Sort:  

It is for the midges! We dont normally get bothered by them in the city but the other night we had a freakish warm evening and sat out and I got savaged. I react badly to the bites and was itching for days as well. Thats when I decided, the SOUL TAKER must be bought!

Its doing well so far. Even gets moths much to the Good Lady's distress :OD

Not the moths! Could you put a mesh over it that only lets midges in?

We're coping with different pests in the form of rats that can get pretty big. We've managed to poison a few. I set some traps, but the buggers seem to be wary of those. I found a very decayed one in the chicken run the other day. They go for the chicken food.

It has only caught a few moths, I will have to accept the bitter cost as I dont want to inconvenience the device as it devours the souls of the unworthy midges. On saying that the weather has turned shockingly cold again so I might not get outside for some time!

They are clever the rats, and fast. Strong enough not to die in some of the smaller traps too. Gits. Was the decayed one all dried out? I had a horrible case of a mouse caught in a trap in my garage and it had been there for a good while before I noticed and when I picked the trap up the mice stuck to the floor and then tore in half and a pile of wriggling maggots spilled out. To say I was nearly sick would be a vast understatement!

This one may have been eaten by other rats as they are not picky. A while back we found a dried out frog under our kitchen cupboards. No idea how it got there.

I'm looking into rat-proof chicken feeders. Current one is hung up, but the buggers jump onto it and even get into it. I've not seen so many around this week, but there may be other food sources now. In the winter our chicken food must be very tempting and they burrow into the run.

There's loads of cats around here, but they are crap at ratting.

Cats are only good at hunting birds and injuring them. They suck at the rest of it. Too pampered!

I found a toad and a newt in my garden the other day when I was digging stuff up. It made me quite happy. I would have been less happy to have discovered a rat but I know they are out there, few places wont have them. I can imagine them thinking it is Christmas time with the chicken feed!