Imperfect Valentine

in #love3 years ago

....and imperfection is absolutely fine! =)

img_0.7108536918416503.jpg

I celebrated my Valentine's Day at home with messy hair-do, no make up, tired eye bags and no dress up. So happen it was also our 3rd day of Chinese New Year, and our youngest son, Jansen, had his bouts of discomfort, the usual complications he had been through these 6 years of his life. The surgeries which saved his life also caused him life-long complications. A hate-and-love relationship.

However, I was reminded to give thanks. To focus on all the victories we have had. To look upon our sweet memories, how we sailed through the storm, how we climbed that steep mountain, how we dived into deeper seas. Husband told me that we can have belated Valentine's celebration and we should focus on Jansen's wellbeing, to nurture him, and to ensure he was comfortable. We tube-fed him hourly to keep him hydrated as well as to ensure his body wasn't depleted of nutrients. I barely slept that day. It was a miracle two cups of coffee per day kept me going. It must have been the strength from heaven.

I was sitting on sofa with Jansen after tube-feeding him and suddenly husband came with a simple ham sandwich, and he told me he did that nothing-fancy one, but most importantly, half for me, half for him, meaning we are better halves for each other. Such a meaningful simple meal. So delicious, probably because it was made by him. I did remember to take a photo of it. And took photo of us. I felt so touched. (Please bear with me my messy home look on the cover photo).

img_0.08664193336257392.jpg

We chit-chatted awhile. He praised me for being the best mother to the boys, and being the best wife to him. I almost teared because you wouldn't think people ever notice the sacrifice a mother had laid down for the family. You just keep being on-the-go without much time posting on social media this and that. On-the-go with that messy hair buns, wrinkled forehead and baggy pants, big loose tshirts at home. Messy eyebrows too. Haha.

We looked at our son as I tube-fed him some water.

img_0.0319163298032233.jpg

Husband told me that everything will work good for us. We just got to believe. That our champion boy will grow stronger each day and although slow in growth and height now, he will not be looked down by people. We smiled at each other because little Jansen is such a gem. We looked across the living hall and we couldn't be more proud of our eldest son as well. Such a diamond heart.

Happy Valentine's Day!

Thank you hubby for keeping your beard so that I look young beside you. He is 4 years younger than me. Want to take a guess of our age? =p

Yes, you may scroll up and take a good look at us. ❤️But, pro tips, I was using Huawei phone which is pro at its auto edit as well. Haha.


❤️Love from me❤️
hg4oqe.gif

Sort:  

This is the best valentine's post I've read this year

This is true love, when there's no fancy-fancy and yet the feelings make up for all of it :D

Happy Valentine's you love birds :D

It sounds like you have a very loving, caring husband. The sandwich was a very kind gesture. I'm glad you could celebrate your love in such a simple way. I hope and pray your son continues to improve in his health. I am not going to try to guess how old you two are, because by the time I turned 50, I began to notice that everybody else looked young. Really young. Now I am 64 and everybody looks REEAAALLY young.

Congratulations @iamjadeline! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 125000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 130000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

Being with your family and love once are the most important..

That's the true sign of love❤️