovenian name. I know many Roks. There are three of them currently at my office :)
  2. The title of your post. OK, it is a common phrase but ... Check out my latest post -> A Tale Of Two Monitors . Of course, it is nearly not as interesting as yours.
  3. I've changed my surname 6 years ago. I asked for an advice of an established numerology expert. He suggested that I keep my name and change the surname to Kramel. It was a change of one letter but a huge difference according to the Chaldean system. I didn't like his suggestion. And then it dawned on me -> reverse it, man. It came out Lemark. Similar to your situation.

Maybe I should write a post about it :)

Anyways, the change came out great for you. My change of the name didn't have such a drastic effect but the life did change and went into some interesting directions. Mostly up and some of them sideways.

Rok, thanks for listening to me. And thank you very much to everybody who will read this longish comment.

Better and better.​

Thanks for the great reply.

Cool to hear another perspective from someone who's changed theirs - and the spelling reversal similarity quite interesting. Lemark is cool.

I've also heard Rok is pretty common in Romania, and maybe even Croatia - so I guess native to that region.

Similarly, I can't attest the change to having any radical effects - but then again, perhaps so - just subtly and not seemingly striking over the course of time. Nonetheless, it's undoubtedly been a significant transformative influence...

What a journey to go through...you are wise, and the new name is fitting. Very cool, and glad you decided to share in your enticing writing style. It definitely took courage to change your name and share that with the world. Hope this post treats you well!

Thanks mate. Definitely avery private matter, so did take some releasing of ego to put it out there. But a great freedom that comes in committing to such transparency.

Your feedback is appreciated.

It has a very exotic ring to it, Mr. Sivante :D

Btw.. "Da Abowlishunist" to DJ G-Rocka ... that's escalated pretty quickly lol!

Lol.

I forgot to throw in it was actually "DJ Pugjee" to start with. Lol.

A silly high school thing with a couple good buddies - "pugjee" derived from the slang "phat."

Seems pretty ridiculous in hindsight.

But then again, "da abowlishunist" was simply too complex. And "G-Rocka" had its time, but the catepillar needed to decade for the butterfly to emerge... :-)

Terrific! Thank you for enlightening us and sharing something so personal.

Your welcome. I wouldn't have guessed it to be "enlightening," though I suppose it's easy to underestimate the power of breaking out a comfort zone to really be authentic... :-)

Blessings of light to you brother

Finally I found time to read this awesome, so private story. In Austria it would be legally impossible to change our names. I always disliked mine and the moment I came to Bali it was time to do it . Let's say , I just got my Balinese name after a nice cleansing ceremony first and my new name Silvie ( from Silvia to Silvie ) Iluh ( High Kastar 3rd born ) Cempaka ( Flower ) was born after I was introduced to the gods & goddesses .
Bye Bye my family name ! Feels about right . I like my new name and also like your new name :)

Not only is this incredibly clever, but you also have a moving backstory. Props for enduring and becoming a better version of yourself.

'Tis a continual journey of upgrading each day... ;-)

Awesome story rok thank you, i have often though of changing my name much like you imagined as a child.

holy shit mate, you are one fast reader to have read this whole thing in under a minute after it was published! (or have a rather intelligent bot)...

lol I speed read, I spend most my entire days with my head in my monitor so over the years I have learnt to speed read, especially when it comes to content for clients websites.

any specific tips or courses that helped you develop that skill?

I've gone through a couple - maybe just haven't kept up the practice - though finding it'd be more & more valuable to blaze through reading at that pace...

well you first need to determine your reading style allot of people are vocal meaning they sound out the words or basically read to themselves aloud this actually slows down your reading speed, what you need to focus on is visual reading, then learn to scan pages first slowly then faster as you move along and test your comprehension of the peace afterwards once you have that down its just allot of practice but if you like me and really need to pick up your productivity then its the way to go, after 10 years I still misread every now and again.

The Worlds fastest reader apparently does 80 000 words a minute that is a big wow.

Really good story @rok-sivante

One more story! That brings us to where?

The beginning of the next to be written... ;-)

This is awesome! I also thought a lot about names. When I came to the US as a kid, people all wanted me to get an English name, but none really fit me. My name meant "limitless", but is unpronounceable in English. Glad that you found a powerful name that first! I've been pronouncing your name as "Rook" in my head haha

Ha ha. Glad to make the clarification on pronounciation.

Stoked to learn of & love the depth/background of your "limitless" handle - much more than just a catchprase... :-)

Is it real story? Not farytail?

What is "real"...?
Might this not all be but a dream...?
Are we not all but authors of our own lives - creating them as tragedies, comedies, heroes journeys, or even fairytales...?

;-)

Fairies don't usually have tails....unless they are part dragon or something similar...

nice post

Thanks for the story :) very interesting and it reveals another layer of your soul. I'm curious, I'm 19 years of age, almost 20, what were you doing at this age? I personally dropped out of school a few years ago and also moved out west. Would you say that the growth on your penis was the path to your spiritual development? Kind of odd I think aha.
I'm curios, what is your astrological sign? (I am Scorpio)

Over all this is a good post...but I want to push you to edit your grammar :)
#peace and #love

Hey,

Talk about a delayed response... was just revisiting this post and saw that I never replied, so figured better late than never...

At 19-20, I had transitioned from living in Banff snowboarding for a couple years to university in Vancouver, while also ambitiously studying and planning for music ventures and making connections in the local scene to begin a side-hustle of DJing (which ended up my career path at 21, until 34).

Lol... I never thought of the hernia as the catalyst to my spiritual development, as it was probably finding & stealing The teachings of Buddha book at age 13 which first cracked me open to that realm, and smoking weed through my teens definitely got me into more of those “spiritual” states through direct experience... although it certainly would’ve been a key turning point which opened the door to some very influential teachers later on.

Cancer sun, Pieces moon (in 8th), Scorpio rising.
(Sun, Mercury, Mars, and North Node in 11th. Leo Venus in 12th. Pluto & Saturn in 3rd).
⭐️

Thanks for sharing this very personal story, it was a nice read :)
In the past I've heard about a possible link between a pet's name and its behaviour. But reading your story, it seems also applicable to humans!