NEW CONTEST: WRITE A LIMERICK. WEEK ONE. 20 STEEM AND 700 TRAIL IN PRIZES. GET RHYMING STEEMIANS!

img

We all enjoy a good Mirickle

Limericks were made famous by Edward Lear in his ‘Book of Nonsense’. He did, however, tend to make a potentially funny verse fall flat through repeating the first line in the last line. We want no such thing!

SteemTrail and @ebryans are excited to present this engaging initiative.

The metre and scanning of the verse is easy and they are supposed to be funny!

Here are a few examples:
§
When I dined with the Duchess Of Lee,
She said “do you fart when you pee?”
I replied with some wit,
“Do you belch when you shit?”
And felt it was one up to me!
§
There once was a man from Madras
Whose balls were made of brass
In stormy weather
They clanged together
And sparks flew out of his arse!
§
There was a young man from Bengal
Who was asked to a Fancy Dress Ball
He decided to risk it
And go as a biscuit
But the dog ate him up in the hall.
§

img

Image: Pixabay

The Limerick Contest Regulations

1. Participants must use the #limerickcontest Tag as the primary tag of their posts. Please use #poetry as your secondary.

2. More than one entry is permitted, though this may be reviewed!

3. All entries must be in English.

4. Organisers reserve the right to publish all entries submitted.

5. The contest will run from Wednesday to Monday. All entries must be submitted by 6pm NY time on Monday, 3rd April.

Each week you will be provided with the last word of the first line.
All you have to do is complete the limerick.

The Word of the Week has kindly been provided by @gardenlady to whom I owe enormous thanks for her relentless support for the writing-trail Contests.

Without further ado, this week's Word:

“NED”

## Prizes are as follows:

1st place receives 400 TRAIL and 10 STEEM
2nd place receives 200 TRAIL and 6 STEEM
3rd Place receives 100 TRAIL and 4 STEEM


.

img

Image: Pixabay

The winning rhymes will be announced each Tuesday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.

I leave you with this classic:

There once was a man from Peru

Whose limerick stopped at line two …

§

img

The organisation of this contest has been given huge support by the guys at SteemTrail.

If you have not already done so, head over to the SteemTrail Discord server and check out what they’re up to.

You will need an Open Ledger Account which is free. Simply click the Trail Coin and follow the instructions. For a Streemian Account, click the Streemian logo.

imgimg

Thank you from your Limerick Contest organiser, please follow, upvote, resteem, generally be terribly nice to @ebryans

img

Sort:  

re-steemed ;-)

Thank you @gardenlady, let's hope for a flying start!

As a point of order, must "NED" be all caps as presented here? May it be no caps? Leading cap? What is the rule, if any? Does capitalization matter?

Thanks in advance for clarifying this point.

😄😇😄

@creatr

The rule, as it were, is that the last word of line one must be 'ned'. This can be interpreted to your own preference - it could be an accentuated past participle, as in 'clo-ned', it could be Ned as in the name, the world is your lobster as we say!!
Thank you for the very good question.
The secret is in the humour!

Thank you, both for the contest, and for the clarification.

Re-steemed, BTW! ;)

Very kind of you to resteem this! Hoping to build up a groundswell of support! With assistance like yours we will do very well, thank you.

I am excited about this one!!!

Oh Good!
You are allowed to enter as many as you like so get rhyming!!
[email coming!!]
Thank you @kristy1

Looking forward to the email. I am in my other world today, friend. Time is slow here. It goes slower here then it does in normal land. I maybe should wait until I can catch back up with you... literally!

There once was a man from the sticks
Who liked to compose limericks
But he failed at the sport
'cause he wrote them too short

Apologies. I didn't write this, and have no idea who did, so I cannot provide proper attribution. I will go compose something properly original.

A little bit like the Man from Peru ... who stopped at line two!! I confess that I did not write that one either!

There once was a man from Peru
Who fell asleep in his canoe
While dreaming of Venus
He tickled his penis
And woke up with a hand full of goo!

edit

May I suggest the next week's rhyming word?

Try this: "May I suggest next week's rhyming word?"
ie lose the "word" you want to use ....!!

Slow on the uptake. Edited again.

Yes, you would be most welcome!

May I suggest you edit your comment to: "May I suggest next week's rhyming word?"
And then you are fully welcome to be the guest "Wordster"!!

oh goody, any lame excuse to post my fave by the inimitable Robert Anton Wilson:

           All the female apes ran from King Kong
           'Cause his dick was so thick and so long
           But a horny giraffe
           Took the yard-and-a-half
           Then ecstatically burst into song.

That is hysterical @nik9!!!
I do believe that you could quite easily refer to King Ned's prowess in the "cot" if you get my drift!
That would get you a qualifying limerick to post.
I look forward to your rendition ...

My favorite is still the old standby: There once was a man from Nantucket...

well don't leave us hanging!

I figured everybody knew it!

There once was a man from Nantucket
With a pecker so long he could suck it
He said with a grin
As he wiped off his chin
If my ear was a cunt I could fuck it!

Well now I know! Pretty sure I've heard other variants on the Nantucket - fuck it theme as well ;)

I thought everybody knew...I'm 71 and it was an old joke when I was a kid!

Will have to see what I can come up with!

Exactly, there are a lot of options for words to rhyme with "Ned" ... looking forward to your entries. Namaste.

first time trying this... english is not my first language so.. forget my mistakes...
https://steemit.com/limerickcontest/@marcosespes1/write-a-limerick-follow-the-rules-ned-week-one

All mistakes are overlooked here - a limerick with 'Ned' or even '-ned' at the end of the first line is all that is required! This is a fun contest, I hope!

Thanks! Now, did you like it????????

Too much black humor i think now..

Claro mi amigo felicitaciones !! yo feliz, tengo un nuevo amigo y vos tenes un nuevo seguidor soy el numero 41

love this!

Oh good, get sending them in ... you can write as many as you like!

https://steemit.com/limerickcontest/@sarahewaring/write-a-limerick-week-one-my-entry here you go. Formatting is still going crazy on my steemit so gave up trying to a picture on!

Resteemed.

Should entries be in separate posts, or is one post with multiple entries okay?

Thanks for a fun contest!

BTW, I entered today. Here's my first attempt:

"Can You Count The 'NED's?" - A Limerick

Cheers!

😄😇😄

@creatr

My second entry:

"...But He Drowned"

Enjoy!

😄😇😄

@creatr

My third entry (umm, a little bawdy this time...):

"Flaunter Jane"

😄😇😄

@creatr