You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Setup as a One Man Guitar Band - Pt.4 Blending it together

in #music3 years ago

Hi @steevc, indeed i got a pair for the precise hearing, and one for a full mix/hifi feeling. A pair of Yamaha MSP 5's and a pair of JBL Control One (I know them since my early days, so they're a reference to me).
It took quite some time to find the right spot, as my room is very limited. When i sit in listening position i get near an equilateral triangle, with about 1.2 m side length.
Controls.jpg
The JBL's are EQ'd to compensate the deep mid boost from their location (their back is covered), while the MSP's got plenty of room. Of course, a few layers of foam to decouple the speakers.
I also use Headphones, especially on panning things, and final stages.
Have a wonderful week, Mate!

Sort:  

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

I was actually talking about my screens! My monitor speakers are own-brand models from a UK supplier, but they sound good to me. I still have lots to learn about getting a good mix. I don't have any room treatment and I know that is considered important.

It looks like you have things well worked out and it's always useful to learn from others.

!ENGAGE 20

Ah OK, luckily they're on this article too :D I use two as you see. The lower one usually shows the Mixer, the upper one the arranger part of the DAW (on Pt.3 you see a screenshot taken over both monitors -> last image). When it comes to plug in's at the end of mixing, a third screen would be no mistake :).

The upper monitor is a Touchscreen and can be tilted. This way i can move it 'into' the rehearsing room, to control the DAW while recording.

Btw. i did a post on the rebuild of the room

Thanks for all the engage and pizza token, i will flush it with a beer ;)
Cheers and enjoy your day @steevc!